Top Ten Tuesday: books I’m not sure I want to read

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

So I have quite a few books on my TBR.

Not just on my physical TBR but my Goodreads TBR – you know, the books that I will probably NEVER get around to reading, but they look so pretty and I would just like to gobble them all up. I have awesome expectations of them, but then all the negative reviews start rolling in and…wow, do I really want to read that after all? Here are some of those books.

side effects may vary the statistical probability of love at first sight frostbite crown of midnight

1) Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

I mean, I actually bought this book for myself, so I can’t be too doubtful of it. But I have seen lots of negative reviews, so I’m a bit worried. I’ll still read it, though, eventually.

2) The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

I read This is What Happy Looks Like by the same author, and wasn’t that impressed. But this book looks so GOOD, and I want it to be GOOD. Everyone says it’s her best one, but still, I’m not sure what to think. Maybe I can track it down at a library somewhere.

3) Frostbite by Richelle Mead

I’m honestly not sure what’s stopping me. I really liked Vampire Academy despite any misgivings I had to start with. I guess I’m just really bad at keeping up with series.

4) Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Speaking of series. I mean I borrowed this book recently, so I WILL read it, but I’m still not sure about it. Will I like it? Will I not? I hope I’ll be surprised. I tend to warm up to series after the first book – it happened with The Lunar Chronicles, maybe it will with this.

almost dead the diviners

5) Almost Dead by Kaz Delaney

I didn’t like the first book, which was Dead, Actually. So I’m hesitant about this one. I feel really bad because it’s signed by the author, and a lot of my bloggy friends liked it…so maybe it’s better than the first one? But it’ll probably be a while until I read it.

6) The Diviners by Libba Bray

Mostly I’m avoiding this one because it is MASSIVE. Like, it’s GIGANTIC. That’s basically the only reason. I know. I’m a terrible book nerd.

the maze runner shiver days of blood and starlight twilight

7) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I’m just not sure if I would like it. But there’s a movie coming out so maybe I should. I’m CONFUSED, blogglings!

8) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Oooh, some of my common dislikes here – one-word title and paranormal. But Cait from Notebook Sisters assures me it’s awesome, so that’s worth something, right?

9) Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

I finished Daughter of Smoke and Bone recently and was a bit underwhelmed, honestly. I loved it in some parts, but it was a bit disjointed. I’d still like to read the others, though.

10) Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I did actually read half of this, years ago. Maybe like three years ago? Or something? I just remember disliking it. But I have actually debated trying to read it again without the bias I had before, because I was one of those Harry Potter people who hated even the mention of Twilight. Yeah. I was one of those. Not proud.

Are there any of these books that I have to read RIGHT NOW? Any you’re not sure of either? Also, link me to your TTTs in comments 🙂

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: books I’m not sure I want to read

  1. Okay, I tooootally understand not wanting to read Side Effects. 😉 SKIP. But but but Crown of Midnight is amazing. It’s better than Throne of Glass…buuut, if you really didn’t like ToG then I’m not sure it’s worth bothering with CoM. Gosh I’ve read like 6 books on your list! Twilight is not as awful as everyone says it is, and the Maze Runner does need concentration. But I loved it. 😉 Okay, I mostly loved it because I was envisioning the movie. And Shiver is NOT as good as the rest of her books!! So seriously, if you’re going to read it, you haaaave to read the next two because that’s when Cole/Isabel come in and you won’t be sorry. Shiver is sweet and not much happens. But chocolate happens because chocolate is good.
    I’ve got Laini Taylor on my list too. 😉

    • I mean, I still will read it…eventually. Just scared I won’t like it! I actually DID like Throne of Glass, just didn’t…love it. So maybe I’ll be proven wrong. Twilight is one I’ll read eventually, but I’m feeling the pressure for The Maze Runner because MOVIE. Okay, I’ll bear that in mind for Shiver. I do like the thought of chocolate, though 🙂

      Oooh, I hope you like Daughter of Smoke and Bone if you read it! I didn’t love it but so many others do 🙂

  2. Sadly, I too was one of those hateful Harry Potter fans :/ I ended up reading the entire saga though, so I’ve redeemed myself in that sense. I was going to put The Diviners on my list too but I ran out of room. I gave SEMV a bad review, but I still think you should give it a go. It’s one of those books where you’ll either really love it or really hate it.

  3. I have Shiver on my list too. I’m just not sure whether to commit myself to the series. I wouldn’t really recommend Side Effects May Vary, I was very disappointed by it.

  4. I’ve read all these books except for The Maze Runner – and I class most of them as my favourite books! Except Twilight. I didn’t like it and only read it because I wanted to know why others were raving.
    I liked Side Effects – the main character is so bitter and bitchy and that appealed to me. I know others who didn’t like it as much and that’s because it’s somewhat of a hard book to connect with. I also put off The Diviners because of how big and intimidating it was but once I got into it loved it. The pages seemed to fly by and I finished it quickly because I was so into it. And I love Crown of Midnight. I recommend it and think that everything does start to speed up and get more interesting and more fantasyish once you get more into the series 🙂

    • Well then in that case, I suppose I’ll have to read some of them! You seem like one of those in the minority who likes Side Effects May Vary. I don’t mind bitchy main characters, actually – or even other types of unlikeable characters, as long as it’s done for a reason. That’s reassuring about The Diviners – maybe one for the school holidays. Oooh, I’m actually really excited for Crown of Midnight now 🙂

  5. I’m not so sure about ‘The Maze Runner’ either – I do remember picking it up once and trying to read it, but it just didn’t ‘click’ with me. I suppose I will give it another try though, with the movie coming out and all. Both ‘Side Effects May Vary’ and ‘The Diviners’ are books that I LOVED. The former made me cry and had an unconventional cancer story, while the other is a great read if you like the 1920’s scene with a great supernatural twist. Negative reviews can make an impact on my expectations/excitement levels for novels as well, but I have been pleasantly surprised on more than a few occasions which is always a good thing 🙂

    • Mmm me too. Although it keeps staring at me from the “new books” stand at school. IT WATCHES ME, EUGENIA. Oh, I’m so glad you liked Side Effects May Vary. Gives me some hope that I might just like it. And The Diviners does sound good 🙂

  6. SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY — Was not a fan of this one at all. Thought it was going to be John Green-esque, however there wasn’t much plot to it and the main character was really, really unlikeable.

    FROSTBITE — Yes, read it!

    CROWN OF MIDNIGHT — YES YES YES YES YES YES. That is all.

    THE DIVINERS — Haven’t actually read this one, but I’m with you. It’s massive… and well, I’m lazy.

    THE MAZE RUNNER — I didn’t seem to like this one as much as other people. The concept was GREAT, however the writing and characters were very ‘meh’, especially the protagonist.

    SHIVER — It’s been years since I’ve read this series…. but give it chance. You might find that it surprises you.

    TWILIGHT — Honestly? I love these books. They’re flawed, definitely, but there was just something about it that I enjoyed so much that I can’t exactly put my finger on. Would I recommend it…? Well, it’s completely up to you, really, whether you want to read it or not. It’s not for everyone. I read it when I was quite young and knew next to nothing about books and writing, so I wasn’t picking it apart. If I re-read it now, though, I’m sure I would rip it to pieces.

    • Oooh, excellent run-down there, Kara! So basically I take it that I need to read Frostbite, Crown of Midnight and Shiver. Maybe Twilight. Gosh, there are so many books on my TBR I can barely keep track. I need to make a shelf on Goodreads for “might get around to one day…”

  7. There were A LOT of negative reviews for Side Effects May Vary but after the book came out, I actually saw a couple of positive ones that really have me intrigued so I may end up reading it in the future!

    I actually *liked* This is What Happy Looks Like but I am not sure I want to read The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I am curious but insta-love and I aren’t the best of friends and I am worried this may be case of insta-love.. but then again, everyone seemed to love it!

    GURL. YOU BETTA READ FROSTBITE. GET OFF YO ASS AND GRAB YOSELF A COPY!

    I actually haven’t read COM either and I probably won’t until I get more deets on the love triangle like situation in the series! I read the first book and was slightly underwhelmed but then Dorian didn’t have a chance and I became sad.

    I actually had a copy of The Diviners forever and then I saw Nara had one too and then we buddy read it together… so that we wouldn’t feel so intimidated by the size and it was worth it! 😀 You should definitely give it a shot, Emily!

    If you want to watch the movie, read The Maze Runner, otherwise, the last book is a major disappointment so you might want to skip it.

    READ SHIVER! CAIT IS RIGHT. NO MORE EXCUSES. READ IT.

    OMG YOU WERE UNDERWHELMED BY DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE TOO? Everyone loved it but I couldn’t quite get into it 😦 I loved bits and pieces of it but things like the romance REALLLY got to me and Karou let me down once Akiva came into the scene. I do want to give the series another chance those so I plan on reading book 2… eventually 😛

  8. I did not like The Maze Runner. Nothing happened. I read both Twilight and Shiver, but my opinions of both have been changed. For one, I don’t even know what I really thought about Shiver. I read it before I knew it was generally hated so now that I know it is, that might’ve changed my opinions. I used to be obsessed with Twilight, but now I don’t think Bella is a good representation to women. Normally I don’t care about “weak characters” but Bella Swan basically has no personality without Edward. She didn’t even have one with him either.

  9. I’m kind of iffy about reading The Maze Runner too. Seeing the trailer has made me pretty interested in the book, but at the same time, it doesn’t exactly seem like something that I would normally read. I’m okay with exploring new types of books, but I’d rather read the types of books that I normally read before I branch out and try new things.

  10. Crown of Midnight was SO GOOD! It addressed all of my minor complaints that I had with Throne of Glass, so I was so happy with it!

    The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight was really cute! It’s the perfect quick, fluffy read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

