Stacking the Shelves (HEIR OF FIRE!!), Loony Blurbs and Re-organising my Bookshelves

What. A. Week.

It’s been pretty busy. I’ve finished my first half of exams and I have four left. Unfortunately they’re all the hard ones, but this time next week I’ll be PARTYING IT UP (with books) because I will have finished my exams. Which will be excellent.

I also made “Loony Blurbs” AN ACTUAL THING. WITH AN ACTUAL BANNER.

loony blurbs 3

Coming up this week there’ll be an announcement post, and I’ll tell you how you can join in next time!

I also gave a teaser on Twitter about a fun post coming up this week:

CAM00309[1]

The post will be called…

12 Places To Put Your Books (when you run out of shelf space)

And it’s going to be LEGENDARY.

 

This week I also re-organised my bookshelf.

Here are some snapshots – BEFORE on the left and AFTER on the right. My TBR shelf is the middle one πŸ™‚

bookshelfBEFOREbookshelfAFTER

I MEAN LOOK AT THE BEAUTY.

bookshelfRAINBOW

My floor also got quite messy.

bookshelfMESSY

Also: prizes. From left to right, 1) Creepiest book, 2) Double-ups I didn’t know I had, and 3) Coolest book I had no idea I owned (it’s about tooth fairies??? Or something?? Has anyone read this?)

bookshelfCREEPY bookshelfDOUBLEUP bookshelfDIDNOTKNOWIOWNED

And now that I’ve given an impromptu SECOND bookshelf tour (slightly), it’s time to get on with stacking the shelves.

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted byΒ Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

CAM00318[1]

For Review

CAM00316[1]

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas thanks to Bloomsbury. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. My sister made me read it as soon as I got it so that she could read it after me – didn’t take much convincing because I was so excited!!! And it lived up to all of my expectations. We’ll be co-reviewing it soon.

Pandora Jones: Deception by Barry Jonsberg thanks to Allen and Unwin Australia. I haven’t read the first book, but there are TWO copies of it at my school library, so I’m going to read them soon. I’ve heard great things!

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier thanks to Pan Macmillan Australia. This was a surprise one! I haven’t read Wildwood Dancing yet, but I do intend to. Dreamer’s Pool is adult, and I’m not sure when I’ll get the time to read it, but it looks excellent.

Golden by Jessi Kirby thanks to Simon and Schuster Australia. IT’S SO PRETTY. All golden and hardback-y and lovely. And I’ve heard soooooOOOOO many great things about this book.

Thanks so much to Bloomsbury, Allen and Unwin, Pan Macmillan and Simon and Schuster!! πŸ™‚ Mwah!

From the Library

CAM00317[1]

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder – see, the thing about the senior study area in my school is that it’s a mezzanine-level above the library. Which means that I have to to past the New Books stand every time I go up there to study. And it’s IMPOSSIBLE to just GO PAST IT when Poison Study is staring at me. So I had to borrow it. And we’re allowed to borrow books for over the school holidays, so this is MINES for a few weeks.

Books Read Since Last Week

sandy feet heir of firelizzie bennet

Nice and colourful. Sandy Feet was not bad, but not amazing. Heir of Fire was AWESOME. And The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet was really fun and sisterly, but I DID expect more from it. But you’ll hear more on that soon.

Currently Reading

apple and rain 2

I’m excited to get into this one!!

Reading Next

angelfall

Everyone has told me great things about this one (plus it’s due back at the library soon…)

Gif of the Week

Because I’m sure a lot of us can relate to this gif.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I flailed about the AMAZING WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL SAD Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang (*whispers* just read it)

Tuesday: I talked about the top ten under-rated books in YA fiction

Wednesday: I reviewed The Book of Days by K. A. Barker, which was wonderfully whimsical and very different

Thursday: I posted book blurbs from titles in my new feature called Loony Blurbs, which will soon be a public feature!!

Saturday: I reviewed The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan…yeah, there were just too many POVs

This has been a VERY long post. Forgive me. I hope you all had a great week πŸ˜€

18 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (HEIR OF FIRE!!), Loony Blurbs and Re-organising my Bookshelves

  1. That gif will always be my favourite. IT JUST WILL.

    Ohhh, but I’m so excited for your where-to-put-books post! THAT SOUNDS SO AWESOME. Gee, though, you’re just going to tell us about it and not give it to us. right. this. minute. WHAT IS THIS?! *waits impatiently* And your shelf looks very pretty. πŸ˜‰ I had a shelf for TBR books but then I ran out of other shelves, so I’ve moved my TBR to the top of my bookshelf. It is a scary day when a bookshelf fills, I tell you.
    HEIR OF FIRE!!! OMIGOSH!! I’ve just bought it. Yup. It should come next week and I think I’m having a minor heart failure in preparation. I have never been so freaked out about a book before.

    • Because who likes people, right??

      OH IT’S GOING TO BE AWESOME. And you’ll see it soon, I promise πŸ™‚ I just like torturing you – you should know that by now. I’m probably going to run out of shelf space soon. But unfortunately the tops of both bookshelves are taken up already *gasp* Which is why I had to get creative (as you’ll see in Thursday’s post).

      EEEK I HOPE YOU LOVE HEIR OF FIRE. I mean I’m sure you will, considering I did, and I didn’t even like Throne of Glass that much. Enjoy πŸ˜€

  2. Hohoho I’ve had Heir of Fire sitting there, pushing 3 to 4 weeks now and have not caved. I’ll see if I can make it another month LOL But I definitely am tempt by Angelfall and the fact that it’s your next read just makes me think that fate has given me a sign. Yes, definitely. I need to read this xD

  3. That GIF is my life.

    I saw Heir of Fire in KMart yesterday for $9 and thought that was such a good price! It’s so beautiful. I didn’t buy it however, because I actually didn’t really like Throne of Glass…3 stars for me. I have Crown of Midnight though, so I’ll read that eventually and then determine whether or not I’ll continue the series. I love how Heir of Fire is floppy, unlike the other two.

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Poison Study and Golden! I had no idea S&SA were publishing Golden. And in hardcover too!

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Apple and Rain and Angelfall! I read half of Angelfall way back in March or something like that, and just wasn’t feeling it, so I put it down.

    • ME TOO.

      Nine dollars, not bad!! Kmart doesn’t usually have a good book range so that’s awesome πŸ™‚ Yeahhhh I didn’t like Throne of Glass that much either, but SERIOUSLY, Crown of Midnight is soooo much better πŸ™‚

      YES, I saw Golden on S&S’s catalogue for like….October? And I was like YES MUST READ.

      Just finished Apple and Rain. It was amazing. Ugh. Just so good. But I’m intrigued to see if I’ll like Angelfall or not…..

  4. Oh Emily I love your reorganised bookshelf so much, it is super pretty! I’m so excited you are reading Angelfall, it really was an epic book, prepare to be in awe! I just loved the cover for Heir of fire, it looks amazing plus the back cover as well. Enjoy all of your books lovely! x

    • ISN’T IT? It makes it very hard to study because I just want to gaze at my books πŸ˜› eeeee I’m excited for Angelfall. I’m enjoying it so far πŸ™‚ YES the cover for Heir of Fire is stunning. Now I’ll have to buy the others to add to my collection… πŸ™‚

  5. Ooh can’t wait for that post about finding spaces for books outside the old bookshelves when they just can’t take any more. Your new bookshelf organisation looks so pretty, as do a lot of the books that you got this week too! Hope you like ‘Apple and Rain’ and ‘Golden’, plus ‘Angelfall’ is pretty awesome too!

    • It’s gonna be LEGENDARY πŸ˜› yay, I’m glad you like my bookshelf! Took a while but it was worth it πŸ™‚ Apple and Rain was amaaaazzzzingggggg (extra letters necessary), and I’m excited for Golden especially, because I’ve heard so many great things about it!!

  6. AHAHA THAT GIF. AWESOME. I’m so glad you liked Heir of Fire — at the same time I’m really hesitant and excited to start it! What if it doesn’t live up to my expectations?! Oh, the horror! The only negative for rearranging a bookshelf is that, well, like your pictures have accurately demonstrated, the floor ALWAYS gets messy. And in my house there is dust. Dust = sneezing and itchy throat for me! =/ Congrats on finishing half you exams… Not long to go, now! Just think: You’ll have heaps of time to read and chill. πŸ™‚ *grumbles incoherently and shuffles back into HSC study cave* I can’t wait to see what you think of Apple and Rain, it looks so good and I’ve seen heaps of positive reviews for it. I enjoyed Angelfall, so I hope you do, too, though I didn’t seem to *love* it like everyone else. Looking forward to your “12 Places To Put Your Books” post, though I don’t think I’ll be putting any of my books on the washing line… πŸ˜‰

    • BECAUSE NOBODY LIKES PEOPLE, RIGHT?? Ooooh, I’m interested to see what you think of Heir of Fire. You’ve earned a place in my mind as a harsh reviewer so it will be intriguing. Yesss there was a lot of mess. But it meant I could discover books I didn’t even know I owned, which was exciting. Like, Happy Christmas to me!! Good luck with your HSC study cave, haha. Is that similar to a writing/editing cave? Answer: no, it’s way worse, of course.

      HAHA. I don’t make a habit of putting my books on the washing line either. I did apologise to them once they were done πŸ™‚

  7. Looney Blurbs, love it! Gosh, I feel like I haven’t visited in ages (it’s only been a week or so I think), been super sick with a stomach flu and had to come by and see what you’ve been up to. GOLDEN! I read that one recently and gosh Em, it was brilliant. The storyline blew me away and Jessi Kirby wove the storylines of two girls around one another so beautifully. READ IT SOON! I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

    Gee, Heir of Fire, you could kill a small child with that. Whoa, that’s a BIG book. It reminds me that I really need to give the series another do. I read book one but didn’t really get what the hype was at the time. Fingers crossed for a better second time around. Have a fabulous week little poppet ❀

  8. I am so excited for your 12 Places to Put Your Books post, Emily!! Ugh, I totally get the hardships of bookshelf arranging. 😦 I plan to rearrange mine during our holiday breaks… It took me 6 hours the last time. X_X I really hope you enjoy Poison Study! I adored it. _<

    Happy reading, Em! ❀

  9. I love rearranging my bookshelves. Yours looks so good. I am so jealous you got Dreamer’s pool, I’m really looking forward to reading that one. The cover of it is beautiful. I can’t wait to read Heir of Fire, I have a few other ARCs I have to read first but then I’m going to dive in. It’s so big.
    Good luck with the rest of your exams.

Leave a Reply

