Stacking the Shelves and the end of school holidays *sigh*

This week: 

– I continued Wanderland for Camp NaNoWriMo. I’m now at about 27,000, which is over halfway. Woo! Well, not halfway of the actual novel, but halfway to 50k, which is my aim.

– I had to do school holiday homework. Boo.

– It was extremely cold and difficult to get out of bed in the morning.

– We have Monday off and then have to go back to school on Tuesday. It’s very sad.

And that’s this week in review! Now for Stacking the Shelves…

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Stack

stacking the shelves 12-7-14

For once, these are ALL for review. I am actually sticking to my book-buying ban! How about that! I think I can hold out until August and then I will crack. So we’ve got:

From UQP

Heat and Light by Ellen Van Neerven

The Special by David Stravanger

The Protected by Claire Zorn

Head of the River by Pip Harry

The top two are adult so I might not get around to them for a WHILE, but they certainly look interesting. Also, I’m starting Claire Zorn’s The Sky So Heavy so I’m excited to read The Protected. 

From Allen and Unwin

Two copies of We Were Liars by E Lockhart – which, by the way, I CANNOT WAIT TO READ. There are a few things I have to read first for school, but after that, I am straight into it. Also, one of these copies is to give away to one lucky Aussie.

From Scholastic

Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater…which means I should really read Shiver, Linger and Forever. I still haven’t read any of Maggie Stiefvater’s books and this will be my chance!

Thanks UQP, Allen and Unwin and Scholastic for these beautiful books! 

Books Read Since Last Week

razorhurst pivot point code name verity

Razorhurst was certainly different and amazingly written, but not really my thing. Pivot Point I absolutely LOVED – basically I’m going to love anything Kasie West writes. And Code Name Verity DESTROYED MY SOUL – who told me to read this book? Are you all sadists or something? (Joking, of course, I loved it)

Currently Reading

 

the sky so heavy

I’ve seen this on so many #OzYAChat recommendation lists and I cannot wait to get into it.

Reading Next

half blood prince

I’ve been trying to re-read this series since the end of last year, and before I go back to school I really want to read it while I have a bit of time! Despite having new books coming out of my ears, re-reading is so much fun.

Gif of the week

 

Again, you are welcome.

Posts on the Blog

 

Monday: I reviewed the awesome Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan (the author commented on the review with the name of the next book, so you should totally go read it to find out!)

Tuesday: I posted my top ten (actually, six) bookish confessions

Wednesday: I discussed the problem with rating books, including the fact that numbers are, in general, not good (this is fact)

Thursday: I reviewed Searching for Sky by Jillian Cantor and also shared a story that I wrote when I was young and ridiculous

Friday: I shared some excerpts from my Camp NaNoWriMo novelWanderland, which is an Alice in Wonderland retelling!

Saturday: I reviewed Breaking Butterflies by M. Anjelais – it is possibly the most disturbing (and unputdownable) book I’ve ever read

 

That’s it for this week! Is anyone else bemoaning the end of school holidays? How are you going with Camp NaNoWriMo? I’d love to hear from you in comments!

19 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves and the end of school holidays *sigh*

  1. OH YOU MAY SOB WITH ME ABOUT CODE NAME VERITY NOW. *offers shock blanket* It’s not okay, not okay at all, how that book ended and I can’t even look at Rose Under Fire without flinching. People say it’s not as sad, buuuut, what if they’re lying? I can’t go through that kind of pain again. Also: SINNER. *flails* And congrats on being over half way to the 50K! Getting up in the morning is ridiculously hard. It should be outlawed, honestly. I’M TIRED OF COLD.

    • *shares shock blanket with you* I had my suspicions about Miss Verity, though, about…what she gave away. I can’t say too much though, because spoilers. Rose Under Fire is at my school library but I’m not sure if I have the mental fortitude to get through it. Oh my goodness, yes, getting up should be outlawed. We should attend school/work/everything from our beds.

  2. I envy your writing stamina. But congrats! As if I’m bemoaning the end if the school holidays. Pish. I lied. I’m totally bemoaning the end of the school holidays AND I have another week left (I think mine started a week later than yours). And I still haven’t done my holiday homework. Good times. Good luck going back to school and with reaching your word count goal!

  3. YESSS how exciting that you are reading The Sky So Heavy, now I have to pick it up soon so I’m not the last person on earth to read it! I’m so glad you loved Pivot Point, it was amazing wasn’t it? I have read We Were Liars and wow, it was a mind blowing experience and so difficult to review. Enjoy all of your reads hun!

    • Oh my goodness, it is incredible so far, I love it. Pivot Point was great! I’ll be reviewing it soon. As for We Were Liars, I’m starting to think this is just a prank everyone’s pulling on people who haven’t read it. It’s a conspiracy, really.

  4. Oh Emily, that gif, I’m in love, man it’s like my favourite from the last few weeks! (mainly because of Cumberbatch, so yes, thank you indeed) Can somebody bury me with copies of We Were Liars because I totally wish the gods would just throw a copy down to me at some point, no money means no book and no book equals heartbreak! (bit of maths for you there, school and all, tehee) So glad you liked Pivot Point, man I need Split Second, in fact, I need books! 😀

    • Love love love Cumberbatch. And I really hope you get a copy of We Were Liars!! I really really hope I love it because everyone is raving about it. Book-throwing gods would be pretty cool 🙂

      Book maths is the only maths I understand. I feel your pain 🙂

  5. OMG that gif! I love it so hard 😀 I hope you enjoy Head of the River, I am very curious about how you’ll like that, though I admit I’m not a huge fan of the idea of the novel.

    AND SOMEONE WHO CAN FEEL MY PAIN ABOUT THE WHOLE SCHOOL STARTING THING! *big hugs* *sobs in your arms*

    • IKR? Some people are so clever with gifs (and by clever I actually mean completely weird). Head of the River was thrown in with The Protected, but I’ll give it a go 🙂

      *CRIES FOREVER BECAUSE SCHOOL* *sobs with you* *fakes mental breakdown so she doesn’t have to go to school*

  6. I need more Wanderland. I’m actually begging for more. I’m a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland, and your take was absolutely delicious Em.

    We Were Liars was phenomenal. Read it as soon as you have a free afternoon (not night though, you may not sleep). How are you enjoying The Sky So Heavy? The author wrote it with the refugees in mind, and it gave me a new insight about how they’re treated. Can’t wait to see your review ❤

    • Well, I guess I’ll just have to post more, won’t I? 🙂 I will. Next week sometime I think.

      I’m planning on reading We Were Liars tomorrow, so I’m pumped for that. Oh, I just finished The Sky So Heavy last night, and HOLY CRAP that book was good. Five stars for sure 🙂

  7. I can’t stop watching the gif!! LOL I love those guys so I’m saving it on my computer and watch it until I get sick of it. 😀 Anyway I’ve been seeing We Were Liars everywhere and it’s obviously begging me to pick up a copy and read it. Hope you have a great week and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

