Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Title: let's get lostLet’s Get Lost

Author: Adi Alsaid

Genre: YA conteporary

Length: 352 pages

Published by: Harlequin

Source: received for review (thanks, Harlequin!)

Blurb: 

Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named LEILA. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

There’s HUDSON, a small-town mechanic who is willing to throw away his dreams for true love. And BREE, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. ELLIOT believes in happy endings…until his own life goes off-script. And SONIA worries that when she lost her boyfriend, she also lost the ability to love.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

 

This is a novel told in five different sections.

Basically it’s like five novellas, or really long short stories. We have Hudson, Bree, Elliot, Sonia and then, finally, Leila. I guess I’ll go through them all separately? That sounds like the way to do it.

 

Hudson

I didn’t like his POV too much. First of all: insta-love. And it annoys me so much when this happens. It was more tolerable than in some other books I’ve read, but still. Not great. I did like, though, that Hudson was figuring out that maybe he didn’t want to be the person he always THOUGHT he was supposed to be. That was a convoluted sentence. Also, there was a game called Drunkball, which sounded fun – it basically involved beer and random rules invented on the spot. And craziness. Which was a lot of fun.

18 "Supernatural" GIFs To Express Your Every Emotion

 

Bree

Bree was my favourite character out of all of them. Her story felt the most real to me, and unlike some of the other characters, I didn’t feel like I’d been plonked in the middle of her story. It was quite sad in some parts, but I really liked how Leila was able to help her out. The family relationships were really strong in this one, and there was a lot of daring/rebellion. Plus a bit of stealing.

 

Elliot

Considering I had to rack my brain remembering who he was, this was definitely my least favourite story. All the way through I was thinking…

Basically it’s just this guy Elliot who’s sad he got rejected by some girl, and he’s trying to win her back. Okay, so there’s a bit of humour with a karaoke event (although I totally saw that coming), but the rest of it made him seem really whiny. Plus, I hate the whole notion of the friend zone so that annoyed me too. Do not even get me started on the friend zone, though.

 

Sonia

Now this one REALLY requires suspension of disbelief. Seriously, all sorts of crap goes down in this story. I couldn’t believe a lot of it, and one character in particular was COMPLETELY unrealistic. But even so, I did still enjoy it quite a bit. There’s a bit of sadness and not wanting to let people down, as well as trying to cross national borders.

 

Leila

I was really excited for Leila’s part of the story! All along we’d heard about her, and I was interested to see what her own story was like. And wow, that was unexpectedly sad. But at the same time, some of it came out of nowhere? Like I would have preferred more build-up. I loved how the Northern Lights fitted into her story, and one of the side characters (Dee) was adorable. So besides Bree, this one was my favourite. To the other characters, she was kind of like a fairy godmother. She was always there just when she needed help.

image

So it was nice to see HER story in the end.

 

Overall

I mean, it’s not going to be my favourite book in the world necessarily, but even so, it was an enjoyable read. My main complaints were that 1) I didn’t get to know some of the characters very well, and 2) some of them were pretty unlikeable anyway, and I couldn’t connect to their individual stories.

But just for Bree and Leila’s stories, you should read this. At its best, this book is about connections between strangers and how sometimes you have to fail in order to learn. And that’s okay. So even though this review might come across as pretty negative, I did enjoy reading it and I love how so many lives were touched by Leila’s presence, if only for a short time.

It’s times like these when I want to go on a road trip.

 

Rating: 3/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

What do you think of books with multiple POVs?

24 thoughts on “Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

    • I really loved the book. I am sending my book out to get signed from someone from each state/province to sign it. If someone wants to sign my book, please let me know! You can reach me at carleighlewis.blogspot.com or you can email me at carleighalewis@gmail.com, or even reach me through twitter @carleighlewis

      ps- I really like the design of your blog. we may have different views about the book but overall it’s been a great read!

  1. I’m pretty excited to read this one, actually. I’m not sure I’ll love it, considering very mixed reviews I’ve now seen of it, but I just love the concept of the story. I’m also a fan of having heaps of perspectives, so I think I might enjoy it. Great review. I love that Supernatural gif haha. 🙂

    • And sometimes I guess, it’s nice to have a book that’s just enjoyable. Three-star books are often meh to me, but this had moments of awesome and…not-so-awesome. Lots of perspectives does make for good variety 🙂 and yes, Supernatural really DOES have a gif for everything!

  2. Wow. I agree with pretty much everything you said. My problem with this book was not all characters were explored that much since Leila continued to move from town to town but.. Leila’s story though. It was really sad. 😦 I didn’t expect that.

    I don’t have problems with Multiple POVs if really done well like in the Crown of Midnight.<3 Great review!

    • Exactly! Actually, I would have liked to see the five characters interacting – could have been an interesting way to do it. Although obviously it’s not my book. Oh yes, I didn’t expect the stuff about Leila too – considering how happy and helpful she was to the others, it was nice seeing her perspective.

      Okay, I really need to read Crown of Midnight 😛

  3. I’m kind of iffy towards books with multiple POVs. They have to be impeccably well written, I think. I’ve seen a few reviews for this and I’m still kind of thinking “Meh” about it. I AM curious though. Road trips. Yay. FUN. Food and car music and craziness. XD Okay, maybe not in this case! BUT STILL.

  4. I love books with multiple POVS, because I love how all of the stories are woven together in the end. The Candymakers by Wendy Mass was a really good multiple POV book. Then again, I’ve never read a story like Let’s Get Lost where the book is a multiple POV story but not told in alternating points of view. I think I would prefer alternating points of view better, but this book is something to keep in mind.

  5. When I read reviews about Let’s Get Lost, it’s always seems like Hudson is the bad apple. If ever I do read this book, I would prepare before I meet this character. It’s sad that you didn’t connect with the characters but I’m glad you still liked this overall. I would really love to read about Leila.

  6. Insta-love really did become an annoying factor in Hudson’s story. I mean insta-love aside, he was a great character but throw in insta-love and you’re just rollin your eyes 😛 I agree though, it was really nice to see how he was starting to realize that maybe what he thought he wanted wasn’t what he wanted.

    BREE’S STORY WAS MY FAVORITE TOO! I did NOT like her in the beginning and then as we learned more.. I really began liking her.. her resolution was my favorite :’)

    OMG.. am I the only one who didn’t pick up on the friendzone thing in Eliot’s story? I never got the friendzone vibes from it or I’d have probably ended up hating it too. It was probably the romantic comedy lover in me that actually enjoyed his story and not the critic 😛

    SONIA’S STORY WAS MY LEAST FAVORITE! It was weird and so.. unbelievable (no even the whole not being let back to Canada was unbelievable). Plus I was kind of sad with the whole dead-ex thing (which I always have and always will have problems with).

    HAHAHA I know what you mean about Leila’s story being unexpected. For some reason.. I kept on thinking she was about to die and wanted to have one last hallelujah or something. Although I actually liked her story better than what I thought it might have been. It was sad but… not overly so which is always a good thing in my book!

    My main complaints with this book were that I was never particularly attached to the main characters because the format of the story made it hard to get to know them better but tbh, I preferred this format to the idea that there would be 5 separate POVS.

    I am glad you enjoyed this on the whole, Emily!! 🙂

    Lovely review!!

    (and I am sorry for the essay of a comment)

    • Essay comments! LOVE EM.

      I’m so glad you liked Bree. She was a lovely character in the end. So funny how they went to jail hahaha. Maybe not that funny. Oh well, I have a strange sense of humour. About the friendzone thing, maybe I’m making a big deal out of nothing. But I have VERY strong opinions on any friendzoning mentions, so that could be why. Oh yes, the implausability of Sonia’s. Implausability? That’s totally not a word. Oh well.

      I knew there was something drastically wrong with Leila, but I had no idea what. Because I’m not good at working out stuff. But Dee was nice to have in there 🙂

      Your main complaints are pretty much the same to mine (and what I struggled with in We Were Liars – didn’t know the characters well enough!).

      This was an awesome discussion comment 😀

  7. Most reviews have been saying about the same thing as you are Emily – that the stories were simply too short to actually allow you to get an emotional connection towards the characters. I’m definitely still going to read this because the plot is intriguing, and I love the sound of Bree and Leila’s stories. Thanks for sharing and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <33

  8. This sounds like a really interesting read – on the TBR! Like how honest your review is, but I am still intrigued by it. Will hopefully get around to reading it soon 🙂

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves and Weekly Updates | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

