This Week: Camp NaNoWriMo begins and no internet

This week I was down at the south coast where my grandparents live. And I mean, they have internet, but it’s not very functional. Besides, they have this strange thing where they only have the wi-fi turned on when they’re actually using it. I know. Weird. But I made some pretty cards, so that was good. I made the envelopes as well – lots of fun. Although I think I’ll stick to what I’m good at, which is writing and not doing art (some of my fingernails are still pink from marker pens no matter how much I scrub them).

 

cards

I also read quite a lot. My sister Sophie read Broken Strings by Maria Farrer while I read Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige, and then we swapped. The exciting thing about that is that Sophie MIGHT be co-reviewing them with me (MIGHT…she can be pretty grumpy when she wants to be. Although I shouldn’t be too mean because she’s probably reading this).

Stacking the Shelves will have to wait for next week, because all my books get delivered to my mum’s house, and I’m not there at the moment.

Camp NaNoWriMo also started this week. I’m scheduling this blog post on Saturday, but by the time it goes up, I will have reached (and probably gone past) 10,000 words. I mean, it’s only a first draft but I’m having SO much fun with Wanderland and my main character. Look out for excerpts in the near future 🙂

 

Books Read Since Last Week

how to convince a boy to kiss you breaking butterflies dorothy must die proper

 flirty dancing broken strings maria farrer

I’ve already reviewed How to Convince a Boy to Kiss You, and the rest are at least four stars, so I’ve had a very good reading week. Flirty Dancing really surprised me with its awesomeness. As for Breaking Butterflies…well, you’ll have to wait and see my review, but it’s certainly a disturbing book.

Currently Reading

razorhurst

Reading Next…?

I haven’t let you guys choose my next read in a really long time. And now that I’ve read a fair few of my review books, I have oodles of time (maybe not oodles…but still). I have a lame book to read for English in the coming week, but I will read whatever you choose as well.

Gif of the Week

More like gif of the YEAR amirite.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I asked you which fictional characters you identify with.

Tuesday: I had Rachael Craw over for an interview (which featured the awesome potato gif up there)

Wednesday: I told you about what happened in June

Thursday: Following on from Tuesday’s post, I reviewed Spark by Rachael Craw

Friday: I talked about YA and MG classics everyone should read

Saturday: I reviewed How to Convince a Boy to Keep You by Tara Eglington

What am I doing right now, you ask? Probably writing feverishly. And procrastinating. But hopefully writing. My characters are now in Maddenheart and it’s such a weird place. They need all the help they can get. 

How was your week? Oh, and don’t forget to vote on the book I should read next!

14 thoughts on “This Week: Camp NaNoWriMo begins and no internet

  1. Well, naturally I HAD to vote for Love Letters, but I’m excited for you to read CNV too. 😉 No pressure if you don’t like it, though. Hehe. I JUST LOVE IT IS ALL. *ahem*
    Wanderland excerpts?? *flails* Yes, yes, please, I’m very much looking forward to them. OH. And at least your grandparents have WiFi. My grandmother doesn’t. Not at all. I don’t understand how a person can live that way, but whatever. Everyone comforts me by saying, “well maccas has wifi” but THEY DO NOT. It never ever works for me! It’s either just not working or rejects my mac. Okay, I digress.
    I was freakishly disturbed by Breaking Butterflies too.

    • Well, I look forward to seeing which one wins the poll! And for reading Code Name Verity, of course – it’s been on my TBR for SO long.

      Hehe, I’m excited to share Wanderland excerpts. They’re very fun to write. How does your grandmother not have wi-fi??? I thought mine were old-fashioned. Wow. Maccas never works for me either :/

  2. Those cards are gorgeous. And you read Dorothy Must Die? Please review it; I would love to compare thoughts. It seems to be a love-it-or-hate-it book, eh?

  3. Oooh I read breaking butterflies as well and it was disturbing. I liked it, but there were some things that really frustrated me during the book.

    Hehe your grandparents sound sweet! Have a lovely week Emily.

  4. Gorgeous cards — I have to ask, what did you make them from? 🙂 No internet is probably good… for your word count, at least hehe. I look forward to excerpts! Also the cover of Breaking Butterflies is soooo pretty, though I’ve heard (read?) some mixed things about that book; still I think I will most definitely have to read it sometime.

    • It was a bunch of stuff – cardboard, paper, stickers, stamps, general scrapbooky type stuff. Haha, no internet definitely contributed to how much I wrote 😛 I really loved Breaking Butterflies! It gave me a book hangover for…well, I’m still experiencing it now, so a long time!

  5. Your grandparents sound like mine, but with more wifi.
    My grandparents have 1 computer connected to the internet, and it’s only connected when they want to use it (you have to disconnect after using it), because they don’t have much data usage or something.
    I’ve been wanting to read Dorothy Must Die…I’m waiting for it to show up at the library. I read the first 12 chapters in the sneek-peak thingy online and I wasn’t a huge fan, but I still want to finish it.
    And the only book from the poll that I’ve read is Pivot Point, but it was fantastic. You should definitely read it.

    • Haha! What is it with grandparents and not using wifi?

      Dorothy Must Die was pretty awesome, but then again I’m a softie with my ratings, haha 🙂 and I’m really excited to read Pivot Point!! Kasie West is fast becoming one of my favourite contemporary authors.

  6. I’ve known about your blog for a while, but I just subscribed. XD I have a blog, too! You should check it out. 🙂 I’m doing Camp NaNo, too. I’m procrastinating right now. Fun, right? LOL. I love your blog; it is so very awesome and professional. Mine isn’t half as good. I just started this past February though.
    Enough of my blabbering. Great blog!

  7. Ohh, I can’t wait for the excerpts, super excited. That GIF is horrid, my gawd, is that a real tongue? I haven’t seen anything that hideous since that talking orange.

    Kudos to your grandparents though for even knowing how to start a computer up. Are they still pretty young? I can’t wait to see your Breaking Butterflies review, I just couldn’t click with that one.

    • Everyone’s saying that and it’s making me nervous!! EEK. Haha, that GIF is one of my more awesome finds. Burst out laughing when I saw it.

      My nanna is so funny – she has a book full of instructions on how to work the computer. They’re both in their late 60s and my nanna plays her Nintendo DS so they’re still young at heart! Oh, I really liked Breaking Butterflies…I seem to be in the minority 😛

Leave a Reply

