This Week: Much NaNoWriMo, Very School

What happened in my life this week, you ask? I will tell you.

1) I finished NaNoWriMo!! Yayyyyy. I’ve written exactly 50,000 words. Unfortunately I still have a LONG way to go on the actually book, which will probably end up being 80-90,000 words *cries* Which is much longer than any other book I’ve written, but I love it, so that helps.

2) School has been UTTERLY freaking me out. Which is why I skipped a post this week. Between performances for drama and dance, assignments handed back and it being the last term of year 11, everything is just happening way too fast. So gradually I might start doing 6 posts a week instead of 7 – not much of a difference to YOU people, but it will to me.

3) I got a new laptop! My old one was taking about half an hour to load, had a problem with the hard disk, and charged to 0% (so I had to have it plugged in 24/7. My old computer is on the left, new one on the right:

larry alice

On the left: Larry, my faithful friend for more than three years (I’m not sure if you can tell but she has lots of Harry Potter stickers on her. Yes, Larry is a she). Then on the right, Alice, my new friend. What? You have to have a NAME for your laptop! And ohhhh, she’s so much better than Larry. Sorry Larry.

Then my cat decided he wanted a photo as well. This is him, the infamous Wonderkitty (aka Angus):

anguspuppy

It’s a lot of effort for him, especially considering this was his position earlier on:

lazypuppy

(okay, I’m done with cat photos now, I promise)

So that’s this week!

I’m almost glad I don’t have a Stacking the Shelves because my TBR has been neglected enough as it is!

 

Books Read Since Last Week

the protected geek girl

Gasp, I know! Only two books! The Protected by Claire Zorn was ABSOLUTELY incredible and sad and a definite five stars (which makes BOTH books by her five stars, which makes her my new favourite author at the moment). Geek Girl was very different in that it was funny and awkward, so a nice contrast.

Currently Reading

daughter of smoke and bone

You were all right, everyone. This book is AWESOME.

Reading Next

head of the river

Head of the River by Pip Harry, which looks very interesting 🙂

Gif of the Week

I tried to train my cat to do this. Didn’t work – he’s too lazy and dumb.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I talked about what I wish I had known when I started writing.

Wednesday: I reviewed The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn (ohmygoshsoamazing)

Thursday: I reviewed Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier – ghosts and razors!!

Friday: I interviewed perfectionist character Charlie Kim, from my WIP Wanderland

Saturday: I reviewed Geek Girl by Holly Smale, a really funny book filled with awkwardness

And that’s this week! Coming up this week I’m hosting a giveaway to Australian residents – a copy of We Were Liars by E Lockhart. Or is that a lie??? You’ll never know… (actually you will)

28 thoughts on “This Week: Much NaNoWriMo, Very School

  1. You got an Asus?! I have an Asus! It’s touch screen, Windows 8.1 (Note to Self: Must upgrade!!!). My computer’s name is Della. Who doesn’t name their computer? 😛
    May I say again that I love your blog! Keep the posts coming! (And follow me please. *angel halo* You haven’t yet…)

  2. See? Cats and books = YOU NEED BE ON INSTAGRAM. Oh I want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I feel like there is a Laini Taylor shaped hole in my existence and I need to fix this ASAP (besides everyone raves and I just want to know how good this book is!!). I got a new computer like several months ago, but still OH MY GOSH new computers are the best feeling in the world. It’s fast. It’s shiny. It loves me. I’ve never named it though. (Apples are better. Just sayin’.) Alice is a a fantastic name for a computer, though, right?!

    • That is actually a fantastic suggestion. I might take you up on that. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is excellent and I am really enjoying it. Oh also you should post pics of your laptop because…why not? You should name it too. All laptops need a name. AND NO, APPLES ARE NOT BETTER.

  3. I name my instruments. My old saxophone’s name was Johnny, my new one’s name is Eugenia, and my guitar’s name is July.
    I have an Asus laptop, too-mine transforms into a tablet, though. It rocks. I have to admit, I didn’t think about naming it until now, but now that I have, her name is Mary.

  4. I feel very awkward right now, because I do not name my laptops, or my iPad or any object. Congratulations on winning Camp NaNoWriMo. This was my first year doing Camp NaNoWriMo and I won on July 25th. Your cat looks awesome. I would really like a cat, because it could just cuddle up on my lap and calm me down while I’m doing homework, writing or reading. And now, I shall let you go so that you can go decorate your new laptop with HP stickers.

    • You are MISSING OUT, Ana!! Thank you, and congratulations to you as well – we finished on the same day 🙂 you definitely need a cat on your life. They are excellent as heaters.

      Also I need to get around to visiting your blog more often.

  5. Ahaha, I’m glad that cat gif got a mention! 😛 And yeah, though I’m not a cat person… usually… Angus is adorable too. Congrats (again) on completely Camp NaNoWriMo — and good luck with the rest of the WIP, 80/90k is quite a long novel… and will probably be a pain to edit. xD I totally hear you about school. I’m having to cut down on the amount of blog posts I do as well because I just don’t have the time! I love blogging, so I don’t want it to become stressful, on top of all the school revision I have to do, otherwise it becomes kinda pointless if I’m not enjoying it. Nice laptop, too! Though it looks kind of… naked compared to Larry. 😛

    • Angus is THE MOST ADORABLE CAT EVER (no I’m not biased…what?). Congrats to you as well for NaNo – that is an amazing effort considering how close your trials are!!! And yes, I know it will be a pain to rewrite/edit. Good thing I love it so much. It’s so true about cutting down when you don’t have time, because if blogging is a chore, what’s even the point? We still love you ❤

      Yes, I need some stickers for Alice ASAP.

  6. Angus is adorable – and that GIF equally so! I would consider getting a cat, although…it probably wouldn’t get along with my guinea pigs all too well…

    On another note – I realise that I do REALLY need to read ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ soon, and it turns out that it is at the library so hopefully I can make that happen. Geek Girl and The Protected look awesome too – *shoves further to the top of the towering TBR* – I’ll get to them eventually 🙂

  7. Actually, I want more cats. Angus is so adorable. 🙂
    I haven’t read Daughter of Smoke and Bones, and I’ve heard so many people rave about it…so that means ridiculously high expectations. Since you think it’s good too, I’ll definitely read it!
    I don’t get to name a computer though, because there’s only one computer in my family and we have to take turns and use it. But someday, SOMEDAY I’ll save enough money and buy one and name it (if I don’t spend too much money on books…)!

  8. 1. CONGRATULATIONS! Whoop! *brings out party hats* You’ll definitely reach 80-90k words in no time, Emily. 😉
    2. I hope you manage both blogging and school, girl. Don’t worry about missing a post–school’s important!
    3. Hahaha, getting a new laptop causes me to be happy for around two weeks, until the new one starts acting up, too. xD
    THAT GIF IS ADORABLE ❤

  9. Yay, congrats on finishing your Nano! That is an amazing achievement and wow, so many words! Sounds like school is getting stressful, 6 posts is still quite a lot and feel free to take breaks when you need it. Have a lovely week!

  10. Aww, Angus. He’s a Ragdoll, yes? So cute and floppy! I am aiming for 80K on my NaNo project, especially since it’s not YA, but it looks like I’m going to have to find that number via editing, since I’m nearing the final ‘movement’ of the story. Whilst I used to first draft with stupid amounts of description, it’s the other way around now, where I skim and just skip to dialogue ’cause it’s easy. Keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

