Top Ten Books I REALLY WANT TO READ But Don’t Own *cries*

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

I own quite a lot of books, blogglings. But there are also lots I do NOT own.

Today I shall share with you a selection – merely a TASTE TEST – of the books I am desperate to read but do not own. Also, I can’t find them in either of the libraries I frequent. So. That’s awkward.

lizzie bennet everything leads to you 

1) The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick

If this looks familiar, it’s because I used it for last week’s Top Ten Tuesday. Because I REALLY NEED TO READ IT. PRONTO.

2) Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

This one is also from last week. Because apparently I am extremely unoriginal. But yeah, this also looks awesome, and the novel I want to write next has similar themes in it so…I NEEDS IT.

3) She is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick

I heard about this last year sometime when I was asking for book recommendations on Twitter, and then Cait from Notebook sisters reviewed it, and that’s enough for me to REALLY WANT IT.

  all four stars cinnamon girl

4) Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Because Crown of Midnight was AMAAAZZZING and I’m borrowing The Assassin’s Blade sometime this week. I actually did request this for review and I GOT APPROVED…KIND OF SNEAKILY BUT I DID, AND I CAN’T WAIT TO READ IT.

5) Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

I don’t even know what it’s about. I just know that lots of people love it, and I love the cover, and that’s enough motivation for me to want it in my life.

6) All Four Stars by Tara Dairman

This is middle grade, and I saw it floating around the blogosphere. It’s about food!!! It’s this seven-year-old chef and it sounds absolutely adorable. I seriously need this book.

7) The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil

I read Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil last year and ADORED it, and this one sounds amazing! Comic books and a bakery and the end of the world? That’s freaking awesome.

the museum of intangible things faking it this shattered world

8) The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder

1) Epic title, 2) I’ve read another Wendy Wunder book and it was fantastic, and 3) Epic cover.

9) Faking It by Gabrielle Tozer

I mean, it’s not actually out yet. So I feel slightly better about not owning it. BUT STILL. I need this book!!!!

10) This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Same with this one. But I am so excited for it, because I LOVED These Broken Stars, and half of the authors are Aussie (as in…one of the authors) and it’s just…I can’t wait to read this!!

So those are some books that I would LOVE to read but don’t own (yet…). What about you?

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I REALLY WANT TO READ But Don’t Own *cries*

  1. I might want to read The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet because I really enjoyed reading Pride and Prejudice and I love retellings. I also want to read She is Not Invisible because of Cait’s review. It seems like a really unique book. And now I want to read All Four Stars because I love MG and the cover is adorable! Hehe. I also kind of cheated a little with this week’s prompt in my TTT because I wrote about two books that aren’t even out yet.

    • Oooh, have you watched the web series of Lizzie Bennet? Because it is FANTASTIC. Oh yes, Cait is very influential, isn’t she? 😛 plus I didn’t even know what the book was about until now. Omgggg I so want to read All Four Stars, but it’s not out in paperback yet, and hardbacks are EXPENSIVE.

  2. I really want to read ‘Faking It’ too when it’s released! Other books include: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Daughter of Smoke and Bone (which I am planning to get this week for the Laini Taylor event), The Fifth Wave, and a whole bunch more that are sitting on my TBR just waiting to come into being on my shelf! 🙂

    • Yay, high five!! I can’t wait for it, I loved The Intern sooo much. OOH, I just read The Evolution of Mara Dyer, which is MUCH better than the first one – so if you’re not too impressed by the first one don’t worry, it gets better. I hope you like DoSaB too – I didn’t love it, but maybe I’ll like the second one?? Haha, I wish some books would just appear on my TBR. I need a genie.

  3. I’m kind of sad I’m not linking up this week, urghhhh. But maybe it’s a good thing because oh gosh my list would be VERY long. Wasn’t Life In Outer Space amazing, though?!! I’m really excited for Cinnamon Girl! XD I keep finding these awesome aussie authors and then they stop writing. -_- *coughShirleyMarrcough* She’s amazing and only wrote 2 books and I so would read more.
    I desperately absolutely want Heir of Fire too. But…how fussy am I? I need it physical copy. I just…I JUST REALLY NEED IT IN PHYSICAL COPY. Kindle is not okay for books I’m very passionate and emotional about. I also want This Shattered World a lot. And eeep! I smiled when I saw She Is Not Invisible. I think…maybe…I would be putting Golden Son and Extracted and Fairest (hehe, cheating since it’s not out yet, but whatever) OH and Doll Bones!

    • Awwww but this is such a good prompt!! I do it every week, pretty much, mostly because I’m lazy and can’t think up my own posts 😛 I can’t wait for Cinnamon Girl! I think I might buy it for myself as a post-exam present, lol. Okay, Shirley Marr, have to check her out.

      Yes yes yes, I know what you mean about physical copies! Well, I don’t read ebooks at all, so even more so for me, but yeah. Physical books are obv. better 😛 OMG I loved These Broken Stars so much more than I thought I would, and Aussie authors and GAH I needs it! Hehe, your review of She is Not Invisible was awesome, I need to find it somewhere. Fairest as in Gail Carson Levine Fairest? Because that is AWESOME. She’s like one of my favourite authors 🙂

  4. Ooh, that’s so exciting that you got approved for Heir of Fire! 🙂 It’s one of the ones I’ve been desperately waiting on, so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!

    I really enjoyed The Museum of Intangible things – it’s a bit darker than I expected, but SO good.

  5. There’s a few here that have taken my fancy, but I guess I’m just settled into other ones before those. Everything Leads to You has some epic reviews and that’s pushed it higher. I have to say, The Secret Dairy of Lizzie Bennet is a wonderful read, seriously, compliments the video series so damn well. Not a Drop to Drink has good notice but Shattered Worlds I feel will be big because so many people liked These Broken Stars, so good luck getting that one Emily! 😀

    • Everything Leads to You and Lizzie Bennet are both ones at the top of my “to-buy” list. Actually I just bought Lizzie Bennet today soooo yeah 😛 This Shattered World looks really good – I love the cover and I like how there are different characters. That’s so cool!

  6. THERE ARE SO MANY GREAT BOOKS ON THIS LIST EMILY! GAH!

    I actually read Everything Leads to You, Heir of Fire and Not a Drop to Drink and absolutely loved them, so I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 😀

    AND OMG! THIS SHATTERED WORLD! Hands down, probably one of my most anticipated titles of the year. SO incredibly anxious to read it, and I think I speak on behalf of both of us when I say that I hope it’s as good as TBS!

    Thanks for sharing, and GREAT choices! ❤

  7. Heir of Fire isn’t on my list…but that’s only because I wrote the list before I read Throne of Glass.
    And, yeah, I’ve got no idea what Not A Drop to Drink is about either, but I want to read it.
    And, yeah, the only reason I want to read She Is Not Invisible is because of The Notebook Sisters’ review.
    I haven’t read These Broken Stars yet, but I have it (from the library). I’ll get around to it…one day…

    • Not a Drop to Drink has like the prettiest cover ever. I think it’s about survival. Or something. I’ll read it one day in the distant future.

      Oh my gosh, how persuasive is Cait, though? Every book she likes I just want to go and grab.

      DEFINITELY READ THESE BROKEN STARS. IT’S AWESOME.

  8. I can’t believe I even managed to choose just ten books for today’s list, but I’m very proud that I did. I actually own The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, but I haven’t read it yet because I want to finish watching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries first, and I haven’t yet. Because I am slack. And several other reasons. But yeah.

    Also, YES. I need to read Everything Leads to You and She Is Not Invisible and Not a Drop to Drink and The Museum of Intangible Things and THIS SHATTERED WORLD. Also, I love the 50’s-style cover for The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl, but I have absolutely no idea what it is about. I also really need to read The Intern already…

    • Yes, there were soooo many that missed out by THIS much on my list. Finishing the web series is probably a good idea – the ending is great, just saying 🙂

      You need to read allllll the books, Ebony 😀 Haha, I know that The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl involves a bakery and comics, and that’s all I need to know.

      The Intern is amazing. You should read it in time for the second book to come out, haha 🙂

  9. So many amazing books! Argh. I’ve got a copy of Everything Leads To You and I’m really looking forward to reading it. I’m starting Throne of Glass soon so I’m intrigued to see if I like it as much as everyone else seems to! I loved She Is Not Invisible. I really hope you like it too!

    • Books books books. So many lovely books 🙂 Jealous you own Everything Leads to You. I can’t find a paperback copy for sale!! I didn’t like Throne of Glass that much, but Crown of Midnight was AWESOME, so you should definitely keep that in mind. Oh, and I’m glad you liked She is Not Invisible, I’ve heard so many good things about it 🙂

  10. I am so freaking excited for Heir of Fire. LIKE I REALLY REALLY REALLY WANT THIS BOOK. *flails* Ooh, you got approved! I’ll will be very interested to see what you think of it. On one hand, I can hardly wait until it’s released, but I’m also kinda worried it’s not going to live up to my expectations, you know? Yet I’m pretty sure it’s going to be amazing, judging from the stellar reviews I’ve read for it lately. 🙂 Moving on, though (seriously, I could talk about those books all day) I’m also looking forward to This Shattered World. These Broken Stars was BRILLIANT. And Faking It looks awesome (lovely cover!), and the first one was really great.

    Awesome list! 🙂

    • OH MY GOSH SO AM I. I can’t believe the turnaround – meh for Throne of Glass and now *GRABBY HANDS* Like, I really am loony 😛 This Shattered World, yes yes yes yes!!! AUSSIE AUTHORS RULE. I am just…I need it. Like, now. Although I guess I might haaaave to wait. *sighs*

  11. I sometimes feel like the only one in this universe who didn’t love Life in Outer Space so that’s awkward. I had no idea The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl was by her though and now I has a confuse. It sounds amazing but I don’t KNOW if I should read it even though I WANTS to.

    YES TO THE SECRET DIARY OF LIZZIE BENNETT THOUGH. I wants so bad and I really hope there is an edition that actually is like a diary instead of the whole loop thing being an image. I’d be really sad otherwise. I reallly want Everything Leads to You too. It just sounds amazing! AND THE COVER. SO PRETTEH.

    I actually added She is Not Invisible after Cait’s review too. I WANTS THAT TOO. (I want everything.. so greedy I am)

    All Four Stars though. That book speaks to my soul. It’s a book about food. FOOD. AND it’s MG and it’s bound to be cute and I just want it. *goes to a corner to cry*

    • That IS awkward. I felt like that with We Were Liars. Something went wrong in my brain, probably.

      OMG, how cool would it be in an actual diary form?? That would be the prettiest book ever. And then there should be spin-offs where you can write your own diary…hmmmm.

      Cait is very good at persuading people to read books, lol. After her review I practically ran to Goodreads to put it on my TBR. Well, not ran, because I think running is illogical, but I MADE MY WAY THERE QUICKLY.

      I’m with you. I want ALL the books. Although All Four Stars isn’t out in paperback yet. *sobs*

  12. So many beautiful books in this list! The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet was incredible! It tied in so well with the videos and it just made me so incredibly happy! The feeeeeels. I’m currently reading Heir of Fire and ajkfhalsf it’s amazing. So amazing. I can’t even believe it!

  13. I recently won a copy from Not a drop to drink, finally. I would have included it on my list otherwise too. I can’t wait for HEIR OF FIRE. So excited. Everything leads to you and The museum of intangible things have such pretty covers 🙂

  14. Hello there! I was wondering if you’d be interested in writing collaborative reviews of the new series of Doctor Who. In other words, we would pick one episode and co-author a post. I thought writing with other Whovian bloggers might be a nice change from my usual blogging-by-myself routine! 🙂
    If you’re interested, more info can be found right here —> http://musingsfromnevillesnavel.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/collaborative-reviews-of-doctor-who-series-eight-in-the-forest-of-titles-and-theories/
    Thank you!

  15. I’m actually just about to start The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl, I loved My Life in Outer Space as well and this one looks even more brilliant. I think This Shattered World is probably in the top three on my have to have it list, along with The Infinite Sea as well. I love the cover for All Four Stars, so incredibly charming and whimsical. Great list Em, going to check a few of these out and add the to my growing to read list ❤

  16. Oh my goodness—I seriously want to read so many of these. So let’s gush together! I haven’t read Lizzie Bennett’s book or watched her on YouTube… But oh my, she sounds giddy and hilarious! I have both Everything Leads to You and She is Not Invisible (which actually has such a prettier cover in a different edition) and from what I’ve heard, they’re two of the best books of 2014—and that’s saying a lot, right? HEIR OF FIREEEE! Man, I still don’t know what I’m waiting for—I have an e-ARC to get to! Jeann and I are going to do a buddy read on it so I’m really excited about that, tee hee.

    Not a Drop to Drink has been so raved about that I decided to pick it up a few months back and I really enjoyed it! The uniqueness of the premise and the survival skills and all that was magnificent. I can’t wait to get my grabby hands on the sequel! I think that you will enjoy that one a lot!

    The Museum of Intangible Things’s cover is SO EYE-CATCHING. It’s cute, hipster and really suits the book’s premise, at least from what I’ve heard. I got that one too, on my Kindle, but I’d rather snag myself a gorgeous hardback copy… hehe. HIGH FIVE TO THIS SHATTERED WORLD! 😀

    Emily, you’re so awesome, haha. We have such a similar taste in books-that-we-need! Great post!

  17. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves – the wonderful Alice in Wonderland | The Loony Teen Writer

  18. Not a Drop to Drink and This Shattered World. I must read those two. The first because I love the idea and how she came up with the idea. The second because I LOVED These Broken Stars. I love sci-fi in general, but I specifically loved the concept, the characters, the plot, and I didn’t actually except those little twists. I was too captivated to even guess what possible twists there could be. It’s amazing and I want more of that world<3

Leave a Reply

