The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil – contemporary apocalypse?

cinnamon girlTitle: The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl

Author: Melissa Keil

Genre: YA contemporary

Published by: Hardie Grant Egmont

Published on: September 2014

Source: I bought it!

Blurb:

Alba loves her life just as it is. She loves living behind the bakery, and waking up in a cloud of sugar and cinnamon. She loves drawing comics and watching bad TV with her friends.

The only problem is she’s overlooked a few teeny details:

Like, the guy she thought long gone has unexpectedly reappeared.
And the boy who has been her best friend since forever has suddenly gone off the rails.
And even her latest comic-book creation is misbehaving.

Also, the world might be ending – which is proving to be awkward.

As Doomsday enthusiasts flock to idyllic Eden Valley, Alba’s life is thrown into chaos. Whatever happens next, it’s the end of the world as she knows it. But when it comes to figuring out her heart, Armageddon might turn out to be the least of her problems.

This book was so good my cat got jealous and sat on it.

CAM00356[1]

Also he had a whinge when I took it out from under him, because I don’t know, maybe it was comfortable? Do you know how LONG it took me to find this book, though? Cats. *shakes head*

I bought this because I loved Life in Outer Space.

It’s by the same author (the excellent Melissa Keil) and it’s about nerds and Star Wars references and a really cute romance and…yeah, it was awesome. So of COURSE I wanted to read this one.

Also it’s got an excellent cover. I mean, just LOOK at it!

Awesome things in this book include:

Unique concept for a contemporary – how many contemporaries take place alongside a possible apocalypse?

And side note: Supernatural really DOES have a gif for everything.

So this was a really cool concept. I loved that it was different, that it reflected how Alba’s world was kind of ending…or that she was facing a new beginning anyway.

At a few times I found it a little hard to suspend disbelief, because these apocalyptic things happen all the time (2012, anyone?) and nobody ever pays attention to them. And major news stations certainly wouldn’t report on them. But that’s a minor quibble.

 

Awesome characters.

We have Alba and Grady, the two main characters, but there are also heaps of others. I don’t know how I can describe their interactions except to say they’re colourful – lots of fun references and kidding around and sexual references (of course). I loved how Alba changed all of Eddie’s swearing to “fecking.” That made me laugh.

Alba herself is awesome. YAY FOR GIRLS WITH GREAT BODY IMAGE. Alba’s not your typical kind of beautiful, but she rocks what she’s got anyway, because screw conventional beauty.

 

I could really relate to Alba. She’s in rural Australia, and she’s facing a choice between leaving the beautiful Eden Valley, or staying. She’s finished her last year of school and the next stop is…well, that’s the big question, isn’t it? It’s also a decision I’ll be making in a year’s time – those same worries of losing friends, making the wrong choice, the world metaphorically ending. So I really loved her character.

SUPER-CUTE ROMANCE.

I’ll say no more on the matter, but trust me, it’s awesome.

Really quirky, Aussie and excellent.

It’s different. That’s what I loved about Life in Outer Space, that it’s so unique. And there are lots of Aussie-isms in there as well – a fictional show called Home Among the Gum Trees, among other things. We used to sing that song at school…give me a home among the gum trees…with lots of plum trees…a sheep or two and a kangaroo…

Okay I’ll stop now.

Overall?

 

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

And tell me: what’s the most unique contemporary YA concept you’ve read?

19 thoughts on “The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil – contemporary apocalypse?

  1. DAWWWWWWWW
    That sounds so cute, Emily!

    And now I am stuck. To read or not to read? If I didn’t like Life in Outer Space, do you think I’ll like this one? *sigh* I so badly want to read it though because it sounds so frigging adorable and I cannot even. CINNAMON GIRL. Plus the idea of an apocalypse is always fun! :DDDD

    AND SUPER CUTE ROMANCES. I cannot even.

    Why must I always be so confused?

    Bah humbug.

    Anyway, I am glad to hear you loved this one so much, Emily!

    Lovely review 🙂

    (AND HIIIII)

    • OH THE DILEMMAS. Hmm. It depends what you didn’t like about Life in Outer Space, I guess? But if you want something fun, different and AUSSIE, this is your guy…erm, book.

      SO I HOPE YOU CAN FIGURE OUT WHETHER YOU WANT TO READ IT. Lol.

      And hiiiiiii. I haven’t seen you around for AAGES.

  2. I totally agree with the awesomeness of Supernatural! This book sounds really quirky with a great girl as the main character. I just love Australian fiction especially with it’s done well.. A shame you had to suspend your disbelief at some points. Great review Emily!

  3. This sounds so awesome! I’ve had my eye on this for a while and after reading a few reviews I know I’m just going to have to go and get it. I love books with uniquely Australian, but not stereotypic, references and whatnot. Alba sounds like the sort of female MC I like, too!

  4. Okay. I’M EXCITED. I loved Life in Outer Space so so much. (I related so much to Sam! Heh. Crazy writer…) and this one?! I neeeed it in my life. Plus I need to read more Australian books. *nods* Although I’ve read like 4 in the last week or two, and that’s more than I’ve read all year. -_-
    OF COURSE Supernatural has a gif for everything!!

  5. Supernatural + Buffy gifs = <3!! Also, love your review. 🙂 I really enjoyed this book and I LOVED Life in Outer Space. MK seems to be able to write characters that feel like people I would hang out with.

  6. I SO want to read this one! It looks really, really awesome. Because firstly, that title of awesome, and secondly, YAY for Aussie books, and thirdly, I keep hearing really good things about it. So I definitely plan on picking it up sometime. I haven’t seen this in my local bookstores, so I hope my library has it! 🙂

  7. I loved this one too Em! Wasn’t it just brilliant. The man that wouldn’t get off her lawn made me laugh. I tend to pick out really obscure characters in books and end up fixated. At first I thought that about the news crews too, why would they bother. But you could imagine that it would be more of a quirky story to fill a gap and snowballed from there. Everyone would want in on that seeing how the town Is loaded with fruit cakes 😀

    The wonderkitty has impeccable taste 😀 Brilliant review Em ❤

  8. ARGH, THAT COVER. I WANT ITTTTT.
    (also: YES for Supernatural gifs! I’ve made it my mission to collect as many as I can and sprinkle them into alllll my review. So far it’s working. ;))

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves and first week of year twelve | The Loony Teen Writer

  10. Okay, I’m definitely picking this up sooner rather than later – Alba sounds amazing! And I love the cover and the concept overall and yay for super-cute romances! Thanks for a wonderful review, Em. 🙂

Leave a Reply

