Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’ve only read one book from (but seriously need to read more)

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

I’ve read a few books this year.

In fact I’ve read 117 of them so far. That’s a lot of new authors. And from those, there are some that I NEED to read more from. And I am limited by a) the authors only having released one book, b) other books not being in my local library or c) my monetary funds.

So here we go!

apple and rain 2 the intern for blog falling into place

Sarah Crossan, author of Apple and Rain

I just finished reading this book. And ohhhhh it is amazing. Seriously. It’s about abandonment and sisters and mothers and family and friends and it’s just great. I need to read more of Sarah Crossn.

Gabrielle Tozer, author of The Intern

Luckily, Faking It will be coming out at the end of this year, so that’s exciting!! I get to read more of Josie’s story.

Amy Zhang, author of Falling Into Place

I will read anything this girl ever writes. Ever. Falling Into Place has been one of my favourite books this year. Possibly THE favourite book.

aristotle and dante dangerous girls more than this my life next dooooor

Benjamin Alire Saenz, author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

If you haven’t heard me banging on about this book before, clearly you’re not following this blog closely enough. I KID, I KID. Suffice it to say that this book is beautiful and I need to read more from this author.

Abigail Haas, author of Dangerous Girls

BECAUSE SERIOUSLY, MIND EQUALS BLOWN.

Patrick Ness, author of More Than This

MIND EQUALS BLOWN AGAIN. Apparently I like it when my brain explodes. Because this book was awesome.

Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door

This book was perhaps my biggest surprise of this year. It was sweet and lovely, but had a lot more depth than I expected. Definitely an author to read more of.

bird crystal chan life in outer space these broken stars

Crystal Chan, author of Bird

This was such a unique, interesting, diverse book and the writing was absolutely beautiful.

Melissa Keil, author of Life in Outer Space

Luckily I won’t have to wait much longer to read another book by Melissa Keil, because I ordered The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl recently. I’M SO EXCITED.

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, authors of These Broken Stars

You guys don’t even know how excited I am for This Shattered World. And I’ll have to check out the individual works of these authors as well, because they look awesome.

So there you have it!

Ten authors I seriously have to read more books from. There are some authors that ALMOST made it to the list, except I figured out I’d read two of their books. Because, you know, I just HAD to read more from them (I’m looking at you, Claire Zorn).

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’ve only read one book from (but seriously need to read more)

  1. I need more from Crystal Chan as well! Bird was such a beautiful book. I’m so glad that you enjoyed Apples and Rain and Falling Into Place. I really want to read both of those books, and they both have beautiful, artsy covers. WOAH. Your “Blogs I Love” sidebar section just exploded.

    • Yes! And Bird is so under-rated as well. I absolutely loved it. Oh my goodnes, Apple and Rain and Falling Into Place were both amazing. Five stars.

      HAHA yes, I updated it last night. Still have some more to add, but I’m playing around with it. I think I might put them under a new tab rather than clogging up the sidebar…hmm. I’ll think about it 😛

  2. I need more Amie Kaufman + Meagan Spooner IN MY LIFE RIGHT NOW. I sooo cannot wait for This Shattered World. ^-^ But mostly I only ever read one book from an author anyway, even if I really enjoy them! I’m just SO slack. Although I need more Claire Zorn. The Protected kind of just broke my heart and…I WASN’T PREPARED FOR THAT. And you definitely need Dangerous Boys. 😉

    • I DO TOO. And Clare from Allen and Unwin said she was happy to send me a copy of This Shattered World SO THAT’S FREAKING EXCITING!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh yes. Yes, you do need more Claire Zorn. If it’s possible, The Sky So Heavy is ACTUALLY EVEN SADDER at the end.

      I do need Dangerous Boys. I need it very much.

  3. I agree with you! I need to read more Patrick Ness. I am slightly obsessed with A Monster Calls. I’m actually a little afraid to read his other books because what if they don’t live up to my favorite book of all time?

  4. Definitely agree with the first three and I still need to read ‘My Life Next Door’! (it’s yet another one of those books that I actually have but haven’t gotten to yet *hides*) Great list Emily, you’ve reminded me of a few books that I really need to get to! 🙂

  5. UHM. I have only read APPLE AND RAIN and THESE BROKEN STARS, and now I feel so dodgy! D:

    I desperately want to read ARI AND DANTE, and I even have a copy now, so it’s just a case of finding the right time to read it. Also, I really want to be in the ~mood to read it, if that makes sense? Hello, mood reader *points to self*

    I actually won a copy of BIRD that never got sent out to me *wails* It looks really good, though.

    I just read Eugenia’s review of FALLING INTO PLACE and WOW I need that book RIGHT NOWWW.

    I desperately want to read Dangerous Girls because everyone is raving about it and I love thriller/mysteries and just yes. Want that book.

    • Dodgy??? WHY??? Apple and Rain and These Broken Stars are definitely enough from that list 🙂

      Although, yes, you do need to read Aristotle and Dante haha. I do agree that you have to be in the right mood, though. Like don’t read it when you’re tired. It’s very special.

      Awww, such a shame about Bird! My copy is one that I won as well…but it did arrive. *shakes fist at postal system*

      Yessss, Eugenia’s review was less flailing than mine, but it seems like she loved it as much as me, which I’m super happy about because it’s just…it’s just…incredible. Really.

      AND YES DANGEROUS GIRLS OH MY GOODNESS.

  6. OH MY GOSH DANGEROUS GIRLS I STILL CAN’T GET OVER IT. o.O I sooo want to read Dangerous Boys, now, though I have no idea how it’ll live up to the awesomeness that was Dangerous Girls! Still, I must get a copy of it soon. 😀 We have a few in common this week! I forgot about Gabrielle Tozer, but yeah, I really want to read more of her, too, and I’m really looking forward to Faking It.

  7. I was coming back to check to see if you’d replied to my comment, and I think it must have ate it. Dammit. Any chance it’s sitting in a spam folder thingy somewhere? *shakes fist at WordPress*

  8. I feel the same way about These Broken Stars and More Than This. Those books are so amazing! I definitely have to read more by those authors. And wow, 117 books is a lot! Happy reading! 🙂

  9. I actually added one or two of these books to my to-read list after seeing your post (like BIRD; also, my sister has MY LIFE NEXT DOOR but I hadn’t planned to read it until I read your little blurb about it, and now I think I’ll give it a try!), so thanks for the recommendations!

    Several of these books are on my TBR list already, too–APPLE AND RAIN, FALLING INTO PLACE, MORE THAN THIS, LIFE IN OUTER SPACE, and THESE BROKEN STARS. Now I’m looking forward to reading them even more!

  10. Absolute fantastic list this week, Em! ❤ And woah, congratulations for reading 117 books so far this year, that's amazing! I've had a funny readng year, and am both proud and disappointed in myself for reading 90 books so far. Hahaha. 🙂

    This post is just another kick in my backside reminding me that I need to read Apple and Rain and The Intern. Falling Into Place was so great – I already want to re-read it! Amy made my list this week too.

    YES. ARISTOTLE AND DANTE. This made my list as well this week. (Well, Benjamin did) AND I NEED TO READ DANGEROUS GIRLS ALREADY. I have my own copy now, and I JUST NEED TO READ IT ALREADY UGGGHH. Also, Huntley Fitzpatrick made my list, and I NEED to read More Than This. I got this for my birthday, and haven't even thought of picking it up yet. 😦 I just haven't been in the right mood. As I said, I've had a funny reading year.

    Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner were an honourable mention on my list this week tooo, and I will one day read Bird and I really want to read both of Melissa Keil's books.

Leave a Reply

