Stacking the Shelves and July in Review

July was a VERY QUICK MONTH. But before I talk about it, let’s see which books I’ve added to my shelves recently…

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

 sts 2-8-14

Wildlife by Fiona Wood thanks to my school library. Step back, guys, I only borrowed ONE BOOK from the library! I know, it’s a shock. The only reason I didn’t borrow more is that apparently we were supposed to be in the library to do work or something, so my teacher called me back over. Pffft as if I’m going to be productive when I’m surrounded by books!

Half Bad by Sally Green thanks to Shaheen from Speculating on SpecFic. She was holding an impromptu science fiction/fantasy quiz and giving out books. Thanks so much, Shaheen, I can’t wait to read it!

 

So what happened this month in my life?

– I wrote 53,000 words on Wanderland, my new work in progress. I’m still working away at it.

– I got a new laptop (YAY!!)

– Harry Potter and J K Rowling had a birthday

 

My goals for July were to…

 

– Read at least twelve books (check. I read 16 books. The school holidays helped with this a lot!)

– Review at least 8 books. (check. I reviewed 13 books, apparently. Click the pictures to go to my reviews)

spark how to convince a boy to kiss you flirty dancing searching for sky

breaking butterflies pivot point broken strings maria farrer code name verity

the sky so heavy razorhurst geek girl the protected

we were liars proper

– Read at least 2 books by Aussie authors (check! I read four: Razorhurst, The Sky So Heavy, The Protected and Head of the River)

– Read at least 2 books I bought for myself (check! I read Dorothy Must Die and Geek Girl. Also I re-read Harry Potter 6, which was awesome as usual)

– FINISH READING CAIT’S NOVEL (check, oh my goodness. Cait is so mean to her characters. She actually made me cry, everyone. Like, I don’t cry at books.)

– Write 50,000 words on Wanderland – (check!!! I managed 53,000 as I said above, which is the least I’ve ever written during a NaNoWriMo period, but there were a lot of things going on, so I’m pretty happy)

 

Goals for August

READING

– Read at least 8 books

– Review at least 8 books

WRITING

– Get to at least 70k on Wanderland

And those are my goals for this month because I’m nearing exam period (AAAAHHHH) and I think that’s enough to be going on with. 

Gif of the Month

I still cannot stop laughing at this gif. If I’m ever sad or whatever, you should link me to this gif, okay people? That is your mission.

Books of the Month

flirty dancing the protected the sky so heavy

Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan, The Protected by Claire Zorn and The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn (also I will read anything and everything Claire Zorn ever writes)

I mean, guys, I had TWO five-star reads this month! That’s like unheard of.

Books Read Since Last Week

daughter of smoke and bone head of the river let's get lost

I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone in some parts, but not others, so a middle-ish rating there. Head of the River was great (review coming Monday) and Let’s Get Lost was good in some parts but pretty meh overall.

Currently Reading

butter

It’s starting out well, but I HAVE heard a few negative things. Anyway, we’ll see. I loved Dead Ends by the same author.

Reading Next…

 half bad

I WAS going to let you guys choose the next book I read, but then the poll was playing up and I couldn’t. Next week you can choose the next book I read 🙂 Half Bad looks really interesting and I’ve heard mixed reviews, so I’m intrigued.

 

How was your July?

23 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves and July in Review

  1. I LOVE HALF BAD. No pressure, hehe….but it’s really sad and it’s kind of differently formatted and basically I just want to scoop Nathan up and give him a hug. Yeah, just sniffling here. ANYWAY. I’m still so pleased I made you cry. ^_^ (Okay, wait, that sounded mean…) I’m definitely finishing your book in August. YAY. And I want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone because sooo many people rave about it and I need in on this. Except isn’t the last book the size of a small planet? I’m not sure I have the gumption for that right now.
    I didn’t really like Butter. 😐 I thought I would, but…it just seemed a step down from Dead Ends. LOVED Dead Ends.
    Also good luck with upcoming exams. They don’t sound fun.

    • AWESOME. I hope I do too! I love different formats 🙂 you are a mean writer, Cait. Although to be fair I’d consider it an accomplishment if I made someone cry, too. We’re both mean, haha. No rush with The Daisy List, since I’m still plodding along with Wanderland 🙂 oh, I hope you read Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I didn’t fall in love with it but I’m interested to see what you think. But yes…they’re quite long.

      We shall see about Butter, I suppose. At the moment I’m just grossed out about the story of how he got his name. *shudders*

  2. Whoa July did go fast. What did you think of Dorothy Must Die? I’m not sure whether to buy it on my Kindle :/ Half Bad looks AWESOME I’m so glad you’re reading it next! Good luck with your exams!

  3. Woo hoo for completely all of your goals this month! Congratulations! Good luck with your goals for August and also your exams! 🙂 I had two five-star reads this month also! Actually, no, wait. I had 3! I think that’s like a record or something. It seems as though everyone had a great reading month in July. 🙂

  4. July went by fast for me too! I think it was Camp NaNoWriMo that made it go by so fast. I can’t control myself at my school library, and I think the reason for that is that I don’t have my dad to keep me from checking out so many books. The librarian at my school knows me by name, because I’m one of the few people in the school that regularly stop by the library. By regularly, I mean every single morning before school starts. Every morning I either read, do homework or look for books. Oh, and I read We Were Liars! The ending was mind blowing. I could not see it coming at all. Then again, it was also slightly confusing. I think I might do a post with a black background so I can talk spoilers and get the ending cleared up.

    • Camp NaNoWriMo did contribute to that, yes. Now I’m past 50k, though, I’ll definitely be writing a lot slower. Sounds like your librarian is pretty awesome – I don’t go as frequently as you, but like you, there aren’t many others at my school who visit the library at all! So they do like me 🙂 the ending of We Were Liars definitely caught me by surprise, that’s for sure.

  5. July went by so fast! I’m not looking forward to going back to. Even though I’m in college and I took summer classes, fall classes seem so much harder. I never have as much time to read.

  6. I picked up Flirty Dancing but I mustn’t have been in the mood for that light style of writing so I haven’t been back to it yet…Half Bad is interesting, I’ll be keen to see what you think of it. Glad to hear Cait’s novel was emotional, I can’t wait!

    • Definitely wait for the right mood, because it’s not one to waste! I really loved it 🙂 oooh, I’m so interested to read Half Bad from what everyone’s saying. And also, I hope Cait’s novel becomes published VERY SOON so I can flail with everyone about it 🙂

  7. YAY for Wildlife. I adore this book! Hope you love it too 🙂

    Also, what did you think of Head of the River? And Daughter of Smoke and Bone (it’s up next for me!)

    P.S how freaking fast is this year going?!?

    • Same! It was a rec from ozyachat, and I loved the last recommendation (The Sky So Heavy), so I have high hopes 🙂

      Oh, I quite liked Head of the River – review is up tomorrow. Daughter of Smoke and Bone was good too…in certain parts. It was a bit disconnected in other parts though.

      OH MY GOSH I KNOW, why is this year going so fast??

  8. LOL. That gif is a oddly hilarious and disturbing at the same time. Emily, I really need your restraint. ONE BOOK. I just…couldn’t do that. It would destroy me. Man, it would feel so weird walking out of the library with only one book instead of carrying a teetering amount of novels like I do. (Trust me, that draws some strange looks. And it’s really awkward and embarrassing when they inevitably fall and you have to pick them all up again.) Half bad *was* certainty interesting — though I was kind of mixed about it. I’m looking forward to see what you think of it. 🙂

    • It was a fantastic find, that gif. I think it wins “gif of the century” to be honest. ONE BOOK, I KNOW. I’m not sure how I managed it. I’m extremely proud of myself. It won’t happen again, though 😛 I’m dying to read Half Bad, now, because everyone has such mixed opinions and I want to know what I think!!

  9. I didn’t like We Were Liars! The writing made my head hurt and I guessed the TRUTH before it was revealed so yeaah.. it was meh. 😦

    I also didn’t like The Daughter of Smoke and Bones. It bored the hell out of me. Let’s Get Lost is an okay read. The characters just.. tried too hard to be deep sometimes.

    Woot! Isn’t it great when we achieved our goals? 😀 YAAY for a lovely month!

    Marga @ Deadly Darlings

Leave a Reply

