Bookshelf and Gif Tags

So I was tagged in the Bookshelf and Gif tags – and normally I don’t do them, but these ones looked like so much FUN. And I’m going to show you some updated pics of my bookshelves, because why not?

The Bookshelf Tag

Thanks to Kelly @ Diva Booknerd and Amanda @ Book Badger for nominating me!!

 

CAM00366[1] CAM00368[1]

I recently gave some of my stuffed toys to the Salvos so I’d have more room for books – the ones on top of the left-hand bookshelf are ones I haven’t read yet. Same with the middle shelf in the right-hand bookshelf. BUT LET’S NOT TALK ABOUT MY VERY LARGE TBR.

Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

CAM00369I have been avoiding this book, but since it’s due at the library soon, I will HAVE to start reading it.

And I am afraid.

I am very afraid.

 

 

 

Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

CAM00370I never really liked sci-fi before I read These Broken Stars. Fortunately, I now love it. Also, I really need This Shattered World to come out…like, now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find a book that you want to reread.

CAM00372Do you see the creases in the spine? That’s because I love this series. I want to read them ALL again. Seriously, they are just so amazing, and I don’t even like speculative fiction as much as contemporary, BUT THIS SERIES. Amazing.

(and you should read it)

 

 

 

 

 

Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t?

CAM00373I kind of liked the first one, and then…yeah, it was not good after that. By the way, sorry for the awful lighting. I kind of put these ones in the dark πŸ˜› and I do own the fourth one, but my bookshelves are double-stacked and I couldn’t be bothered finding it.

 

 

 

 

If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

CAM00374Not my autographed copy, funnily enough, but this copy. This has been lent to all my friends, it’s got quotes underlined in pencil and it’s just full of so many memories. All the rest I could replace, but not this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

CAM00375I’ve talked about this series before, and I really love the first few in it. It’s really adorable and different – clay dragons that are actually REAL – and I used to read it on pretty much every road trip we took.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find a book that has inspired you the most.

CAM00376I’ve ALWAYS wanted to be a writer, but this is the book that really showed me HOW to go about doing it. I’m a huge fan of Gail Carson Levine’s fairytale retellings, and this book – given by my lovely mother – is basically the reason I’m not an awful writer today.

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have any autographed books?

CAM00378 CAM00379

CAM00380 CAM00382

Here we have The Coldness of Marek (the first book I ever won online), The Fault in Our Stars, A Corner of White and Run. The only one I havne’t read yet is A Corner of White.

Find the book that you have owned the longest.

CAM00383This is not the book I have owned the longest. However, I can’t FIND any of my really old picture books, so this was the best I could do. According to the lovely message from my grandparents, this was a present for my tenth birthday, which means I have owned it for about seven years.

Not bad.

 

 

 

 

 

Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

CAM00384The Last Girl by Michael Adams is not a book I would usually read. I’m not the biggest fan of dystopian. BUT IT IS SO GOOD. It’s clever and different and just excellent.

 

 

 

 

 

And now the Gif tag!!

I was tagged by the wonderful Ella at Once Upon a Bookish Time.

 

Alice in Wonderland

Judging by the fact that I just finished writing a retelling of this, you can PROBABLY assume that I love it to pieces.

Twilight

(do I get bonus points for including Robert Pattinson in this??) Okay, I don’t hate Twilight. I just think Bella’s character is awful.

Every Breath

I was SO surprised by how much I loved Every Breath. Seriously, just read it. It’s awesome.

Grave Mercy

I haven’t actually read this book. Does it have a graveyard in it? I have no idea.

Clockwork Angel

You mean it’s not about Weeping Angels? Okay, I haven’t read this book. I did read the first four of the Mortal Instruments books, but didn’t really like them, so I’m not keen to try this.

The Selection

It’s about pretty dresses, right? Lol, haven’t read this one either. But I just finished The Jewel and really liked it, so I really want to read this!!

Graceling

Yeah, so I really need to read some of these books. I assume Graceling is about ballet? I’m joking. But I actually have no idea what it’s about.

Skulduggery Pleasant

image

I am guessing that this is about…skeletons. Or a skeleton, anyway. AND I REALLY WANT TO READ IT.

The Distance Between Us

Loved it. Kasie West is an amazing writer.

Poison Study

I borrowed this recently from the library, so I PROMISE I’M GETTING TO IT.

As for who I tag?

Jess @ My Reading Dress

Caitlin @ Books and Window Seats

Cassie @ The Magical Adventures of Cassie the Weird

and

Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer

Your books are:

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Wow, that was more difficult that I expected. Any of your favourite books here?

17 thoughts on “Bookshelf and Gif Tags

  1. HECK YES YOU NEED TO READ THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE. If it makes you feel any better, I just gave it to Mime off my bookshelf. (With, you know, death threats if she mistreats it because I’m trusting like that.) But yes, I assume she is going to be sobbing soon and I’m unsure if I a) comfort her, or b) laugh because finally she will feel the pain that I have felt.
    *ahem*
    GAH! I’m sad no one likes City of Bones! Lol I do understand, but I am so badly obsessed with that series. I didn’t own any until OMG AT THE OP-SHOP I FOUND BOOK 4 AND I HAVE NEVER MOVED SO FAST TO SNATCH IT OFF THE SHELF. I was a little embarrassed at how hard I hugged it. But pfft. I’m excited.
    I giggled at your gif for Graceling. DUH IT’S ABOUT BALLET. Or assassins? I think it’s actually about assassins….

    • I’M READING IT NOW. I’M DOING IT CAIT. Hahahahaha you should definitely laugh at her πŸ™‚

      Oh, come on, THe Mortal Instruments have a LOT of fans, lol. BUT I’M GLAD YOU LIKE THEM. LIKING BOOKS ROCKS. Ooooooh I love op shops for that reasons πŸ˜€

      I’ma write a book about ballerinas and call it Graceling πŸ˜›

  2. Your copy of The Fault in Our Stars sounds amazing and incredibly personal. Passing a book around is just a fantastic idea! And hey! I’ll ignore your extremely large TBR if you ignore mine! I fear myself when I look at it *___*
    These Broken Stars! I haven’t read it *hides* I want to, really. I love sci-fi so I don’t know what’s stopping me (my large TBR, that’s what). I will though. One day. Same goes with The Assassin’s Blade, tbh. Urgh! There’s so much to read, so little time.
    Everyone has been selling Every Breath to me. I need to read it now. It sounds amazing. Plus I need a dose of good mystery.
    Thank you for the tag, Em! I’ll get to it, I promise! But let’s be honest here, it may not come until November D: I’ve just got to sit this thing called, oh you know, the HSC before I make my bookshelf anywhere near decent enough to grace the world wide web haha :b But I will get to it πŸ˜€

    • It’s awesome. I’ve never written in any other books before (gets slightly awkward when my friends are like “why did you underline this bit, or this bit?” Haha). LOL my TBR is a little…erm, lofty, as well πŸ˜›

      Every Breath is EXCELLENT. And, you know, Aussie author πŸ™‚ major bonus.

      Ooooh, good luck with your study. That will be me next year O_O I’m sure you’ll do awesomely (and hey, you need study breaks for reading!!).

  3. YAY!!!!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR DOING THIS!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ XD XD XD XD

    Hehe, your answers were HILARIOUS. I lurrrrrved the Selection one as it pretty much sums it up x)
    And Graceling is about awesome assassiny stuff and it’s SPIFFING FANTABULOUS. You need to read it πŸ˜› Also: push Poison Study up your TBR because IT WILL JUST BLOW YOUR MIND. Maria V. Snyder has the most EPIC world building xO

    OMG THAT GIF FOR EVERY BREATH WAS SO GORGEOUSLY FRABJOUS AAAAAAHHHHHH *splutters*

    THANKS SO MUCH FOR DOING THE GIF TAG EM!!!!!!!!!! Also loved drooling over your bookshelves πŸ˜‰

    • HOW COULD I RESIST? I LOVE GIFS. Lol I’ve heard The Selection has lots of lovely dresses so I couldn’t resist πŸ™‚ And I DO like the Throne of Glass series so more assassins sounds pretty awesome πŸ™‚

      YES EVERY BREATH IS AMAZING. END OF STORY πŸ˜€

  4. FELLOW BOOK BLOGGER/DOCTOR WHO NERD???? You ARE one of my favorite blogs πŸ˜€

    *gasp* Sci-fi is amazing! I think there’s a lot of bad sci-fi out there, but you just have to find the right ones πŸ™‚ Have you read What’s Left of Me? It takes place in a parallel universe, so it’s not sci-fi persay… but I just really liked it, so here I am, adding on to your gorgeously-wonderful-looking TBR. I’m not allowed to buy/request more books until I’m finished with the ones I already have 😦

    Also, for Philip Pullman’s books, what’s the first one called in Australia? Here’s it’s called The Golden Compass, but I think it’s Northern Lights in Australia? I LOVE THAT SERIES SO MUCH srhsuihauihfuda. πŸ˜€

    • WOOT. Although Weeping Angels still scare me πŸ™‚

      I HAVE read What’s Left of Me! You might even be able to spot my copy in one of the photos up there πŸ™‚ And I quite liked Across the Universe too. Geez, maybe I SHOULD read more sci-fi πŸ™‚

      The movie version is called The Golden Compass – originally it was called Northern Lights πŸ˜€ But yes, it is AMAZING.

  5. Hahaha your gifs! I love them all πŸ˜€ I love how your favourite book is your worn TFiOS book, but I’d probably be the same with my Harry Potter books, they’re yellowed a fair bit but have all my favourite bits underlined. LOL GRACELING ABOUT BALLET. It’s practically the opposite *cries with laughter*

    Fab post, Em! <33

  6. Yay, thanks for tagging me! Gifs, here I come! πŸ˜›

    Oh Graceling, Graceling, Graceling… If you ever choose to read that book, I’d love to know what you think of it. It just didn’t work for me. At all. Actually, I probably would have preferred to have read a book about ballet, heh. Though I love fantasy, that one just wasn’t for me! Yes, pretty much, The Selection is about pretty dresses. And royalty. And two hot guys America’s torn between. Though actually, I’ve really enjoyed The Selection books, despite all the negative things I keep hearing about that series. Good to hear you really liked The Jewel, I am excited/nervous to read that one. πŸ˜€

    Clockwork Angel would have been SO much cooler if it was about weeping angels. ^_^

    • Can’t wait to see your post, Kara! You know, I haven’t actually read many books about ballet, and I really love dance, so I need to read more (or write one maybe). You know, I might have to read The Selection. I’m pretty sure they have it at the school library. GOsh, my school library ROCKS.

      I think a book about weeping angels would be extremely terrifying and awesome πŸ˜€

  7. SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT. READ READ READ. Apart from that, I don’t think I’ve read a single book from this post … apart from TFIOS and Twilight, obviously. Jealous you have a signed copy! And I agree with your Twilight gif!

    I love your bookshelves! They are pretty. Looking at pictures of bookshelves is so much fun … is it only me that thinks this??

  8. Pingback: What Happened in September, Upcoming Blogoversary and Book Swap! | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

