Stacking the Shelves: the MEGA EDITION

THIS WEEK.

– I got a bazillion books. Okay, not that many. But it has made my TBR quite a bit taller.

– I realised that, after all my whingeing for about SEVEN YEARS, my exams are next week. So that’s…exciting (??).

– This was my last week of proper year 11, since I’ll be doing year 12 next term.

– And that’s terrifying enough for one week.

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted byΒ Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

CAM00284

THAT IS EIGHT BOOKS. THAT IS A LOT OF BOOKS.

For Review

So I came home onnnnn Tuesday, I think? And there was this BOX from Scholastic. In this box was:

The Maze Runner by James Dashner – the movie cover. Normally I’m not a fan of movie covers, but I DO NOT CARE because it looks amazing.

Wickedpedia by Chris Van Etten – something about Wikepedia, I’m guessing?

Followers by Anna Davies – this and Wickedpedia are horror, or thriller or something, so that’s exciting.

The Last Thirteen – 4 by James Phelan – this is like the tenth book in the series, so I’m not sure I’ll end up reading it.

Paper Planes by Allayne L. Webster – this one looks great!! It’s based on a true story and it’s about a Bosnian refugee who fled to Australia, so I’m really excited to read this. That’s the great thing with unsolicited copies, sometimes – you discover things like this!

So thank you, Scholastic, for all those!!! πŸ™‚

Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis – another surprise book. And it’s a lovely HARDCOVER too! It’s…I think it’s fantasy? I think. It looks interesting.

Thanks Thames and Hudson for this one!

The Jewel by Amy Ewing – the cover for this one is beautiful. And I hope I like it, because dystopians are a bit hit-and-miss for me.

Thanks Walker Books! πŸ˜€

Bought

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick – I’m reading this one at the moment, and while the writing’s not the best, it’s SUCH a good companion to the videos.

 

Books Read Since Last Week

the rapunzel dilemma falling into place the realm of possibility

The Rapunzel Dilemma was a bit…meh, to be honest. But you should totally read The Cinderella Moment.

Falling Into Place was O M FREAKING G. That’s a thing, I promise. IMMEDIATE five stars. Just. Seriously. It is AMAZING. I’ll be reviewing it soon and you can expect lots of caps from me.

The Realm of Possibility was a bit meh as well. Some parts of it, the writing was beautiful, but there were too many POVs for my liking. But I’ll be reviewing this soon as well.

Currently Reading

lizzie bennet sandy feet

Because why read one book when you can read two? I just really wanted to start Lizzie Bennet.

Reading Next

apple and rain 2

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

I’m SO EXCITED to read this, because it sounds amazing.

Gif of the Week

Which represents ME whenever I read a book with a mystery/unknown thing in it.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I reviewed Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas, which you MUST READ.

Tuesday: I shared the characters I’d want on my lunch table (a very strange lunch table)

Wednesday: I posted my August recap – books I read, books I loved, books I reviewed

Friday: I reviewed The Rapunzel Dilemma by Jennifer Kloester

Saturday: I discussed why I’m slightly scared of posting negative reviews

Other Things of Importance

So I lead sprints on the Twitter account @FriNightWrites every Friday. And unfortunately, I’m having to step down from that, because I’m just not finding the time recently. So if you’re an Aussie writer and you’d like to take over my spot, message me in comments or on Twitter, or email me at emily (dot) mead3 (at) live (dot) com (dot) au

It’s a lot of fun πŸ™‚

 

Wish me luck for exams, everyone (as you have been the past seven centuries I’ve been whingeing about them)! I’ll probably still be posting the same amount on here, because study breaks (and chocolate) are IMPORTANT. So is procrastination. It’s a necessary part of studying. Oh, and for my American people, how’s school? πŸ˜›

43 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: the MEGA EDITION

  1. That’s a LOT of books! The Maze Runner is amazing, and I’m not usually a fan of movie covers, but I kind of want to buy a movie tie-in copy to add to my normal one because it is AWESOME.
    I also really want to read The Jewel. Hope you enjoy it! I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts. πŸ™‚
    GOOD LUCK with your exams!

    • I KNOW. TBR explosion. I’m excited to read THe Maze Runner actually, although others have said the next ones aren’t as good…hmm. Ooh, yes, The Jewel looks good, although it’s had lots of negative reviews, so I’m slightly worried.

      Thank you πŸ˜€

  2. GOOD LUCK FOR YOUR EXAMS. That’s totally nerve wracking. You definitely deserve chocolate and procrastination and…and…JUST GOOD LUCK, YES.

    Your stack looks almost identical to mine. πŸ˜‰ Hehe. Except I was grabby hands in the audio section of the library. Otherbound was SUCH a surprise! It’s not something I’d normally grab, but, haaaardcover. Publishers are so generous it blows my mind. And I’m absolutely not not not reading anything else by James Phelan. I think those books are designed for people who don’t read, because (I think) the storytelling is awful and it uses every cliche. OMG, I’m bashing. I DON’T MEAN TO BASH. Sorry. *slinks away* *returns to whisper* But I have about 5 of them now and I should really hold a giveaway or something. Hehe.

    • THANKS CAIT. I’m utilising ALL the chocolate and procrastination πŸ˜›

      Yessss all the publishers love us the same (jks, they obviously love me more :P). Yes, I was surprised to get Otherbound as well!! it’s so pretttyyyyy. Hahaha looks like I definitely won’t be reading the James Phelan book, then – I’m not sadistic enough to want to put myself through that.

  3. Good luck with exams, Emily! You’re making me feel inadequantly worried for the HSC… (yeah, I gotta get on that)
    I loved the Lizzie Bennet Diaries but was apprehensive that this book would be just that, except now I have to read it. But maybe I’ll give it a go. I’ve a void right now that I’ve got to feel hahaha

  4. Good luck with your exams!

    So many books! I really want to read Falling Into Place because it involves math. And since I love fairy tale retellings, I also want to read The Cinderella Moment. I also want to read The Maze Runner because of the movie trailer, which looks so suspenseful. The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet is a maybe kind of book for me because I love Jane Austen, but it seems kind of chick lit-y, which is not my thing. The cover of Apple and Rain is beautiful; sometimes a beautiful cover just makes me want to read a book even if I have no idea what it’s about.

    School is going good. My classes seem really interesting and my teachers seem nice. Also, I can make it to all of my classes on time now because I actually know where they are. The only bad thing is that for some of my classes there are only five freshman out of about 25 students. It’s not like upper classmen are mean or anything; it’s just that I’d rather be with more people my age.

    • Thanks Ana!

      I KNOW. So many books!! Falling Into Place is absolutely amazing – review is up on Monday. And yes, The Cinderella Moment is great too. I actually haven’t seen the trailer for The Maze Runner…must get onto that. OMG YES how beautiful is the cover for Apple and Rain??? It’s such a beautiful book.

      I’m glad school is going well for you! I remember always getting lost in year 7 because I didn’t know where the rooms were (I still get lost now, sometimes, because my class has migrating somehow without me knowing, lol). Five your age out of 25??? That’s bananas!

  5. Good luck for your exams, Emily! I’m sure you’ll do fine. The best piece of advice that I can give you would be to not let yourself stress. If you start feeling overwhelmed and/or stressed whilst studying, take a break. And don’t feel guilty for taking a break. I’m not sure if you do any of those things, but I was constantly getting stressed and overwhelmed last year and then feeling guilty when I wasn’t studying, and it was horrible, so I hope you have better studying methods than I did. πŸ™‚

    This reminds me that I really need to read The Maze Runner! I’m glad you’re enjoying The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet ! I need to read that too, but first I have to finish watching TLBD…oops. I’m actually watching Pride & Prejudice (2005) as I type this…Also, HOW AMAZING IS FALLING INTO PLACE? I loved that one so much, so can’t wait to read your thoughts of it. Looking forward to your review of Apple and Rain as well.

    • That is all excellent advice – thank you so much, Ebony ❀ I DO occasionally feel guilty for not studying, which is completely crazy because it's unrealistic to think I should be studying ALL the time! I'll definitely keep those things in mind πŸ˜€

      OH YES YOU HAVE TO FINISH LBD. Ahem. The ending…oh my goodness. OH YES FALLING INTO PLACE IS AHHHMAAAAAYYYZING. So so so great. Equal favourite book this year πŸ˜‰

  6. So jealous of all the books you have this week! I wish I get as many physical arcs that you do 😦 In any case I hope you enjoy all of them !! Especially The Jewel… I hated that one, but it’s the kind of book that you either hate or love, so I’m very intrigued to know what you’ll think about it πŸ˜€

    Faye at The Social Potato

  7. Good luck in your exams! I also bought The Maze Runner this week, I hope we both enjoy it πŸ™‚
    And I’m sure you’ll love Apple and Rain, it’s a great book πŸ™‚

  8. Ooh so many great looking books this week Em! Good luck for exams, I can relate – and I totally agree with study breaks/chocolate/procrastination being parts of the exam-prep process (because let’s face it – we’re only human and if you can’t take a break for chocolate then there’s a problem) *searches for that cherry ripe I had earlier…* ANYWAY, I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of The Maze Runner since I want to read it before seeing the movie! I hope you like Apple and Rain – although I didn’t actually cry in it (and use those complementary tissues), it was still a touching read. I’m going to start Falling Into Place soon so you’re excitement about it has me looking forward to it even more! As always, awesome post, and enjoy your books πŸ™‚

    • Hahahaha yes, chocolate breaks are ESSENTIAL.

      I want to read it before seeing the movie too. I’ll try not to look at the cover so I don’t picture the actors when I’m reading πŸ˜› HAHA yes, the tissues with Apple and Rain were so funny, but I don’t cry often in books…at all. I HOPE YOU ENJOY FALLING INTO PLACE, I LOVED IT πŸ˜€

  9. Ah, good luck on your exams and I’m glad you’ll still keep blogging…it sorta keeps the exam stress at bay! And gosh, that’s a lot of books…THE MAZE RUNNER MY DAYS, I need to get my hands on that! Apple and Rain sounds pretty good…and Falling into Place was a pretty mellow read, right?

    • Thank you! And yes, definitely, doing something you love makes it easier. The Maze Runner looks really good and my sister liked it πŸ™‚ Apple and Rain looks great as well. HAHA, Falling Into Place was amazing, but sliiiiightly a bit intense πŸ˜›

  10. AWESOME PILE OF BOOKS.

    Soo excited for The Jewel — the US cover reminds me a little of The Selection, and overall the concept sounds a little similar, and I did enjoy The Selection, so I really hope I enjoy The Jewel. xD Have you read The Maze Runner yet? I enjoyed it (albeit a little less than everyone else seemed to) though I haven’t yet read its sequels. Otherbound looks awesome, too. πŸ˜€

    • RIGHT? They’re filling up my TBR again.

      I haven’t read The Selection, so I’m interested to see if I’ll like it…I haven’t read The Maze Runner yet, but I definitely want to before I watch the movie. And yes, Otherbound looks awesome even just from the cover πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

