Top Ten Tuesday: books people are pestering me to READ ALREADY

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

I have blogger friends, IRL friends and a sister who are all constantly telling me to read things.

Today I’m going to talk about some of those. Because, seriously, I am a victim of peer pressure for some of these. “YOU MUST READ THEM, EMILY.” *cowers* Okay, okay. Calm down everyone.

the evolution of mara dyer shamanka dangerous girls

1) The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

My sister is pestering me to read this one. And I can’t escape her. So I did actually borrow it recently.

2) Shamanka by Jeanne Willis

This is also thanks to my sister. It’s some weirdo book she loved as a kid, and she wants me to read it.

3) Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

People aren’t wanting ME to read this specifically. I think the whole book blogging world just wants EVERYONE to read it. And I will cave, because I always do. Plus it looks incredible.

frostbite lizzie bennet just one day wildwood dancing

4) Frost Bite by Richelle Mead

One of my IRL friends is obsessed with this series. “READ IT, EMILY.” *cries* I will, I will…

5) The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick

Because let’s face it, I need this book in my life.

6) Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Aaaaaaaaaana we’re back to my sister. She bought this for me for my birthday (mostly because she wanted to read it). “Hurry up and read it so that I can read it.” I think she’s going to give up and just read it before me.

7) Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

I don’t remember who was pestering me about this one, but someone was. I’ve owned it for ages but have never read it.

apple and rain 2 everything leads to you falling into place

8) Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

I mean, this arrived in my mailbox with A PACKET OF TISSUES. That is some serious expectations. And everyone has loved it, so I really really want to read it soon.

9) Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

John Green recommended this. JOHN GREEN. On his Youtube. And I wanted to read it even before then.

10) Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

Everyone is talking about this book, it feels like. Or maybe just the little bubble that I’m living in. “Read Falling Into Place,” they said. FINE, I says. FINE, I WILL.

So there we go! A mix of speculative and contemporary, those are the books people are pestering me to read. Or pestering everyone to read. And I will…eventually 🙂

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: books people are pestering me to READ ALREADY

  1. Heh, I loved this prompt. 😉 And I neeeearly put Richelle Mead on my list, but it was overtaken by ALL THESE BOOKS my sister is yelling at me to read. Gee, I read like 100 books a year and she reads 30 and she’s still the one saying, “Why haven’t you read this book yet? Huh? HUH?” No pressure, darl. Everyone’s cowered me into a corner to read Daughter of Smoke And Bone, but I think I’m going to like it. And my oldest sister is still cranky that I haven’t read Wicked. BUT I WILL. She bought it for me for my birthday which was like…at the beginning of the year. Oops. >_<

    • Isn’t it good? Kind of similar to last week’s, but I enjoyed it. Apparently the Vampire Academy series gets better as it goes along, so I’m looking forward to continuing it. Oh, sisters are PUSHY, aren’t they? And like Mime, Sophie hasn’t read nearly as many books as me 😛 I hope you like Daughter of Smoke and Bone – so many people do 😛 Wicked! How exciting! I’ve never seen the musical but in theory I love it 🙂

  2. I am the Wildwood Dancing pesterer! I pester anyone and everyone to read that book because it’s my favourite and perfect and beautiful and just GAH. Read it, Emilyyyyyyy.

    Of the other books on your list, I’ve only read Frost Bite and I am currently reading The Evolution of Mara Dyer (it is FABULOUS so YESSSSS you should read it).

    I really want to read Dangerous Girls because everyone is raving about Dangerous Boys which makes me want to read Dangerous Girls. 😀

    I have Apple and Rain from the publisher, so I am pretty keen for that one. AND I REALLY WANT TO READ EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU. That cover, and the rave reviews make me want it so bad. Falling Into Place also looks fabulous + teen writer, which is always awesome!

    • Ah, YOU’RE the one. Well, it’s on my TBR because of you 😛

      Oooh, okay, more motivation to read the second Mara Dyer book. My sister inSISTS (sister…insists…get it?) I read it soon. Otherwise she’ll probably poke me with a stick or something.

      I JUST BOUGHT DANGEROUS GIRLS because why not? Also Bookworld was having a sale.

      Oooh, I have Apple and Rain as well!! Go us 😀 I also have Falling into Place, but I’d already written this post before it arrived so SQUEEE. So excited to have got it 😀

  3. I feel like the book blogging community is pestering me to read Dangerous Girls and Falling Into Place as well! I kind of want to read Dangerous Girls because I love books that rip my predictions to pieces, but I don’t want to end up reading a book with lots of romance when I expected more from the mystery side of things. I also want to read Falling Into Place because of the math/science element, but then I’m not sure if I want to read about a suicide attempt. My friends are pestering me to read The Fault in Our Stars and the Harry Potter series, but yeah, that’s not happening. Then again, I’ve also had some really good recommendations, including The Book Thief.

    • The book blogging community can be quite persuasive, can’t it? Dangerous Girls just…like…I don’t even know anything about it BUT I MUST HAVE IT. Because I am a victim of peer pressure. Badly. Oooh, I got Falling Into Place from the publisher yesterday so I’m very excited. It’s narrated by the imaginary friend 😀 The Book Thief is amazing, isn’t it? ❤

  4. I’ve only read two of these books so I can’t really comment about most of them…
    I loved the Vampire Academy series but it really got going after the first few books. As for Lizzie Bennet Diary – I think it’s best if you’ve read (AND LOVED!) the youtube series before reading the book.
    Dangerous Girls intimidates me. The blogging world seems rabid about this author but I’m nervous to try!

    • Well, you’re still doing better than me 🙂 Everyone says that about the Vampire Academy series. And I gave the first one 4 stars so I’m very optimistic I’ll like the rest. Oh, I LOVE the Lizzie Bennet Diaries on Youtube. LOVE THEM. I bought Dangerous Girls from the Bookworld sale today so hopefully it lives up to expectations 😀

  5. I definitely recommend Dangerous Girls, I absolutely love it. It’s messes with your head. I can’t wait to read Everything Leads To You. Everyone seems to be adoring it.

  6. DROP EVERYTHING AND READ DANGEROUS GIRLS NOW….ahem. Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I totally think you should because it’s amazing! I loved the VA series, and enjoyed it all the way through. Lizzie Bennet is the best if you’ve seen the Youtube series. I’ve heard great things about Falling into Place and Everything Leads to You, but I haven’t had the chance to read them either.

    • WOAH CAPS LOCK MUCH. Okay, Jeann. Just for you. Just for you 😛 I really do need to read the rest of VA. Penguin is very persuasive. I HAVE seen the Lizzie Bennet Diaries on Youtube and completely love them, so I’m very excited to read the book…once I’ve bought it. Thank goodness I’m not on a book-buying ban anymore 😀

  7. Ooh, Dangerous Girls. I keep hearing so much about those books, too! I have to admit I now am curious to see what they’re like. I recently read Just One Day… I liked it, but I didn’t seem to love it like everyone else has. But most likely I’ll still want to read the sequel if I happen to chance upon it. Haven’t read Apple & Rain or Everything leads to you yet, though I am continually reading good things about those novels. And Falling Into Place was GREAT. If you ever get the chance to read it I’d love to know what you thought of it. 😀 Great list.

    • I know, so am I. I can’t bear not knowing. It was the same for We Were Liars, which unfortunately I didn’t like as much, BUT I HOPE YOU DO. Apple and Rain looks great, and I do own a copy so I shall be reading it soon. I got Falling Into Place from HarperCollins YESTERDAY actually, so that’s so exciting!!! I can’t wait to read it 😛

  8. Everyone keeps telling me to read The Evolution of Mara Dyer as well, but I’m hesitant because it seems really mysterious and I don’t really know what it’s about… maybe I’ll get to it someday! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: the week of ISLA | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

