Top Ten Places From Books That I’d Love To Visit

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

Countries I’ve been to are England, Scotland and Thailand. But books have taken me to MANY more.

So here are some of the books that have led me to awesome places I’d love to visit one day. Some of them are…um, not real, but I’m going to put them here anyway.

hp 1 anna and the french kiss the chronicles of narnia

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling – the Wizarding World

Except maaaaybe not when Harry’s there. Seriously you have NO idea how much I want to go to Hogwarts. FUN FACT. You might know that my Twitter handle is @theloonytuney – the “loony” part is because of my fave character Luna, but the “tuney” part is because of Petunia…as in, Harry’s aunt. I feel so sorry for her, that she couldn’t go to Hogwarts. She’s my second favourite Harry Potter character 🙂

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – France

FRANCE. SERIOUSLY JUST FRANCE. I’m going with my grandparents next year for an early 18th (because I am the LUCKIEST person in the world) and I cannot wait. The food, the history, the buildings, the food….

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis – Narnia

Narnia sounds like the absolute coolest place ever. It’s got talking animals – I mean, come on, that’s awesome. Plus, you know…Aslan.

the northern light alice in wonderland eragon the name of the star

His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman – ALL the worlds

There are so many worlds in here, reached with the assistance of The Subtle Knife. Seriously, the world-building in this series is amazing and I’ll never get sick of talking about it. I seriously need to experience this worlds (and see my daemon! Wouldn’t that be cool?).

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – Wonderland

I’d love to meet the Cheshire Cat and the Queen of Hearts; the Mad Hatter and the March Hare and even the Gnat. Such a wonderful world of madness, is Wonderland.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini – Alagaesia

I don’t care that so many people hate this series – I really love it, and Alagaesia sounds like SUCH a cool place to visit. Ellesmera, mostly, where the Elves live.

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – London

And a boarding school, no less. The Ripper murders here were so INTERESTING. Probably the wrong word, but I loved the setting of this novel.

cinnamon girl ingo tfios

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil – Eden Valley

I’d love to visit Eden Valley. It seems like a lovely quiet place to visit, with friendly people and peacefulness.

Ingo by Helen Dunmore – Ingo

This is one of my childhood favourites – mermaids like you’ve never known them. I’d love to go underwater and see Ingo.

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – Amsterdam

I SO NEED TO GO TO AMSTERDAM. It sounds amazing. The Anne Frank House and the canals and yep yep yep, seriously need to visit. Though I’ll probably start sobbing.

 

So in the end I chose more fictional places than real ones.

SUE ME. I want to go to these places, okay??

What about you?

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Places From Books That I’d Love To Visit

  1. I didn’t know your handle was a Harry Potter reference. I love Luna, probably because she’s the character I most relate to.

    I’ve been to the US and Canada. (Which since I live in Michigan is just next door) I’d love to see Europe! If I got to pick book worlds I’d probably choose all fantasy though. Number one Harry Potter!

  2. I would absolutely love to visit Narnia and Wonderland. I think when I was a little kid I imagined going to the settings of my favorite books than I do now, though…*sighs* I think this is one of the marks of a good book-when you really really REALLY want to visit the world that the story takes place in. And The Chronicles of Narnia and Alice in Wonderland both fit that rule and are both good books.

  3. YOU ARE GOING TO FRANCE?!! OH MY GOSH. YOU ARE THE LUCKIEST BEAN ALIVE. I want to go to France so so badly. I feel it’s a writerly thing to do anyway. I mean, look at all the old famous writers?! They all went to France at some point (or maybe I’m making it up, but whatever) I just…I REALLY WANT TO GO THERE. *ahem* Also yes to Hogwarts (but totally not when Harry rocking the boat) and Wonderland aaaaand Narnia for sure. Although I specify that I want to go to Narnia in TLWW, because I know it was all snowy, but it’s still my favourite book.

    That is a seriously cool story behind your blog/twitter handle name! XD I always thought it was Loony Toons or something. BECAUSE I AM DELUDED. *nods* I always wished my blog had an interesting story behind the title, but it was purely because I looked at Mime and wailed, “I don’t know what to naaaaame it.” And she said, “Um, notebook sisters?” And we typed it in. Tada. Very uninspiring. -_-

    • I AM GOING TO FRANCE AND ITALY. WANT TO COME IN MY SUITCASE? 😀 France just seems so writerly and romantic and I want to set a novel there sometime. And yeah, would NOT want to go to Hogwarts with Harry there – I’d probably get killed. Although they have so many dangerous things running around I might be killed anyway 😛

      Hahhaa it was this joke between me and another admin of a Harry Potter fan page – she was Loony, I was Tuney and we were the Loony Tunes. But then I VICIOUSLY STOLE IT 😛 Hahha I love your blog name though!!

  4. YESSSSSS. HOGWARTS AND PARIS AND WONDERLAND AND LONDON. ❤ ❤ ❤ They all made my list too. Well, except for Wonderland, because I forgot about it for some silly reason. I'd love to go to Amsterdam too. And you're so lucky – France with your grandparents! I hope you have the most amazing time, I'm sure you will. 🙂

  5. Great choices Emily. I really hope you enjoy your visit to France. I have fictional places on my list this week too. You can’t beat a wonderful fictional place after all! 😉

  6. FRANCE. LONDON. INGO. AMSTERDAM. ALL THE YES.

    It’s pretty much been my dream to live and/or holiday in London/England for as long as I can remember because I just love every single thing about England and I am pretty sure the weather would suit me perfectly.

    THE EIFFEL TOWER. NEED I SAY MORE?

    Ingo. Oh, Ingo. I just. This series ❤

    I want to visit The Anne Frank Haus so much. I think it would be incredible to see such a huge part of human history.

    • YAY INGO BUDDY ❤ ❤ I still need more people to read this series.

      England is lovely…from what I can remember. I haven't been since I was 7, almost ten years ago!! YES THE EIFFEL TOWER. And the art and the history and the food…*daydreams happily*

      I've read Anne Frank's diary so it'd be amazing to see the actual house.

  7. Pfft – fictional places can be so much more amazing than REAL ones anyway! I’d love to go to Narnia, and Hogwarts is somewhere which I always wish existed every time I read the Harry Potter books *sigh* To go to London and Paris are also aspirations of mine, because there is so much history to be found in those places, and to see real monuments that are featured in books we read about would be fantastic. It’s also really interesting to hear how you actually came up with your twitter handle and blog name! (very cool and fitting explanation). Thanks for sharing Emily, great post 🙂

    • Of COURSE they’re better!! Yep, Narnia and Hogwarts ❤ I'm still sad my Hogwarts letter never arrived. Yes! I think it would just be amazing to see things I've pictured in my head – see how close they are to my imagination 🙂 haha, I don't think I had ever explained my blog name/twitter handle before – good old 14-year-old Emily 😛

  8. YES! Another person who mentioned wanting to go to France because of Anna and the French Kiss. 🙂 Yay!
    Oh! Amsterdam. I didn’t even think of that. I’ve been to the airport there. Does that count? haha.
    Here’s my TTT

  9. HOGWARTS! Seriously, I want to go there so badly, it’s not even funny. The castle just sounds amazing, and the common rooms and the kitchens, and even the lessons sound fantastic (#nerd).
    I love the Eragon series! Well, maybe not the last book so much…but definitely the first one! I think that was the first big dragon book I read, and it basically made me want to find a way to genetically engineer my own dragon somehow lol (I’m still waiting on that dragon…)

    • You and me both…and a lot of other people, lol. We should combine all our money and just build a Hogwarts together. Oh gosh, I’d love the lessons as well!! How dare they complain about homework when it’s so awesome?

      I loved all the Eragon books – I guess because I read them when I was a bit younger…like, primary school. I probably wouldn’t enjoy them as much if I’d started now.

  10. France for your 18th. Gosh, you’ll be a woman of the world then. Absolutely incredible! To be honest, apart from Around Australia, I really haven’t caught the travelling bug and haven’t been overseas even at my age. Maybe later on in life I might… But really can’t see me wanting to. I love to read about different countries and places, but from the comfort of my own couch. So when the time comes when you’re across the globe, expect me to pester you for photos ❤

    • Right? Not that I’ll ACTUALLY be 18 yet, but I’ll have gone to France before I’m an adult. How cool! But not everyone enjoys travelling, I guess. Or is able to travel. But yep, reading about overseas places and fictional places is sometimes just as good. Oh, don’t worry, I’ll be pestering everyone to LOOK at my photos 😛

  11. YOU’RE THE FIRST PERSON THAT I KNOW THAT’S READ INGO. I haven’t continued with the series, BUT STILL. Anyways, that’s awesome that you’re going to France, I am jealous hahah! And of course there’s Hogwarts!

  12. I’m pretty sure there were more fictional than real places on my list, too! Haha. Fictional places are just so much more interesting! I haven’t read Name of the Star, but it actually sounds really good. *sigh* Yet another book I’ve added to my TBR list! (Like I needed any more. :P) YOU’RE GOING TO FRANCE!? I AM JEALOUS. 😉 Anyway, great list — I’m seeing a very common book this week. *cough* harrypotter *cough*

    • Of course they are!! Normal worlds can be so boring 😛 The Name of the Star is so cool. You should definitely read it. I AM GOING TO FRANCE. I’M ALREADY EXCITED AND IT’S NOT FOR AGES.

      LOL. I don’t think I saw a single list without Harry Potter 😛

  13. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves, BTCYA and Winter Again | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

