Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Confessions

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

So today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is “bookish confessions’ which I actually had to think pretty hard about. I mean, I have a FEW deep dark reader secrets but it was very difficult to find ten. Here we go.

*SPOILER I don’t reach ten confessions.

1) I judge books by their covers

I expect to see this one on a LOT of lists today, because I’m pretty sure most of us do it. Which is silly because a book with a crappy cover can be awesome. If I see a cover I don’t like, though, there’s a very good chance that I won’t pick it up.

2) I also judge books by their titles

I’m not a big fan of one-word titles at all. Okay, that’s kind of a lie, I like SOME one-word titles. Ones that tell me about the book. But if you call a book “Love” or something, what is even the point of giving it a title? I don’t understand.

 

3) I occasionally smell books

Not a LOT, mind you. Just…sometimes. And if you’re looking for book-smelling recs, try The Casual Vacency by J K Rowling.

Geez, now I’m recommending books to smell, not just to read. This is such a weird post.

4) I once went on a classics book binge simply so I could say, “oh yes, I’ve read that book. It was very enlightening.”

I read HEAPS of classics – Catcher in the Rye, Animal Farm, The Great Gatsby, Pride and Prejudice and so many others. So then if someone asked me, “Have you read such-and-such classic book?” I could be like, “Why yes I have,” and act all intellectual and stuff. Even though I kinda hated most of those books.

But obviously, if you read classics you MUST be smarter than everyone else.

 

5) I sometimes write in my books

There are only a few books I’ve written in: The Fault in Our StarsLooking for Alaska and…another one I can’t remember. Probably another John Green one. In my copy of TFIOS, I’ve underlined a BUNCH of things in lead pencil. But I’ve got two copies so that’s okay. In Looking for Alaska, I highlighted the sentence that said “NEVER USE HIGHLIGHTER IN MY BOOKS.” Because I guess I’m just a rebel like that.

6) I wish all books were the same height

And don’t even talk to me about books in the SAME SERIES that are different heights.

image

 

7) I am not good at book-buying bans.

Right now I’ve been ogling some EXTREMELY pretty books that I simply must buy at some time or another. I’m on a book-buying ban but…but…but LOOK AT THEM.

barnes and noble alice in wonderland barnes and noble grimms barnes and noble hans christian anderson

These books are Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales and on the right, a collection of Hans Christian Anderson fairytales.

…they would be research, obviously. 

Aaaand that’s pretty much all I can think of! How about you? What are your bookish confessions?
31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Confessions

  1. Omg, don’t show me that version of AiW because I desperately need to own it AND NO NO NO I’m not buying books. *deep breaths* Recommending books to smell? Ohhh, you’re so awesome and hilarious. I LOVE THIS POST. Although the weirdest thing is, I was randomly writing bookish confessions down the other day and I had noooo idea it was the prompt of TTT. I’m awesome. I have like super mind powers or something. #epicwin

    • I’ve put i on my wishlist and now I just stare at it several times a day. Haha, I can’t believe I recommended good-smelling books – what was I thinking? *whispers* The Casual Vacancy, though. Seriously.

      You DO have special mind powers. I swear you think of every blog post it’s possible to think of – and then some! 😛

  2. Great post! Book buying bans for me usually result in buying a lot more books than I would have during the ban when it’s finally over. The books you’re showing there are really gorgeous! Some books you just have to have because they are so pretty!

  3. Great post!
    I love smelling my books as well. I got quite annoyed today because I have one book that smells quite salty because so much sea/sand/sweat got on it and I HAVE LOST THAT BOOK! But it has the BEST nostalgic smell ever!
    Aimee @ What Aimee Read Next

  4. I totally judge books by their cover when I’m on the fence about whether I want to read it or not because no matter what anyone says, a cover can definitely make or break a book.I sometimes smell books, but only if they’re new. I hate the books that are musty and old and almost smell bad. I love classics because they’re always so resonant. Oh great. Writing in my books? I just cannot do that. *shivers*. Ooh! Fairytales! I’m going to have to read my way through some of the old fairytales too because my next WIP is most likely going to be a fairytale retelling.

  5. OH MY GOSH THIS IS SO ACCURATE!!
    For smelling books, my favourite book smell will always be Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows hardcover. It’s started to lose some of that smell now, but I still pick it up occassionally just to smell it…my friends think I’m crazy.
    I have also not bought books in the past, simply because I wasn’t a fan of the smell. (not even kidding).

    I’ll admit, I almost had a heart-attack when I read 5…then you mentioned that you have two copies, one to write in, one to not write in…that made me feel much better.

    The same height thing: you have no idea how many issues this causes me.

    • Okay, not buying books because they smell weird is a valid concern if they’re secondhand. I’m glad I’m not the only one. Haha, I know a lot of people freak when I say I write in some books – plus it’s a little weird when I lend it to them and it’s scribbled in (oops!)

  6. Wooow those B&N books are so incredibly beautiful, how can we sign up? Sooo true about judging a book by their covers, and titles, I think we all do it at times. And when we read a book that a cover/title promised us and it doesn’t deliver, that will probably disappoint as well.

    It’s sooo annoying when books aren’t the same height, my city of bones series are all over the place. Shows me not to buy those cheaper copies on TBD.

  7. Wow. Good to know I’m not the only one who smells books. Makes me less creepy that way! 😉 I also judge books by their covers *and* titles, and sometimes that can even prevent me from buying/borrowing them ’cause I’m so put off by them! (I know… I shouldn’t, but still.) Oh my gosh I’m so glad I’m not the only one who dislikes it when books are different heights — especially when they’re freakishly tall. It just looks messy!

    Very relatable list. 🙂

    • Apparently there’s a whole CULT of us! I don’t usually pick up books with awful covers or lame one-word titles either. If it’s called “Passion” or something, that’s way too vague for me (Actually, that’s a lie…I HAVE read Passion by Lauren Kate. Guess I’m just a hypocrite)

  8. I absolutely love smelling books. You can often find my sister and I smelling a book when we’ve just purchased it. I also don’t like when books are different heights. They just make my shelves look wrong! Great list!

  9. Haha! OMG I love your confessions! I smell ALL my books. Can’t help it. Won’t change it.
    The part about classics made me laugh. Honestly, I’ve never read a classic because I actually WANTED to. Mostly it’s been because I wanted to be “enlightened”. A few I managed to enjoy.
    I also write in my books with a lead pencil. I feel like I remember more that way. But I LOVE that you highlighted that sentence in Alaska. Bad-ass!
    😀

    • Haha, are you as unenlightened by classics as I am? I don’t think they helped me one bit (well…I quite liked Catcher in the Rye). See, I don’t find a problem with writing in books in LEAD pencil, I mean it’s pretty erase to erase it!

  10. I cant described how pleased I am that you recommended a book to smell. This has made my day. Also completely agree on the same height thing. Cassandra Clare has made my infernal devices/mortal instruments shelf look so messy. My only consolation is that I know it will also look messy on her shelf.

    • I’m glad you liked that part! I felt pretty weird writing it haha. But this IS bookish confessions. Oh, I’ve heard about the Cassandra Clare debacle – that sixth one is MASSIVE. I stopped reading after the fourth one and that one’s bigger than the first three 😦 very sad.

  11. I love smelling books too, and especially the smell of new books altogether in a bookstore. Musty older books, not so much, but newer books, yeaaahh. It’s almost offputting when they smell really sharply of glue or whatever, though.

    My confessions.

  12. I LOVE THOSE LEATHERBOUND BOOKS THEY’RE SO PRETTTTTY. And dude yes for cover and title 100%. not quite sure about the smell though…


    NO JUDGING THOUGH. ;P I do occasionally smell my books. Don’t really tell the difference so…go you I guess? ;P

  13. Recently books of different heights have become one of my pet peeves. AND BOOKS IN THE SAME SERIES WITH HEIGHT DIFFERENCES. WHAT ARE THOSE PUBLISHERS EVEN THINKING???!?!?! Yeah, it’s pretty bad. Great list 🙂

    • Yeah, that bookish confession is more like a pet peeve, haha. I could write a HUGE list of those. Oh my gosh, publishers must be crazy when they’re choosing the size/format of books if they choose a DIFFERENT ONE TO THE REST OF THE SERIES.

      I’m calm…I’m calm. *breathes deeply*

  14. Yes. I do most of these things. I especially identify with #6. And when books are too long that they stick out of the bookshelf? I’m not too happy about that. But I don’t write in books unless it’s for studying. When I read a new book, I open it only partially so I don’t bend the spine. And don’t get me started on lending new books! I’m very protective over them – “don’t bend the pages, don’t dog ear the cover … you’re dropping crumbs on the book!” In a way, maybe I prefer second hand books. They do make me less worried.

    • You’re not the only one! Most of the comments have been raging about different-sized books in the same series 🙂 Surprisingly, I don’t mind lending out new books. I just want everyone to read the story – I’m always lending my sister books (sometimes she reads them before me) but I don’t even mind if pages are dog-eared or anything. Maybe I’m weird that way.

  15. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves and the end of school holidays *sigh* | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

