The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas – help, my feels

the assassin's bladeTitle: The Assassin’s Blade

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA epic fantasy

Length: 448 pages

Published by: Bloomsbury

Source: library!

Blurb:

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

WHY?

It’s not fair. It really isn’t. This is an evil book and Sarah J. Maas should have her characters confiscated. Also you should read this book straight away. Right now. Go on.

I mean, really I should have known.

Everyone did warn me.

“Emily,” they said. “Emily, this book will break your heart into at least one thousand pieces.”

And I said, “I can cope. I have a heart of steel.”

WHICH SARAH J. MAAS PIERCED WITH HER ABILITY TO TORTURE HER CHARACTERS. LITERALLY.

So these are technically prequel novellas.

But they work as an entire book, so I don’t see why they’re novellas. But anyway, I wasn’t ridiculously impressed by the first one. My favourite had to be The Assassin and the Desert. I absolutely LOVED it, and the new assassins Celaena meets. Very excellent. They kept getting better and better with each one.

Until they got much, much worse. And by “worse” I mean much better. But…um, heartbreaking.

SAM

We already know – from Throne of Glass – what befalls Sam. But that doesn’t make it hurt any less. And I felt SUCH a huge surge of sympathy for Celaena, because…GODDAMMIT, THEY WERE GOING TO BE HAPPY.

They were going…to be happy…*sobs*

I was not prepared at all. Well, I was, but I wasn’t, you know?

You probably don’t. I’m not explaining myself very well.

The characters are definitely the best thing about these novellas.

Nobody stays the same. The villains might be friends, and the friends might be villains. I had difficulty working out my thoughts towards Arobynn, for example. Not any more. I know EXACTLY how I feel about Arobynn.

We also get to find out Celaena’s back story, which I felt was missing from Throne of Glass. If I was to go back and reread it, I think I would like it a lot more now.

It was also packed with action the entire time.

Unlike, say, Heir of Fire, there were no parts that dragged – no POVs that I didn’t enjoy reading. I loved the whole book, like I did with Crown of Midnight. This is one series I’m sure I will reread.

Because apparently I am a sadist.

 

Rating: 5/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

And tell me: what do you think of prequels?

19 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas – help, my feels

  1. “I can cope. I have a heart of steel.” <— BAH HAHA HAHAHAAAAAAA. FAMOUS LAST WORDS. You poor little thing, but you totally only have yourself to blame, because yes we did warn you. There, there, I’m sure it’ll get worse as the series goes on. I’m actually a fair bit sad that Heir of Fire dragged so much. 😐 It’s a toss between Crown of Midnight and The Assassin’s Blade for my favourite. I do NOT understand why they’re novellas!! IT’S A WHOLE BOOK. It’s not like you can read them out of order, right?! Weeeeeird. I guess the publishers said, “Eh, you can write a few short stories,” and Sarah J Maas is just wily and clever so did it like this so she could have the full book. MWHAHAA. I joke. I have no idea. Someone tell me to pipe down and return to my corner until the next book is out. It doesn’t even have a title. My heart hurts.

    • YOU DID WARN ME. And I didn’t listen. I never do. But yes, I am prepared for heartbreak in the next books. (I’m actually not prepared…I will never be prepared…). Yep, same with me – Assassin’s Blade and Crown of Midnight are both five stars. LOL YES SARAH J MAAS KNOWS WHAT SHE’S DOING. Oh my gosh I need to know what the next book is called. Why don’t I know??

  2. SAM.
    SAM.
    SAM.
    Can I punch Arobynn? I didn’t like him. Oooh, the Assassin and the Desert was my fave, too, along with the Assassin and the Healer. Celaena was so kick-butt in all of these, and it was nice to actually get the backstory, considering all the hints that were dropped. Great review!

  3. I know them feels! I know a lot of people found Throne of Glass lacking because of the missing backstory. The book was marketed with the novellas being published before Throne of Glass, and I’ve always told people to read the novellas BEFORE they read Throne of Glass. The novellas totally killed me bit by bit, and when THAT AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL thing happened to Sam, I bawled like a baby. It was the epitome of ugly crying. Sigh. But seriously, how perfect is this book.

    • Yep, that was me. Throne of Glass lacked so much back story and butt-kicking-ness 😛 but I’m glad I kept going in the series – imagine if I had given up!! Oh my gosh it was so sad. Sarah J Maas really needs to have her characters taken away.

      And yet…yes. It was perfect 😛

  4. NOOO! Don’t remind me about Sam…I’m in public.
    After I finished Assassin’s Blade, it literally sat in the corner for, like, 2 weeks.
    I JUST WANTED SAM AND CELAENA TO BE HAPPY!!

  5. THIS BOOK KILLED ME.

    The Sam feels . . . I just can’t 😦 When you said they were going to be happy, I died a little because THEY WERE. And he was so good for her. They were so good for each other! Don’t get me wrong, I ship Chaol and Celaena all the way, my Sam and Celaena are totally my OTP in this series now. And that’s just depressing.

  6. Oh gosh, that Spongebob gif. SO ACCURATE.

    THIS BOOK DESTROYED ME. I mean, everyone who’s read the actual series is going to know what happens, but that SO does not make it any easier. 😦 It took me awhile for my feels to heal properly after reading this one.

  7. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves, BTCYA and Winter Again | The Loony Teen Writer

  8. SAM!!! 😥
    I’m a massive Chaol shipper, and when I read this book (thinking I would have a heart of steel too because of Chaol). I didn’t like Sam at first because I knew he and Celaena were going to have a history, but then I started to really like him, then BAM! *feels* 😥 Right when I was beginning to like him too. No matter how much I told myself I know what’s going to happen, it doesn’t do anything when you’re reading it!
    Oh, and you made complete sense 😀

Leave a Reply

