The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan: So. Many. POVs.

the realm of possibilityTitle: The Realm of Possibility

Author: David Levithan

Genre: YA contemporary – verse novel

Length: 210 pages

Published by: Text Publishing Australia

Source: Received for review (thanks, Text!!)

Blurb:

One school. Twenty voices.

Endless possibilities.

There’s the girl who is in love with Holden Caulfield. The boy who wants to be strong who falls for the girl who’s convinced she needs to be weak. The girl who writes love songs for a girl she can’t have. The two boys teetering on the brink of their first anniversary. And everyone in between.

As he did in the highly acclaimed Boy Meets Boy, David Levithan gives us a world of unforgettable voices that readers will want to visit again and again. It’s the realm of possibility open to us all – where love, joy, and the stories we tell will linger.

There are…so many people in this book. Twenty of them, in fact. And since it’s in verse, and it’s only 210 pages, that’s like…

Hang on, let me maths.

That’s like 10 pages per person. Which meant that I did not connect to ANY of the characters.

I like David Levithan. I do.

every day will grayson, will grayson every you, every me

This is the fourth book I’ve read by David Levithan.

I LOVED Every Day.

Really liked Will Grayson, Will Grayson. Kind of. But that might be because I’m biased towards John Green.

Every You, Every Me was interesting but kind of unmemorable. It had photos, though. That was cool.

So he’s a kind of hit and miss author for me, but in every book I read of his, I really want to experience a book that hit me as much as Every Day did (side note, what’s with two of his books starting with Every?). But apparently verse novels just aren’t for me.

The only other verse novels I’ve read are Run by Tim Sinclair, Tricks by Ellen Hopkins and Perfect, also by Ellen Hopkins. I do not have an inner poet. I am not a fan of poetry. You’d think that I would have stayed away from this book because of that.

BUT I BELIEVED IN DAVID LEVITHAN.

And I still do.

And don’t get me wrong, there were parts in this book I DID like. Some of the writing was so, so beautiful. My favourite POVs were

1) Where there was the girl who wrote everywhere.

and

2) The sisters who were lying in the backyard.

I just really struggled to connect to the story.

Like I didn’t…I didn’t get what the POINT was. Obviously other people did because it has a lot of amazing reviews. But it just wasn’t for me.

I think the best approach with this book is to focus on the writing whether trying to keep track of every character’s story – which is what I tried to do. Because the writing IS really beautiful, and if it was, say, 3 POVs, I could have really loved it. But I don’t do well with multiple POVs in general – I like sticking with maybe one or two characters, and getting to know them.

I think verse is a really interesting format to tell a story through. But in this instance, it just made it even harder to connect to the story. I wasn’t invested in the characters. It was written in a way that seemed like everything was supposed to connect into one larger story, but it just…didn’t. As soon as I’d finished reading one character’s story, I pretty much forgot about it.

Despite all that, David Levithn IS a good writer. You can see that in some of these stories, in some of the lines that I read a few times over because woah, they were awesome. I think this is just the wrong format for the story he was trying to tell, and I just couldn’t connect to it.

But if you like Ellen Hopkins, or beautiful writing, or verse novels, this is definitely a book for you.

 

Rating: 2.5/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

And tell me: have you ever read a novel in verse? What are your thoughts on them?

13 thoughts on “The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan: So. Many. POVs.

  1. thats great, love the different videos especially, my bestie is reading will grayson, will grayson and I loving it, its great I actually have a “friend” named greyson, and yes it is spelt with an e, hes awesome, not to mention an actor, I am too

  2. I don’t think I have read a novel in verse before, so it would be interesting to try that out, plus the idea of photos in the book sounds pretty cool. However, I could see what you mean when it comes to having lots of POV’s in a book and not really being able to connect to the characters on that deeper level when there are so many of them in a short space of time. Thanks for sharing your honest opinion, I loved Every Day too so I *might* still check this one out πŸ™‚

    • They’re not for everyone. Apparently not for me, even though I keep trying (and failing) to fall in love with them. Yeah, that was the main problem – just waay too many characters! If that’s possible. I really loved Every Day. And I’ve heard good things about The Lover’s Dictionary so I’ll have to check out that one as well…

  3. OMG THE GIFS THOUGH. This is the most brilliant gifing skills I’ve seen. HEHE. I haven’t actually read anything by David Leviathan, and I nearly requested this book, but, *sigh* I’m trying just to read what I have and then catch up on series (like, *cough* Harry Potter…I’m so bad about that). I’m glad I didn’t know. I struggle with like 3 POVs let alone 10!! So meh. Maybe one day? But it is not this day.

    • HAHA. Thanks Cait. I’ll co-share the Gif-Master title with you, then, yes? πŸ™‚ Yeahhhh, I should really stop requesting books. Although to be fair, there are a LOT of books on my TBR that were surprises. Publishers just love me too much, I guess πŸ˜› OMG YOU MUST FINISH HARRY POTTERRRRR. Yep, multiple POVs and I don’t get along. There are actually TWENTY in this one! It’s crazy.

  4. Fantastic review, Em! I haven’t read many David Levithan books either, but I definitely think he’s a miss and hit author for me too. The same goes for books written in verse. I’ve read few, and I’ve liked them, but I don’t feel as though I connect well with characters when it’s written in verse, hence I don’t end up loving the book. I have this one on my TBR, but I think I might give it a miss, it just doesn’t feel like it’s for me. πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve tried reading a novel in verse before…but it’s just not for me. Honestly I don’t think this is one I’ll end up reading (even though I do quite like the author, save for Every You, Every Me — though the photos were awesome!), because I usually find that style of writing to be very disjointed and jumpy if that makes sense. As for multiple point of views, I actually usually like them! Well, not if there’s *that* many, but it does make me curious about the story. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (HEIR OF FIRE!!), Loony Blurbs and Re-organising my Bookshelves | The Loony Teen Writer

  7. I’m so sorry that you didn’t enjoy this one more Em, he’s a hit and miss for me too. I’ve read a couple of his titles and the one aspect he does really well is to create diverse couples. The last one I tried of his was also a series of how they met stories and you really can’t relate to a character in so few pages. I like to see more back story and ten pages for each story sounds a little too awkward. I love books told in verse though, so I might still give this a try eventually, but a bit hesitant. Fabulous review ❀

Leave a Reply

