The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester: I need this to become a movie

Title: the cinderella momentThe Cinderella Moment

Author: Jennifer Kloester

Genre: YA contemporary

Length: 304 pages

Published by: Penguin

Source: school library

Blurb:

Angel Moncoeur has always wanted to be a fashion designer, but without money or connections, it’s going to be a challenge. When an opportunity to leave her home in New York and head to Paris appears, Angel grabs it – even if it means masquerading as her best friend Lily. That can’t be too hard, can it?

But faking things doesn’t come easy for Angel, so when she falls in love with her very own Prince Charming and he thinks she’s someone else, things start to get complicated.

Angel needs to stop her secrets unravelling if she wants to live happily ever after . . .

This book made me happy.

I love when this happens – when you don’t have to concentrate too hard on the flaws, because it’s just so darn entertaining. The whole time I was reading this, it felt like the book version of my favourite chick flick. I could imagine everything – the writing was so detailed and descriptions were so well done that the pages flipped by quicker than I could keep track of. And there were flaws – some of the book wasn’t realistic, there were over-dramatic parts, and some of the plot points were a bit TOO convenient.

But I loved it despite all that.

Also, I kept thinking about Barbie in a Fashion Fairytale, because I actually really like Barbie movies and this one was definitely applicable. Angel, the main character, is a teen fashion designer trying to follow her dream.

The parallels to Cinderella were lovely – you’ve got the mean step-mother and step-sister, as well as the Godmother and the running away and the DRESS. Okay, there was more than one. So the incorporation of the original story added another element to a story that’s already so much fun. Basing the whole book around fashion was also a nice touch, because I haven’t read too much on the subject before.

 

Disclaimer: I have no idea what’s fashionable.

My wardrobe basically consists of jeans, jumpers and T-shirts. But I can be girly occasionally. And the descriptions of all the dresses in this books were SO lovely – I could picture them really easily and I wanted to basically dive into the book so I could wear them. And swish them. Swishing dresses is fun, okay?

image

On to characters. So Angel is our MC, and she’s lovely. The premise of the book, right, is that she and her friend Lily do an identity swap so that Angel can go to Paris, while Lily can go to the London Drama Academy. So Angel pretends to be the granddaughter of the Comtesse, since Lily hasn’t seen her since she was five or something. Angel’s very sweet and often shy, sometimes naive – but she wants to follow her dream, and I could relate to her so well.

Then we have Lily, who seemed headstrong and vivacious and generally just an awesome friend. She kind of pushes Angel into the whole identity-swap thing, but she’s always there for Angel.

Of course, there’s also Nick, the love interest in this particular book – he’s funny, charming and not too serious, and I think he and Angel’s friendship was really nice.

Finally there’s the Comtesse, Lily’s grandmother, who can be a bit of an ice queen but softens up very quickly. I loved her interactions with Angel about fashion.

Apart from Margot and Clarissa (boooooo), all the characters were really likeable. There was even a side character called Kitty who I really liked – she wasn’t your standard definition of beautiful, but Angel knows enough about fashion that any dress she chooses will transform the wearer into a belle fille. 

(see the French? That’s right, everyone. I know ALL the French words)

There’s something I really like about books with rich characters. I have no idea why. I guess I can live vicariously through descriptions of beautiful dresses, food and did I mention the dresses? Plus, there was a really nice family element to this book. I’ll admit some of it was a little cliched, but sometimes that’s okay, you know? And the ending just made me want to squeal with delight.

 

Basically? You want to read this book. And if, like me, you read it while wearing pyjamas, you’ll probably question your fashion choices.

This is a marvellous, fun read that could easily be a movie. But it’s not just about the pretty dresses – it’s about following your dreams, the importance of family, the importance of love.

And I loved every minute of it.

 

Rating: 4.5/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

14 thoughts on “The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester: I need this to become a movie

  1. I’m pretty sure I’ve said this a million times, but me and romance books do not mix. That said, the whole concept of two girls switching places and impersonating each other-mixed with the fact that this book is a fairytale retelling-might just make it worth the read.

    Swishing dresses is so much fun, and that Nemo gif is the perfect gif to express that!

    • Haha, that’s what I used to be like! THankfully I have seen the error of my ways. I wasn’t too sure about this one, but it really did get to me, and there’s something really lovely about a flawed book that you love to pieces anyway 🙂

  2. FINDING NEMO! ❤ Oh, how I love that movie! That gif better be "Gif of the week" this week. 😛

    I borrowed this from the library once but it had to go back before I could read it. (That's what happens when I borrow too many books, haha.) It looks really good, though. Probably not something I'd usually read and like… but now I am definitely more interested in reading it. I like pretty dresses (despite me not being a girly-girl AT ALL), so I guess I have to read it now. 😉 Great review.

    • Finding Nemo yes ❤ Go the Aussies.

      Awww, that's what happens when you can't control yourself, Kara! RESTRAINT. But since you have awesome people like me recommending it, you should definitely re-borrow it out. I like pretty dresses as well, despite not actually wearing them often… 😛

  3. I’m not…a dress person. I mean, I like LOOKING at them, but I don’t like wearing them. Come on! One must dress ALWAYS in preparation for the apocalypse. I always leave the house ready for these things. I AM PREPARED. I’m also not really a fan of chic-flicks, but HEY, I did like The Selection book so maybe…maybe I should check this one out still. 😉 Mime was absolutely infatuated with the Barbie movies when she was hobbit-sized. UGHHHH. I just wanted to watch Batman and Indiana Jones (epic taste combo there) and she was wearing her pink barbie dress and watching those movies. -_- She was a cute little kid. I was not.

    • I like wearing them, I just don’t often get a chance! I think the last time I wore a dress was November last year for our year 10 formal, haha. I love how you’re prepared for the apocalypse. I’d just grab the chocolate, honestly. You know, I didn’t think I would like this books either, but chick-flick books are always surprising me with their happiness and dresses and Cinderella-ness. So I loved it, luckily. Hahahhaa Mime sounds like a cutie, and you sound like a perfect little spec fic nerd 😛 nothing wrong with that!

  4. I must confess, I’m no fashionista either. I wear jeans like a uniform and have lost count how many pairs I own. I’ve seen this one on Netgalley, but haven’t taken any interest… until now. Absolutely loved the review! ❤ This book sounds incredibly easy to fall in love with and definitely going to grab a copy. Thanks so much for sharing Em, otherwise I would have missed this little gem.

    • Jeans are the most important item of clothing, I think 🙂 the only reason this one was on my radar was because I got The Rapunzel Dilemma (a spin-off) for review. Plus, it’s by an Aussie author so bonus points there. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Rapunzel Dilemma by Jennifer Kloester: another cute-licious book | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

