Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Own the Most Books From

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

It’s shelfie time!

Today I’m sharing with you the authors whom I own the most books of. They’re mostly series, but some (like John Green) have published standalones that I own. And first up we have…

 

Meg Cabot

CAM00125

How many books do I own? 15 books, including the whole Princess Diaries series plus some other random ones. I absolutely love Meg Cabot’s writing and these were the first YA books I ever read.

 

J K Rowling

CAM00135

How many? 11 books, including the Harry Potter series (along with the others – you can see Quidditch Through the Ages, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and The Tales of Beedle the Bard on the left-hand-side). Oh, also The Casual Vacancy, which I actually REALLY LOVED.

 

Chris d’Lacey

CAM00129

 

How many? I own 7 of his books – the Last Dragon Chronicles, one of my favourite series from when I was younger. The first few are amazing (red is supposed to be on the left of gold, by the way, they’re in the wrong order!!). Then they go downhill, but they still look pretty up there.

 

John Green

CAM00128

 

How many? I own 7 books by John Green. Well, okay, I’m slightly cheating because I own two copies of The Fault in Our Stars. Also, Looking for Alaska is missing from the photo. I think it’s on loan to somebody (somewhere). And my Nanna’s friend from Garden Club is borrowing my hardcover of Tfios so it isn’t there. But…yeah, he’s pretty much my favourite author at the moment.

 

Cornelia Funke

CAM00133

 

How many? I own 6 books by her. I can’t find Inkdeath, though…it must be in the garage somewhere. The Thief Lord and When Santa Fell to Earth (that one’s MG) are both really great.

 

Gail Carson Levine

CAM00126

How many? Six books again! Well, two of those are Fairest – one hardcover, one paperback. Gail Carson Levine writes AMAZING fairytale retellings – the red and purple books next to the Meg Cabot one are short stories and they’re amazing – same with Ella Enchanted and Fairest. Plus, her book Writing Magic was the first I ever got to do with actual writing, and I treasure it immensely.

 

Jodi Picoult

CAM00127

How many? Four, although I have read a LOT more than that. She’s the only adult author I read, pretty much, because her books are just so amazing (okay, I’ve also read Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series, which is excellent and hilarious). I haven’t even read Second Glance yet because I haven’t had a chance…despite buying it more than a year ago.

Helen Dunmore

CAM00130

How many? Four again. This is the Ingo series by Helen Dunmore, which is ONE OF MY FAVOURITE SERIES EVER. It’s got mermaids and it’s just really cool.

Christopher Paolini

 

CAM00132

How many? Four books (the rest are just four). This is the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I started reading them in like year 3 or 4 – can you imagine a little kid lugging these books around? Crazy.

Michael Scott

CAM00134

 

How many? 4. There seem to be lots of fours. There are more in this series but I haven’t caught up to them yet. HOWEVER, they are excellent, and the worldbuilding is fantastic. I’d like to read them again one day…

 

This post took a lot of digging around for books, that’s for sure – I don’t have much room on my shelves, except for my most FAVOURITEST books! Sorry for the dodgy photo quality – these were taken at night. However, I did have a lot of fun. Shelfies FTW (I need to get Instagram, let’s be serious).

 

Link me to your TTTs, and tell me – who’s the author you own the most books of?

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Own the Most Books From

  1. Oh you did a lot better than me. My collections are WOEFUL. I had about 5 sets with more than 3 books, but mostly mine are just collections of 2 books. >-< I have all 3 Inkhearts too (but haven't read them) and only 2 John Greens. But I'm with you…probably one of my favourite authors of all time. x) And I'm going to read This Star Won't Go Out and Let it Snow because my library finally bought them!! HUZZAH!!

    • Yeah, most of these series are from when I was a kid and everyone knew what books to buy me – now they have no clue (or I tell them what to buy me). So the series I love now don’t make an appearance. When I’m a rich and famous author, however…OOOOH, Let it Snow is super-funny and cute, and This Star Won’t Go Out is a simply amazing read. Hope you like them 🙂

  2. The only authors i read from this list were J.K. Rowling, Cornelia Funke and Michael Scott. I considered Meg Cabot, but haven’t got around to her yet.
    Also, because most of my author collections exceed 6, I almost forgot to add J.K. Rowling…that was awkward.
    Love the shelfies 🙂

  3. I really like Gail Carson Levine’s writing as well. I’ve only read Ella Enchanted and Writing Magic, but I’d love to try out more of her books. Maybe I’ll read The Two Princesses of Bamarre next because I’ve heard that book is really good. As for the rest of the authors on this list, I have read none of their books. Hehe…I just don’t really read a lot of the most popular books from the most popular authors.

  4. I was actually gonna take pictures of my books… but then I realized than would mean I’d have to find them. And I have no idea where most of my Harry Potter and Deltora Quest books are, sooo, yeah, I guess I’m a little lazy. 😉 I can’t wait to read The Casual Vacancy! I have a copy sitting prettily beside my table that I haven’t yet found the time to read yet. I think I was in year four when I started reading Eragon. I was so proud of myself when I actually managed to finish it, hehe. xD Great list!

    • Hahaha yes, there are some authors I have more books of, but as IF I could be bothered finding them 😛 I’m interested to see what you think of The Casual Vacancy – sooo many people seem to hate it (maybe just because it’s so different to HP?). But yes, I was proud of reading Eragon too haha 🙂

  5. I’ve read so many of these authors! Our tastes are very similar. I could have put John Green on my list this week too. I’m slowly working my way through his collection and whilst he’s not my favourite author I can see why lots of people like his work! 🙂

    • I liked taking them (although they are VERY dark pictures). I haven’t read the Robert Galbraith books yet because they don’t really appeal to me – I only bought The Casual Vacancy because it was the first post-Potter book 😛 and believe me, the HP series is EXTREMELY well-used 😛

  6. I have to agree with what a lot of other people are saying here – I love the shelfies! It’s great to see how some books which you love have those ‘well read’ look to them (if that makes sense) To be honest, I have quite an assortment of books from lots of different authors on my shelves, although some of my best collections are those from Jackie French and I’m building up the Jessica Shirvington pile 🙂

  7. Awesome collections!

    I did have the full JK Rowling set… but my collection has slowly dissipated to a mere two, whether through petty book thieves AKA my brother, or they have hidden themselves in a cupboard somewhere I don’t know! And Chris d’Lacey actually came to our school so I managed to get an autographed full set! I really enjoyed, like yourself, the first few books but after that they definitely went downhill!

    Anthony Horowitz took my coveted first position with 20 books, closely followed by Robert Muchamore, Enid Blyton and Lemony Snicket!

    Here is my TTT:
    https://www.bloglovin.com/link/post?post=3197250139&blog=12593023&group=0&frame=1&frame_type=a

    • Ahhhh, the petty book thieves. They’re a nightmare. I still have a few books loaned out and I have no idea who I gave them to! Oh, how exciting about Chris d’Lacey (although I would have had to restrain myself from saying that the last few suck haha). 20 books is an impressive effort for first place, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

