Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – A Story in Gifs

heir of fireTitle: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA high fantasy

Length: VERY LONG. Okay. 565 pages.

Published by: Bloomsbury

Source: RECEIVED FROM THE WONDERFUL BLOOMSBURY PEOPLE FOR REVIEW. Sorry, I’ll stop with the caps. Okay, no, I probably won’t.

Blurb:

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

******WARNING****** May contain spoilers for the first two books in the series.

Okay, so I’m going to give my reactions to this book in gifs, because I can’t think of any other way.

Me starting this book:

I was kind of extremely nervous about starting this book. I was kind of disappointed with Throne of Glass, after all. WHAT IF IT DIDN’T LIVE UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS?

Me when I couldn’t stop reading this book:

4i8ns

Seriously. I couldn’t put it down. My emotions were all over the place. Really happy and then just really, really engaged. Serious Face on.

Me when I realised how much MORE MAGIC there was compared to the others:

This book is just CHOCK-FULL of magic. It’s everywhere. Lots of magics. And I loved it!! I mean, my favourite series is Harry Potter, after all. How could I not like magic?

Me when Celaena was in any way sad or upset because of something Rowan did:

ROWAN, YOU DO NOT BE MEAN TO MY CELAENA. YOU HEAR ME??

Me when the action just KEPT COMING:

Jeremy Renner

It doesn’t stop. Not even for a moment. NEVER. It just keeps on going.

Okay, I’ll admit…me when Manon Blackbeak’s chapters came around:

I got a bit bored with Manon’s chapters. I mean, the ENDING of it was awesome, but I think it could have done with less of her – many of her narration was not that important to the story. And it’s a VERY long book. Might have done it good to prune some back.

Me when THAT ENDING. Just…no!!! How could you, Sarah J. Maas??

“It’s a gift.”

Said every writer whenever they torture us. Heir of Fire, you need to go sit in the corner for a while.

 

So let me sum up a bit.

This was a diverse, multi-layered, complex addition to the series. It featured fantastic new characters like Rowan, Sorscha and Manon. It showed us a Celaena who was broken but who was still managing to carry on despite everything. It had magic. It had wyverns which are PRACTICALLY DRAGONS, and that’s awesome. It had Fae.

The only part I DIDN’T like was the pacing. It was a bit slow in some parts, thanks in part to Manon. Who was AWESOME in some parts, but…a little boring in others.

Overall, though, I cannot wait for the rest of the series.

And yesterday I borrowed The Assassin’s Blade, so I am prepared for my heart to be ripped to shreds.

 

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

5 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – A Story in Gifs

  1. THIS MAKES ME EVEN MORE EXCITED TO READ HEIR OF FIRE. BECAUSE MAGIC. WHO DOESN’T LIKE MAGIC?? Ahem. Anyway. Yeah, I’ve heard that Manon’s chapters can be a little bit boring, and that overall it’s a little more slower paced than the previous books, but I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Emily! I’m sure you’re glad that you pushed on after you found Throne of Glass to be disappointing, eh? 😉 I’m going to read my copy very, very soon, though I have to admit that I AM a little nervous. 😀 Great review!

  2. YES! I love how you shook up this review with the gifs :DD I’m banning myself from touching HoF, just until November but the fact that I’m reading everyone’s HoF reviews is just not helping my case. (But I must stay strong and not cave xD)

  3. Yeah, Manon was a good character, but her chapters were so dragging. And most of the time she’s training and that’s just so redundant because Celaena is training, too! O_O This definitely could have been cut shorter with those scenes… in any case, the ending was awesome. When is the fourth book coming out?!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  4. You have The Assassin’s Blade! Prepare to have your heart ripped out. 🙂
    Pretty much everyone seems to dislike the Manon chapters…not dislike, exactly, but you know what I mean.
    I felt pretty much the same, but I found that I liked them a lot better when I pretended I was reading a different book, and wasn’t desperately waiting for a Celaena or Chaol chapter.

  5. Great review. I got bored by Mannon at times too, I am curious to see her character develop over the next books. I think she’s going to change sides, and use the wyvern against the King. CAN’T WAIT FOR THAT! She will hopefully bore me less by then too.

    Oh no, The Assassin’s Blade. BE PREPARED! It will hurt you.

Leave a Reply

