Stacking the Shelves: the week of ISLA

So this week: 

– Isla and the Happily Ever After graced my household with its beautiful presence. You’ll hear more on that later, but basically I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS BOOK FOR SO LONG. And it is awesome. Just…so good. I read it in a day.

– Our school had a walkathon. We walk ten kilometres to the nearby river, have lunch there as well as some tug-of-wars, then walk five kilometres back to school. 15kms all up. Which is quite a lot of kilometres. Also, the theme was Disney, so my friend Clare and I dressed up as two of the Incredibles. It was pretty incredible. HA. (I’m the one on the right, by the way)

CAM00221 CAM00222

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

CAM00207

For Review

CAM00208

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld thanks to Penguin Teen Australia. This is a VERY large book, which is kind of scary, but it looks so good. Half of it is about a young adult who’s publishing her book, and the other half is the book that she wrote. How cool is that?

Sandy Feet by Nikki Buick thanks to University of Queensland Press. This one involves a road trip and I’ll be interviewing the author sometime in the next month or so.

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang thanks to HarperCollins. I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS BOOK. 1) Amy Zhang is an awesome teen writer and teen writers stick together, and 2) It’s narrated by an imaginary friend. I mean, is that not the coolest thing ever??

Bought

 CAM00209

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’ve already read it and loved it and it’s amazing and cute and I read it in a day and it made me so happy and just *breathes* oh my goodness. It is everything I wanted it to be. Except. Okay, there is one annoying thing.

CAM00198 CAM00203

It’s shorter than the other two 😦  It looks ODD. But don’t they all look pretty together?

And then there was Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas. I cannot even count how many people have told me to read this book. It has a beautiful matte cover that is LOVELY to stroke, and I can’t wait to read it 🙂

Five books in five days is not a bad effort, really.

Books Read Since Last Week

hate list the book of days isla and the happily ever after

Hate List was really good. So sad. I liked how it was more about Valerie than the school shooting. I might be reviewing it with my sister sometime, but I’ll see.

The Book of Days was pretty good too – I felt there were a lot of similarities in style to The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.

Isla and the Happily Ever After was (of course) amazing. This is also one I’ll be reviewing with my sister once she gets around to reading it. But seriously, guys, YOU NEED TO READ IT SO I CAN FLAIL WITH YOU.

By the time this post goes up, I might have also finished The Evolution of Mara Dyer, but I’m not quite sure, so I’ll put that as Currently Reading.

Currently Reading

the evolution of mara dyer

I’m already liking it better than the first one.

Reading Next

the summer of kicks

The photo’s a bit dodgy, sorry. But anyway, I’ll let you know what I think of this one 🙂

Gif of the Week

Because Isla.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I reviewed Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas and talked about how I NEED Heir of Fire

Tuesday: I talked about the books EVERYONE is pestering me to read. 

Wednesday: I gave you a tour of my lovely bookshelves. 

Friday: My sister and I reviewed The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. She loved it. I was a bit meh. 

Saturday: I talked about why timing is everything with reading.

So that’s it for this week. The next couple of weeks I’ll be studying my butt off in preparation for exams, so THAT’S FUN. I guess in year 12 I’ll think this was a breeze. How was your week? 🙂

31 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: the week of ISLA

  1. The walkathon sounds so much fun! Wish my school had something like that. We have the Terry Fox Run every year but you don’t really walk that far. Just around the perimeters a few times. And you guys looked so cute! Disney is such a great theme and the Incredibles is such a good idea! I might have to steal that for Halloween…

    And ISLA. ISLA ISLA ISLA. I started reading it this week and oh my goddddd, it is so fantastic.

    Anyway have a great week and GOOD LUCK ON YOUR EXAMS!!!

    • It IS fun. And as long as the students behave, they will hopefully continue to run it. We’re a nerd school so people don’t tend to break the rules TOO much.

      ISLAAAAAAA. It’s amazing, right? I’m co-reviewing it with my sister once she finally reads it 🙂

  2. Still waiting for Isla around here (I swear if the book depository screwed up the order I’m going to kill…politely threaten somebody…preferably with a knife…plastic of course *wink*). Anyway I’m so happy that it was lovely and gushy and hearts & rainbows. Can’t wait!
    I’m glad you’re liking the Evolution more than the the first book. It’s a lot creepier (and that’s a plus).
    Good luck on the exams-May the odds be ever in your favor!

    • If they mucked it up you need to yell at them. Loudly. Although sometimes it’s the postal system. But EITHER WAY I hope you get it soon 😀 😀

      Evolution was SO much better! I couldn’t stop reading. I’ve finished it now and oh. My. Gosh that ending. Crazy.

  3. I know how you feel with all the studying – I’m in the same boat at the moment! Those incredibles costumes look pretty cool 🙂 The books you got this week are definitely ones I’d love to get to read sometime – especially ‘Afterworlds’ which sounds amazing! It’s a shame that Isla isn’t the same size as the other two (that must be really annoying) but at least the covers match which is some consolation, and they do look pretty together for sure.

    • Ugh, I hate studying. I feel you, bro. It SUCKS. Oh yes, Afterworlds sounds incredible, I can’t wait to read it. Actually, I can’t wait to read ALL my books! The different sizes of the books are so annoying but they are lovely colours, and I have the words inside which is what counts 🙂

  4. The walkathon sounds like so much fun, and I love the Incredibles costumes. Did you make them? I really want to read Falling into Place because MATH! And I love gobbling up (I mean, reading) books by teen writers since I myself am a teen writer. I might want to read The Hate List. And I might want to read The Book of Days because I want to read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, and if I like it, then I’ll probably like a book with a similar style. Studying…I will have to face a lot of that soon, as well as cross country practices and meets, which will probably detract from my reading, writing and blogging time. School is starting way too soon. I don’t know. I’m excited for school to start, but at the same time I don’t want summer to end.

    • We DID make them! My friend’s mum made the logos and we just bought tights and shirts 🙂 I usually hate maths, but not in books, so Falling into Place sounds amazing – and yes, teen authors rock. You should TOTALLY read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland – it’s so awesome. Studying and cross country – sounds like a poisonous combination (well, only because I dislike both, lol). I know what you mean about being excited for school but wanting holidays to continue – that’s me every year!!

  5. Now that the whole Anna series is out, I really want to read it and purchase the pretty paperbacks because they look so good together! I’m sorry to hear the one you got is shorter than the others though, that’s always so frustrating when they don’t match! YES YOU FINALLY GOT DANGEROUS GIRLS. Mwahahahaha….

  6. Wooow, that’s a lot of kms! I remember doing a 13km hike through a gorge with my family which. was. exhausting. I kind of said, “NEVER AGAIN” very loudly. lol I’m such a wimp. 😉 But your costumes are awesome!

    YAY FOR ISLA AND FASDJKAFLDSJAF YOU HAVE DANGEROUS GIRLS. I SO HOPE YOU LIKE IT. okay! Okay! I’ll stop yelling now. But honestly DG is amazing and will probably mess with your head. Completely. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Bit sad Isla is the wrong height *sigh* But you can’t have everything, right? 😉

    GOOD LUCK STUDYING. That sounds exhausting. 😦 Mime is doing similar, but she’s only in year 10…except we’re going away, as you know, lol, this week and it’s like exam-prep week. Heh. She is SO not happy. >_<

    • See but hiking’s different. This walk was just flat 🙂 and plus, it doesn’t seem like much when you’re talking with friends.

      ISLA’S SO AMAZING. And I read the first page of Dangerous Girls. It was pretty awesome. Although now I want to know what happens so I’m not sure it was the best idea 🙂

      Oooh, Mime’s going to have fun once she gets to senior school. MWAHAHAHA. It gets so much harder. *sobs* Hahahaha, how evil of you to go away during exam-prep week. Oh well. I’m sure she’ll still do awesomely 🙂

  7. Walkathons = Kara’s worst nightmare. Haha.

    So… I take it we should all be reading Isla? I remember reading and loving Anna and the French Kiss a couple of years ago, but for some reason, I’ve never read Lola. It’s one of those books I’ve mean meaning to read for agggeees, yet have never gotten around to it. O.o Falling Into Place was great! I can’t wait to see what you think of it. I’m still on the fence about Dangerous Girls. I am soooo tempted to just buy it, but then my TBR pile will suffer. I think I’ll see what you think of it first. 🙂

    • Awww, but it was so fun! I love walking 🙂 it makes a nice change from my room haha.

      YES READ ISLA NOW READ IT READ IT READ IT. Although read Lola first. It’s awesome. Falling into Place sounds really good too, I can’t wait to read it. And the cover has such a nice texture (gosh, I like weird things). I will dutifully read Dangerous Girls and get back to you 😉

  8. Aww you and your friend looks so cute in your Incredibles costumes! Did you make them yourselves? And 5 books in 5 days?! OMG! Good job Em, that’s really impressive. I’m waiting on Isla to come out in Australia before I go out and purchase it. MUST. REFRAIN. FROM. ONLINE. SHOPPING. Eeeep!

    • We DID make them! 😀 well, my friend’s mum made the logos and I just agreed to wear it with her, but still!! Haha, I went for a while without getting many books at all, so I’m kind of overwhelmed right now 😛 but dude, seriously, nice self-restraint on not buying Isla. My sister pre-ordered it for my birthday so I figure that’s alright 😀

  9. I CAN’T. TOO JEALOUS THAT I DON’T HAVE ISLA YET. T_T You and your friend look so badass in those photos, by the way! 😉

    PRETTY BOOKS. Sandy Feet has a cute cover, and I love road trip books! Also going to read Falling Into Place soon–I’ve heard mixed things about it, but go teen authors! WHY IS ISLA SO SHORT? D: Yaaaas, enjoy Dangerous Girls, my friend. 😉

    Happy reading, and BEST OF LUCK WITH YOUR EXAMS!

  10. Ohh, I remember what exams were like (all those years ago), back then everything was determined from a few weeks at the end of year 12 that was either or make or break situation. I like how it’s more spread evenly now, it was just too much pressure. Good luck ❤ You'll kill it.

    I'm reading The Summer of Kicks at the moment, and I can't stop laughing. On Twitter you were saying how funny it was too. I got to the part about the band names and the bingo machine, my god, I nearly fell off the couch. I'm absolutely loving it. The Grease musical? Priceless.

    Afterworlds was such a let down for me, but as a writer I cant wait to see what you think of it. To me it seemed more like having a crack at young authors who get big contracts for mediocre books. Can't wait to see your take on it too.

Leave a Reply

