This Week: Stacking the Shelves and School Again

This Week

I had to go back to school. Unfortunately. This is my last term of year 11, which is terrifying, obviously. So I’ll have much less time to read. But I’ll still be posting most days of the week – you can’t get rid of me that easily!

I’ve also reached 40,000 words on Wanderland which is exciting. My Camp NaNoWriMo aim is 50,000, which is in sight, but the whole novel will probably be the longest I’ve ever written. I’m thinking about 80,000 words at the moment – BANANAS. My longest has been about 70,000. Ish.

I’m also Stacking the Shelves!

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books


a thousand pieces of you edit the summer of kicks edit

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, thanks to HarperTeen Australia. Have you SEEN the cover art for this one, though????

a thousand pieces of you cover

It’s absolutely beautiful. But the story itself sounds absolutely amazing (I love stories with parallel universes) so it’s totally worth it. I can just admire the cover art from afar.

Also, The Summer of Kicks by Dave Hackett thanks to UQP. I LOVED Dave Hackett’s younger books, and his cartoons, when I was in primary school. So I’m very excited to read this one, which is YA.

Books Read Since Last Week

the sky so heavy half blood prince we were liars proper

The Sky So Heavy was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING AND HEART-BREAKING and five stars. I’m so glad I read it. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince was a re-read for the millionth time. No less sad, though. Still not sure what to think about We Were Liars.

Currently Reading

the protected

I’ve only read the first page, but it’s awesome. And I loved The Sky So Heavy so I have high expectations.

Reading Next

 geek girl

SO excited to read this one soon!!

 

Gif of the Week

image

If you were unaware, this gif is from A Very Potter Musical, which is a fan-made Harry Potter musical. You can find it on Youtube and YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY WATCH IT, IT IS HILARIOUS. That is all.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I reviewed Pivot Point by Kasie West – if you could see the future, which path would you choose?

Tuesday: I shared some of my favourite TV shows and movies

Wednesday: I shared some more excerpts of my Alice in Wonderland retelling, Wanderland

Thursday: with my sister Sophie, I reviewed Broken Strings by Maria Farrer

Friday: I reviewed Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein and told you why you should read it

Saturday: Inspired by Cait @ Notebook Sisters, I shared my favourite books published in 2014

And that’s all for this week! How was yours? Make sure to link me to your Stacking the Shelves if you’ve done one 🙂

23 thoughts on “This Week: Stacking the Shelves and School Again

  1. I do not understand how you can write 40k in only 19 days. That is amazing! The cover of A Thousand Pieces of You is really pretty! It’s so artsy and watercolory and colorful. (I know, I know, I am very articulate.) I need to read We Were Liars and Code Name Verity so badly because I’ve heard such great things about them. If only the hold lists at the library weren’t so long…

  2. Okay so I need to check out this Sky So Heavy. 😉 The books you love are ALWAYS awesome. XD Ohhh, good luck reviewing We Were Liars. I ended up doing a mess of a list of things I liked because that book is impossible.

  3. Good luck with school and NaNoWriMo, Emily! <33

    I actually like that black galley cover rather than the original one for A Thousand Pieces of You. 😛 I hope you enjoy both of your new books! 😀

  4. Yay, glad to hear you loved the Sky So Heavy! The Protected will be my first book from the author. I’m keen on hearing your thoughts about We Were Liars, it took me a long time to form my thoughts on it too. A Thousand Pieces of You cover is beautiful, enjoy your ARC and your books!

  5. A Thousand Pieces of You definitely looks awesome – I think I’m going to buy a finished copy just to be able to admire that awesome cover! ‘The Protected’ looks really interesting, and since it’s by an Australian author, I think I’m definitely going to check it out *looks over at humongous TBR*…soon. I can’t wait to finally get to We Were Liars, the premise is pretty vague and from people’s reactions it definitely looks like one to watch.

  6. Awesome book haul! I can’t wait to see what you think of A Thousand Pieces of You! The cover is AMAZING. No StS post for me today, though probably sometime next week. 🙂

    80,000 words is a pretty big novel! I think the longest I’ve ever written was 90k, which I’m probably going to continue to revise after Camp NaNo (I started it before NaNo but stopped for July). Good luck with your last term of year 11, also. xD I personally didn’t see much of a difference between years 11 and 12 — I only noticed a larger scale of work between years 10 and 11. (But of course in year 12 there’s the HSC. xD).

  7. If there is one thing I don’t miss about being a teenager, it’s the HSC.
    Although, I did use The Hunger Games as a related text for English (this was before the movie), so it wasn’t all bad.
    I LOVE AVPM, and the prequel, and the sequel.

  8. ZOMG I LOVE AVPM!!!! (and the sequel, of course) my sister and I go around the house quoting it (plus, we do Lucius’ dance going to see each other, and are very proud of ourselves… we are not weird…..) Love this weeks’ haul, I’m so jealous of A Thousand Pieces of You, that cover art is seriously drool-worthy. What was wrong with We Were Liars? I really loved it, especially that massive twist at the end.

    • YES THAT’S SO EXCITING I LOVE AVPM AND AVPS :D:D I’m glad I posted that gif to ferret out the people who know what it means 🙂 I love Lucius’ dance haha, and I think my friends are probably sick of me quoting it! A Thousand Pieces of You looks so good, can’t wait to eat…um, read it. I’m not sure what was wrong with We Were Liars…most people have loved it and I’m so angry I didn’t!! At myself, not at the book, haha 🙂

  9. I loved The Sky so Heavy and have just finished The Protected as well. My goodness, it was brilliant. I can’t wait to see what you think of it. That cover for A Thousand Pieces of You is absolutely GORGEOUS! Pity the review copy was a blank cover, but then again you’d want to just stare at it for hours. Nice haul Em and congrats on Wanderland, 40K is incredible!

  10. Wow, I’m really loving this blog! Will have to give it a follow, and a more thorough divulgence.
    I can’t put down the Harry Potter series at the moment, I found the set at the bottom of the cupboard and decided to read them all again for the 8th time. Call me crazy, but I’m enjoying them.

    Malorie Blackman, and Patrick Ness at the moment for me – just did a huge book shop.

  11. Congratulations on reaching 40,000 words, good luck with the rest of it 🙂

    I’m dying to read A Thousand Pieces Of You, it sounds so good. And I’m glad you loved A sky So Heavy, that’s on my to-read list.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

