I Interview A Character From My Story (Charlie Kim)

So today I’m linking up with Notebook Sisters and Further Up and Further In. I’m interviewing Charlie Kim, who is the brother of my protagonist in the Alice in Wonderland retelling I’m writing (have you heard enough about it yet???).

Charlie is a very interesting character to write, because he’s very different to Alice. Alice is very airy-fairy, vague sometimes and often unaware of any danger she (or her family) is in. Charlie, meanwhile, is very determined, logical and loses his temper easily. He’s great.

 

1) What’s their favourite food? (Bonus: favourite flavour of chocolate!)

Probably something REALLY BORING like tomato soup. Favourite flavour of chocolate…plain. Definitely plain. This is to START with. Charlie does develop quite a lot, and I like to think that his favourite food will change once he discovers some of the yummy things in Wanderland 🙂

 

2) What do they absolutely hate?

Anything that doesn’t make sense. Which is why he hates Wanderland so much to begin with. He likes order and precision in his life, not madness.

 

3) What do they enjoy learning about?

Anything he feels will be useful to him. He doesn’t see the point of algebra but would gladly listen to lectures about taxes for hours on end (crazy, right?). He’ll try and pin down every detail of the world around him so that he can navigate his way through it (which becomes problematic in Wanderland because NOBODY KNOWS WHAT IS HAPPENING).

 

4) Who is the most influential person in their life?

Ooh, good question. I think he relies on himself a fair bit, but really he admires Alice a lot. She’s younger than him, but he’d like to be as carefree and imaginative as her.

 

5) What is their childhood fear?

The dark. He still has this fear (it turns up in the land of Tramautumn). Because, you know, the dark IS scary. Who knows what might be lurking in the shadows? For someone who doesn’t like uncertainty, the dark is a scary thing.

 

6) What is something they have always secretly dreamed of doing, but thought impossible?

He’s always wanted to let go a bit. Not try so hard to always be the best. He’d like to be more like Alice, who doesn’t worry so much, but it’s impossible for him. He just can’t do it – he can’t lose control because then everything will slip away.

 

7) What is something he is impractically afraid of?

Pumpkin. I’ll say no more.

 

8) Are they a night owl or morning person?

Definitely a morning person. He’s one of those crazy people who is bright-eyed at seven in the morning.

 

9) Do they say everything that pops into their head, or leave a lot unsaid?

He thinks a fair bit, but he’s not afraid to say what’s on his mind, either. So a bit of both, I guess.

 

10) What are their nervous habits?

A hard one to finish off, huh? Okay. I have to think about this one. I think that Charlie, when he is nervous, starts losing his temper and becoming even louder to compensate for how he feels. That sounds about right.

 

So there you go! That’s Charlie Kim for you. This has been a very helpful exercise. Currently I’m at 47,000 words and plan to finish (50,000 words, not the whole book) tonight. And tell me: what’s your favourite food?

13 thoughts on “I Interview A Character From My Story (Charlie Kim)

  1. I actually don’t know what my favourite food is at the moment, but it used to be scotch eggs… I know, a bit weird 😉

  2. You CAN’T just say “pumpkin” and not tell us more. Now I’m cuuuurious. (Curious and curiouser, right?!) XD And of course, pffft, I’m definitely not tired of hearing about this fabulous book. XD 50K?!! Huzzzah! And this is going to be a long book…? Oooh, exciting. xD I remember the days when I used to write 165K books. Not even kidding. (Ugh, I don’t even want to think about it.) Now 60K is like my average, with all the rewrites too. Anyway. I LIKE CHARLIE. I do like order in my life, too, so I know how he feels.

    • Mwahaha you will find out when you read it (which isn’t soon, so don’t get your hopes up). It IS going to be a long book – at this rate maybe 90k or so. Definitely not 165k *shudders* That’s like TWO books! I haven’t written a proper spec fic book…ever, so that’s probably why it’s taking so much longer. Contemporary is a bit more short and sweet 🙂

  3. My favourite food?? Where to I begin?? Chocolate, probably, and pasta (but not together lol), or possibly spring rolls. (Now I have a spring roll craving…) Or salt and vinegar chips. Or, in other words, nothing healthy. 😛 (Though I do like apples.)

    Anyway, enough about me. Charlie sounds like an awesome character. Though pumpkins!? I want to know more haha!! He sounds like a really practical and logical guy, though — something I’m really not. Good luck with finishing Camp NaNoWriMo! 🙂

    • I don’t know, chocolate pasta sounds pretty great…oh, I love spring rolls as well! Luckily for me I work at a Thai restaurant, haha. Charlie is pretty great, if frustrating sometimes. Completely opposite to Alice, which is a nice dynamic to have, I think 🙂

  4. No, I haven’t heard enough about Wanderland yet! I want more! Charlie sounds so similar to me, except for the fact that I think Algebra and math in general is very practical. Also, I am not afraid of pumpkins and I have more interesting tastes in foods. Otherwise, everything else about Charlie is creepily similar to me.

    To answer your question, my favorite healthy food is any kind of pasta, and my favorite unhealthy food is mint chocolate chip ice cream.

    Also, I nominated you for a blog award http://butterfliesoftheimagination.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/two-blog-awards-the-sunshine-award-and-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/.

    • I’m glad! I feel like I’ve been mentioning it every second day, haha. It sounds like you and Charlie would like each other, then (besides the boring food…but Alice likes interesting food so you’d be right with that). Oooh, I love pasta and mint chocolate chip ice cream as well!!! You’re making me hungry haha 🙂

      Thanks so much for the nomination, too ❤

  5. Pingback: This Week: Much NaNoWriMo, Very School | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

