Loony Blurbs: how you can join in

loony blurbs 4

 

Loony Blurbs is going to be open for everyone to

participate in! Yay!

 

Seriously, I am so excited. I’m just really really excited.

If you don’t know, “Loony Blurbs” is where I make up book blurbs purely based on book titles.

You can see examples HERE, HERE and HERE.

 

How do you join in?

It’s pretty simple. All you have to do is go over to the tab marked “loony blurbs” and look at the titles listed for the day you want to participate on. Then you make a short blurb based ONLY on that title. And then we all marvel at the awesome description and wish that the book had been based on your blurb instead of the actual one.

Well, that’s the theory.

Then, all you do is stick the banner in your post and link back to my blog so others can find out what it’s about. Simple dimple.

I’ll also have a link-up on MY post next Thursday. So when your Loony Blurbs are posted, you can come over here and paste the link to them – that way everyone can see your marvellous creations!

 

How often does it take place?

Once a fortnight on Thursdays! But you don’t have to do it every time, obviously. Maybe every second one, or as a one-off. It’s completely up to you!

 

What if you can’t think of anything for one of the titles?

You don’t have to use all the titles! I’ve listed seven for each time we’re doing it, but you can use as many or as few as you like. Again, up to you. Our titles for next week are:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Walking on Trampolines by Frances Whiting

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C S Lewis

The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E Lockhart

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

So get thinking of what you’re going to make them mean!

Other than that, I don’t think there’s much else to say. OH. Except, if you’ve got suggestions for book titles – YA, MG and NA only, please – leave them in the comments section of the “Loony Blurbs” tab, or in the comments on THIS post, or on Twitter.

My handle is @theloonytuney

 

Any other questions?

Knowing me I’ve left out something vital. It happens a lot.

BUT I AM SUPER-PUMPED FOR THIS NEW FEATURE. IT’S GOING TO BE GREAT. Hopefully.

 

If you’re wondering why I’m using GIFs from Community, it’s because I’ve recently become obsessed. And since I’ve finished exams (!!!), I can watch lots of it.

So tell me – are you guys as excited for this as I am? Next Thursday. Write it in your calendars!

36 thoughts on “Loony Blurbs: how you can join in

  1. THIS IS SO FRABJOUS, I CAN BARELY CONTAIN MYSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *bounces off walls* I CAN’T WAIT I CAN’T WAIT I CAN’T WAAAAAAAAAAAIIT!!!!!!!!! *streaks off to scrawl Loony Blurbs on calender in massive red pen* All those titles are fabulous!!! So many different things could happen, hehe!!!! 😉 *plots* I’ll deffo try and think of some titles and send them to you!!!! *scuttles off to Goodreads*

    YOU ARE FRABJOUS.

  2. I’M IN!! I love the Looney Blurbs and can’t wait to share mine too. You should totally start a link up widget, might be easier for us all to visit each other’s posts. I’m sooooo excited!

  3. Community is good?? I NEED A NEW TV SHOW ADDICTION.

    I super excited for this, Emily! *flails* I’ll definitely been joining in. I can’t wait to see what other people come up with too, and how they differ from each other. I’m already getting a few ideas. 😉

  4. Yay, what fun! This is such a creative idea; I don’t know that I’ll be participating this time, but I may have to jump in at some point and have at it. 😉 In the meantime, though, I hope your meme is met with much success, and HAVE FUN WITH IT, EVERYONE!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #3 | Free As a Girl With Wings

  6. YAAAAAY! Definitely going to participate in the near future. 😀 And oh. my. god. Those GIF’s are hilariously perfect.

  7. Damn I’m late because this is tmrw! D: I don’t think I can think of anything tonight and I’ll be out all day tomorrow but if I do manage to throw something together, I’ll definitely join in! If not, next time. 😀 I’m super excited to see what everyone else comes up with though. I’m sure it’ll be heaps of fun!

  8. Pingback: Loony Blurbs (4) – The Link-Up Edition! | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

