Stacking the Shelves and first week of year twelve

THIS WEEK IN THE LIFE OF…ME.

It was my first week of year 12, which is kind of scary. But at the same time, we now rule the school so that’s excellent. We got a lot of exams back, and we got lots of assignments, and…yeah, already a crazy amount of stuff to do.

But I do like school. So that’s helpful. Plus, for my extension 2 English major work, I might be doing a retelling of The Snow Queen. Or…some other kind of retelling. I haven’t decide yet. But that’s going to be fun.

I’m also stacking the shelves!

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

CAM00423[1] CAM00425[1]

For review/won

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray –this finished copy is thanks to HarperTeen Australia – I have an ARC version as well, but I’m SO HAPPY to have this one because it’s beautiful. I’ll be reading this one really soon.

State of Grace by Hilary Badger – I won this one thanks to Hardie Grant Egmont, on a giveaway hosted by Eugenia @ Genie In a Book. It looks so interesting!!

The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick – I am so excited by the premise of this one. It looks absolutely INCREDIBLE and different and massive in scope and just…yep, excellent.

Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire – this one ALSO sounds excellent. I mean, it’s a fantasy set in Tsarist Russia, that’s COOL. It’s also by the author of Wicked. And I didn’t know this, but I actually own another book by this author. It’s called What the Dickens and is about a “rogue tooth fairy” apparently. I THINK I’ve read it before, but I don’t remember anything about it…

CAM00422[1]

Books Read Since Last Week

the assassin's bladepandora jones admissionbetween the lives

Two of these books almost broke me. The Assassin’s Blade is NOT a nice book and should be stabbed with a Basilisk fang. And I loved it. READ IT. IT WILL BREAK YOUR HEART IN THE BEST POSSIBLE WAY. *sobs forever*

Between the Lives was also a feels-crushing adventure. Goodness. Did not expect that ending.

Pandora Jones: Admission was kind of a disappointment, though. Once I’ve finished the second book I’ll be posting mini reviews of both of them on the blog.

Currently Reading

second glance dune

I bought Second Glance more than a YEAR ago and am finally reading it. And Dune is a sci-fi that I’m reading for school. It’s…erm, quite long, but I’m enjoying it.

Reading Next

golden

I can’t wait to start this one! I’ve heard SUCH good things.

Gif of the Week

I had to pick two this week because of reasons.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I reviewed The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil – and it was indeed incredible

Tuesday: I talked about my top ten favourite character-driven novels

Wednesday: I told you 20 things about me!

Thursday: the second incarnation of Loony Blurbs – you can still link up!

Saturday: I reviewed Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer and told you why it wasn’t my jam

Coming up this week is #BTCYA, the HarperCollins YA party in Sydney! I AM SO EXCITED. Who will I see there??

16 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves and first week of year twelve

  1. What gives Sarah J Maas the right to be so mean to her characters anyway??? They should be TAKEN from her until she proves she deserves them back. *nods* SAAAAAAM. I didn’t think I’d get attached to someone who I *knew* what would happen to. Oh gosh. feels all over again. *collapses wailing*

    I got Ghosts of Heaven too!! I have NO idea what it’s about but a) it’s freaking beautiful and hardback…Hachette is so nice, and b) it’s by the same dude who wrote She Is Not Invisible which I read earlier and loved and I EXPECT GREAT THINGS FROM THIS DUDE. I should also, like, google the book. Find out what it’s even about. THAT IS A PLAN.

    Yaaaay, congrats for being an official Year 12 and ruling the school and all that fun stuff. SNOW QUEEN. *clears through for rendition of Let It Go*

    • I AGREE. She should be joined with John Green and J K Rowling in writer jail. Heyyyy post idea (ten authors I’d put in author jail…this could be fun).

      Ghosts of Heaven looks freaking EPIC. Omg I love when I get hardcovers. I am always so grateful because man, they’re EXPENSIVE. I still need to read She Is Not Invisible too 😛

      I am actually going to have to watch Frozen as research. It pains me.

  2. Oh no, it’s sad that you didn’t enjoy Pandora Jones as much, I heard so much about the first book being awesome! I’m so excited you are going to BTCYA, enjoy you guys! The books you got this week all have really beautiful covers, so colourful and vibrant. I love the State of Grace and Thousand Pieces of You ones. Great haul this week hun!

  3. Poor poor poor poor Sam *cries an ocean* He just…like it happened (gives the best definition of a traumatic event ever). My heart!

    On the happier note The cover of Thousand Pieces Of You is so beauiful I want to eat it.

  4. Your covers are very colourful this week- and I love this weeks selected gifs! Gotta love Gru and Green :P. Good luck with all your assignments and tests and stuff. Year 12’ll be lots of fun.

  5. CONGRATS ON YR 12 WOHOOOOOO!

    I’m so excited for The Ghosts of Heaven. Hopefully it turns out to be a good one! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it. It’s pretty and golden, that cover, but…I prefer the US one. The colours are magnificent! No idea why the release dates differ so much but, hey, I’ll go with it 😀

    I can’t believe it’s the week of BTCYA already. Wow, time flies, right?! I hope you have a good week and well, I guess I’ll see you sometime this week anyway LOL

    • YAY YEAR TWELVE. I’m having fun so far actually 😀

      I prefer the US version too – nice and colourful. But I like the gold as well – and the actual story sounds awesome!! (but pshhh, when we’ve got an awesome cover to admire, who needs the book? :P).

      I KNOW, how quickly did it go?? I’m so excited. See you on Thursday :DD

  6. Congrats on year 12, Emily! A retelling of The Snow Queen sounds AWESOME.

    Oh my poor little heart. The Assassin’s Blade destroyed it. 😦 Between the lines was also SO GREAT. I have a copy of Disruption I’m looking forward to getting to by the same author… probably after the exams. Nice haul of books this week. That finished copy of A Thousand Pieces of You looks incredible! 🙂 I can’t wait to get my greedy little hands on a copy of that one haha. I’m also really interested about State of Grace — Eugenia had a really positive review of it, and it sounds quite good, different from the usual stuff I read.

    Have fun at BTCYA!!! I can’t go — I’ll be too stressed out about exams to enjoy it haha! — but it looks FANTASTIC. 😀

    • Haha, it’s going to be WAY cooler than Frozen 😛
      I really liked Between the Lines too! And Assassin’s Blade 😛 Oooh, and Disruption is excellent! I’m reading A Thousand Pieces of You right now and it’s sooo good. State of Grace looks excellent too!

      Awww I totally understand about exams. I’ll be waving my pom-poms for you, that’s for sure!! And I’m sure I’ll see you at the next event 😀

  7. Oh wow Ghosts of Heaven looks so shiny! I’ve only actually seen the US cover for that one. Not sure which I prefer, they’re both rather pretty! And seriously, A Thousand Pieces of You is one of the most beautiful covers I’ve seen this year. Gahhh the art! So tempted to buy a hardcover of it just to have it sitting on my shelf haha

    My god, The Assassin’s Blade AND Between the Lives? Soooo many feels! I actually just bought a physical copy of Between the Lives recently, and definitely need to reread it at some point (read the ebook initially, but had to buy a physical copy because it’s such an amazing book)

  8. Ohhh crappers. I actually just finished the second in the Pandora Jones series last night and I enjoyed it even more than book one. Jen is such a cranky, snarky character, she totally made that book. A Thousand Pieces of You, that cover is divine! I already want to steal Ghosts of Heaven, can’t wait to see what you think of it. State of Grace was so unique, it was really surprising and really enjoyed it.

    How come you’re starting year 12 so late in the year? That’s very American of you 😀

Leave a Reply

