2nd Blogoversary and International Giveaway!

It’s so strange to think that I’ve been blogging here for two years.

I only really felt like part of the YA book blogging community this year, after focusing on the more writing-related part for a long time. And I feel so lucky to be part of this community.

So I thought I’d go back and have a look at what kind of blogger I used to be.

My first blogs…

my first blog 2

my first blog 3

The first one was from 2009, so when I was in year 6. If you’re really curious, you can find it here.

And the second is from 2010, when I was in year 7. You can find that one here.

Both of them were inspired by this book:

three wishes

I’m pretty sure I still own this book. But anyway, those two are very embarrassing first beginnings at blogging. Seriously, internet should not be given to people under the age of thirteen. It just shouldn’t be allowed.

My first REAL beginning at blogging was on Blogspot.

my first blog

Lovely, isn’t it? That one is here.

And then I decided I wanted to go to WordPress. So I did, and The Loony Teen Writer was born. How exciting!

My first post on The Loony Teen Writer was October 20, 2012.

my first blog post

I was a very boring blogger to start with. No gifs, no images, no fancy titles. It was all just boring writing. I’m so glad I’m not still that boring (hopefully?). But anyway, my first book review wasn’t til a LONG time later. Quite a few months, actually.

It was The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson.

the name of the star my first book review

Thank goodness I’ve come a long way from there. And there are lots of people to thank for that.

The Aussie Owned and Read team: I became part of Aussie Owned and Read at the end of 2012, and these ladies are so unbelievably awesome. Lauren, Katie, Suse, Cass, Sharon, Kim and Stace – thanks for being amazing, you guys. Our team has now expanded to include Heather and Cait…but I’m talking about Cait separately in any case!

Cait: you all know Cait. And if you don’t, I don’t know how. She has been the most INCREDIBLE friend, critique partner, blogging buddy, fellow caps-abuser and GIF-user. You’ll never be bored with Cait around, that’s for sure. Can you believe she was actually worried I would fire her as my critique partner??? Crazy girl. She is also an AMAZING writer (which I hope you will all be able to see one day!!). DFTBA, Cait.

Kara: (from Diary of a Teen Writer) I think Kara’s probably one of the first people I got to know on Twitter. We always seem to be really close in word count for various NaNoWriMos, and now part of the awesome book blogging community, it’s been even better to interact with her. And recently we became CPs so that’s exciting!!

Eugenia: (from Genie in a Book) I met Eugenia IN PERSON recently and had so much fun. We’re in the same grade at school, so we can take Twitter breaks together and whinge about school, haha.

The Australian YA blogging community: there are SO MANY PEOPLE to mention here…for fear of forgetting someone, I’m not going to list them, but you know who you are. You guys rock. Seriously.

The frequent commenters: you ALSO know who you guys are. I am so so grateful to everyone who comments on here – and I do try to get around to your blogs, but that can be difficult sometimes. I love you all.

The authors! Thanks to all the authors who take time to thank me for my review (even if it’s negative!) and for being so positive. I love interacting with authors on Twitter. Special mention to Rachael Craw, Ellie Marney, Emily Gale and Gabrielle Tozer for frequent interactions ❀

The publishers: Thanks to every Aussie publisher who sends me books to review. Every time a package arrives for me, I am ridiculously excited. And I appreciate it so much.

I have accomplished a few things since October 2012.

– I’ve written five first drafts – four of those from NaNo situations (if not the November ones, the July Camp NaNoWriMo).

– I’ve queried one novel, Mutual Weirdness, that I decided to shelve in order to move onto more things

– I got a blog button (yay!)

– I started a new feature, Loony Blurbs, which is a lot of fun.

– I learnt how to make posts more fun…mostly with gifs.

– Over 30,000 blog views, and over 5,000 comments

– Weirdest search results: “He was ticklish” “likeable bully blog” (I swear I’m not a bully) “tumblr cartoon swag galaxy”

– Most popular post: 10 things I’d love to see more of in YA

– I made some amazing friends. And for me that’s the best part of blogging.

 

Okay. Stop it, Emily. Now it’s time for the giveaway!! This will be through The Book Depository, and you can choose whichever book you want (as long as it’s $15 or less)

 

* You must be 13 years old to enter

* As long as The Book Depository sends to your country, you can enter

* Up to $15AUSD – any book you like!

* If you cheat, I’ll disqualify you. And that’s just not fun.

* The giveaway will run for 2 weeks! And you can earn extra entries by tweeting πŸ™‚

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

^^^^Enter here!^^^^ πŸ™‚ And good luck!

 

Here’s to more awesome years of blogging! Next year I’ll do something that’s actually exciting πŸ™‚

68 thoughts on “2nd Blogoversary and International Giveaway!

  1. Here I come for the chance to win a book, and then you make me feel sentimental. Congrats to your blogoversary. πŸ™‚ I actually recently found an old blog of mine that I thought I had deleted long ago and I absolutely agree – public blogs should be illegal under a certain age. πŸ˜€

    Also I’d like to say I love that you included the recommend a book option! πŸ™‚

  2. I’M JUST A BIT CONFUSED WHY YOU CALLED ME A FELLOW ALL-CAPS ABUSER. I MEAN. REALLY. I ONLY START MY COMMENTS ON YOUR BLOG 99.9% OF THE TIME WITH ALL-CAPS.

    But, in other news, SQUEEEEE!! *tackle hugs* I’VE GOT A LOG IN MY EYE TOO. :’) I’m so glad you didn’t fire me as a CP (phewf) and I’m so glad I found your blog this year. IT IS LIKE ONE OF MY TOP FAVOURITE BLOGS THAT I ALWAYS ALWAYS READ. My day feels odd if I don’t start it with a Loony post. *nods* Those little blogs of yours are aaaadorable! I cringe whenever I look back in Notebook Sisters archives. >_< Can you believe we started out with NO gifs and NO reviews and NO humour? It was totally serious. 0.0 If I move to wordpress, hopefully we can burn a few of the older posts as we exit….hehe.

    ANYWAY. HAPPY BLOGVERSARY!! YOU ARE AMAZING AND FABULOUS AND HUZZAH AND HURRAH! AND … where's the cake? Like I came to this party expecting certain things you know…*taps foot impatiently*

    • I KNOW, CAIT. I KNOW. YOU NEVER USE CAPS EVER πŸ˜›

      Oh goodness I could NEVER fire you!! You’re too awesome for that. I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE MY BLOG. Breakfast with Loony hahaha πŸ˜› Oh gosh I should seriously go and look at your archives. That could be a very fun excursion. OH MY GOSH I never used gifs to start with either. How positively medieval πŸ˜›

      Thankkkssssss Cait. *offers you cake* GOODNESS. I can’t believe I forgot the cake. What’s a blogoversary without it???

  3. CONGRATULATIONS ON TWO YEARS OF BLOGGING, EMILY! πŸ˜€

    It’s so awesome to go back to your past blog posts and see how much you’ve grown – it was definitely fun doing it for my first blogoversary this year. haha πŸ˜„

    Seeing how people find your blog via search phrases are seriously some of the weirdest things EVER. I have serious doubts about why my blog shows up for some of those terms….

    Anyway, here’s to many more years of fabulous blogging! ❀

  4. YAY! 2 YEARS! WOO-HOO!
    And Oh my gosh, I started with weird Blogspot ones too…I think I tried to do this elaborate Percy Jackson reread one, which epically failed because 1) I can’t read books slowly (it’s usually ‘all at once’ or ‘never’ with me) and 2) I rarely stick to anything. It wasn’t until I started commenting on people’s stuff, and they started commenting back that I started sticking with the blogging stuff, and that’s on my current one. Which I’ve had for goodness-knows-how-long, but I only started using regularly in, like, April or May.
    And because now people are commenting and stuff, I’d feel bad if I suddenly quit/stopped posting, so I kind-of have to stick with it now…it’s good for me.
    Congrats on everything *sends virtual hug reply* *eats cake*

    • TWO YEARS IS A LONG TIME, ISN’T IT? Woah.

      Hahaha did everyone start with Blogspot? That’s what it seems like πŸ˜› I loved Percy Jackson when I first read it. Now I should read the Olympus books haha. Yeah, this year I had the epiphany that I had to comment on other blogs to get comments on mine. LOL. What a revelation.

  5. Congrats! I love your blog so much; you were one of my inspirations to use GIFs. πŸ™‚ They always make a post more fun.
    Here’s a secret: I’m 13 in five days. O.O And I’m a blogger. Can I enter the giveaway?
    I love love love your blog and try to comment a lot.
    All the best on your VERY special day.

  6. Congrats on your blogoversary! πŸ™‚ Don’t feel embarrassed, my first website was about Pokemon. I didn’t start my blog doing book reviews either, but it’s just so much fun! Congrats on 5 rough drafts! Blogging friends are the best!

  7. Congrats! This is such an incredible milestone to have. Here’s to more awesome blogging years πŸ™‚
    I hope to reach the same blog age as you have, we all know it’s never easy to maintain a blog when life outside of it also exists. But this is a big big deal, so again congratulations!!! Woohooo!

  8. HAPPPPPPY BLOGOVERSARY, EMILY!! <33333

    On a side note…I remember the year Three Wishes came out and I bought it on release day. Wow. That feels like a lifetime ago. I then subsequently bought book 2 and 3 of hers and forgot she had book 4 until this year, which I promptly purchased out of nostalgia's sake. I get sentimental every now and again.

    BUT I digress. This is about YOU! It's so much fun to look back at your blogging history! CONGRATS on the milestone. You're going to be rocking this for even more years to come!! ❀

    • THANKS JESS!!!

      Yayyy someone else knows about Three Wishes. I remember really loving it, haha. Well, obviously, if I made a blog because of it! But I haven’t read any of the others.

      HAHA. Fun or…torture? I kid, I kid. Thanks so much, Jess πŸ˜€

  9. HAPPY 2ND YEAR BLOGOVERSARY. I wish I knew about your blog sooner! (actually this is completely my fault. I saw that you commented a lot on Cait’s posts, and I didn’t click on your link until now, because I am a loser) ANY FRIEND OF CAIT’S IS MINE. I HOPE YOU ACCEPT ME AS A FRIEND, kthxbai.

    But yeah, I think it’s impressive that you’ve been blogging for two years!! I feel like by now, I would’ve died out! BUT LOOK AT YOU STILL GOING STRONG. Also, I can’t believe you completed so many writing projects! Do you know how many completed projects I have under my belt? Nada. Zero. One day though, I will try.

    Again, HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • HAHA. There are so many comments on Cait’s posts that I would need three years to check out all the blogs!! I don’t envy her having to reply to them all O_O YAY FRIENDSIES *tackle hugs you*

      *runs over to check your blog*

      Ohhh I could NEVER give up blogging. It’s too much fun haha. LOL. It’s more difficult NOT to write than to write, for me πŸ˜›

  10. Whoa, you started your blog on my birthday! πŸ˜€ Well, technically the-day-after-my-birthday, but kind of the same day, because you’re in Australia? πŸ˜› IDK.

    Anyways, congrats on the blogiversary! πŸ˜€ Hope you have many more lovely books to come (in the mail). πŸ™‚

  11. Aw, you are so fun ^.^
    SO MANY CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU πŸ˜€
    ^ Because that totally makes sense.
    I feel like everyone has those really embarrassing first blogs… Although I’m afraid I still haven’t gotten out of my awkward phase. Woops. I’ve been at this since since I was thirteen… I’m now seventeen… I don’t know how to reconcile these facts. Which makes me love you more because you have an awesome blog and you’ve written so much and here I am being awkward and enjoying all your accomplishments because I’m too stressed out and too lazy to do any of that.
    But annnyyywaaaayyys…..
    Hope you have another great year and read lots more amazing books so I have a nice TBR for whenever I can actually read again (:

    • Of course I am fun. You should know this by now πŸ˜›

      Thank GOODNESS it didn’t get any more embarrassing than that. I’d have to retire from the internet. But believe me, you are not awkward at all. Goodness. My little twelvie self should NOT have been allowed Facebook. *shudders* YOU ARE ACCOMPLISHED TOO. I just happen to procrastinate a lot on schoolwork, lol.

      I hope you have a great year as well πŸ˜€

      • Psh. Of course. I just like to revel in it sometimes ;D
        But hey, maybe that’s why Facebook doesn’t let people under thirteen make accounts :O And I don’t know, I’ve been working on the same two stories for 5 years now? And they’re not even completely mine… And while I have other ideas, I’m too swamped to even attempt them. You have no idea how much I want to try NaNoWriMo again, but last year was pretty bad *so ashamed*…
        I’m trying NOT to procrastinate, which is why I’m sacrificing all my writing and blogging… I hope to be back soon, but well, my blog is still lame and I have no time to deal with it and my co-blogging attempt is failing o.o

  12. Oh my gosh, congratulations!! Blogoversaries are always such fun ❀ I admit to giggling when reading your previous blogs – I kind of do like this one much better. πŸ˜‰ Here's to another fantastic year! xx

  13. I swear I commented on this post. It’s just gone poof! Maybe it was somewhere else….

    Sorry if you get duplicates.

    HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY!!!!!! I absolutely adore your blog and think it’s sooo inspiring. You were one of the blogs I looked up to when I started out πŸ˜‰ Thanks for being such an awesome blogger Em, your presence on the interwebs is loved, no matter how loony it may be ❀
    Here's to many more amazing years of blogging!!

  14. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY EMILY! πŸ™‚ *throws confetti**hands over celebratory cake* I’m honoured to have a mention in this post, and I can definitely say that this blog is one of my all-time favourites out there. I hope that your next year of blogging is just as amazing as this one!

  15. YOU MENTIONED ME!!! EEEK! I AM GRINNING LIKE A MADWOMAN RIGHT NOW. ❀

    Ahem. Anyway. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY! (This is a perfectly reasonable excuse to eat cake, right?!) Seriously, that's so freakin' amazing — I've really loved reading all your posts, and am looking forward to much more awesomeness. πŸ™‚ You are brave to showcase your first few blogs, ahaha. I remember I had one when I was about twelve? Um. Let's just say that was…interesting, aha. It only has, like, one post, and then I gave up on it. xD

    • I MENTIONED YOU. I DID. BECAUSE YOU’RE AWESOME. No but seriously I think you’re one of the people I’ve known longest on Twitter. It’s been a privilege πŸ˜€

      *shares cake with you* OF COURSE. What’s a party without cake? I love reading all your posts, too. Share the lurrvvvvv. Oh gosh, yes, I figured I’d share the blogs on my OWN volition before other people discovered them. Haha. On my own terms and whatnot.

  16. Emily Emily Emily, congratulations hunny! I read this last night but do distracted with *things* that I didn’t comment, shame on me! But yes, well done for the 2 years, 2 years is fantastic and you should be very proud. I love your snippets of writing, I love your openess and I love your reviews, fangirly but honest and I hope you stick around for a long time! Congratulations again, and enjoy your day! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks so much Amanda!! All good. It’s the thought that counts πŸ™‚ 2 years is quite a long time, huh? It hasn’t felt like that long! ❀ ❀ thanks so much for your lovely words. I hope I stick around for a long time too haha πŸ˜€

  17. Awww Emily, I’m so glad I discovered you and your blog, I always enjoy your thoughts on books, your writing adventures and Loony Blurbs. I’m really glad we got to know each other and thank you for sharing with us! Happy 2 year blogoversary, you sure deserve to celebrate ❀

  18. Happy 2nd blogoversary emily! Although I just joined this fandom I hope to be part of it for a very long time. It’s fine to have a twig in your eye sometimes (especially on this very important day)

    Lucy

    mylittlelifeandallthat.blogspot.com

    P.S. I obvs entered your giveaway! Hopefully it likes me!

  19. Happy Birthday Emily’s Blog!!! Keep doing whatever it is you’re doing and I’ll keep coming. Serious. You’re like awesome and entertaining and I’m so happy every time you post something and my email notifies me. It’s like happy in an email!
    I hope you hang around here forever! *steals a slice of cake

  20. CONGRATULATIONS YOU WONDERFUL HUMAN BEING. ❀ Two wonderful years. It's so great seeing how your blog(s) has grown and developed – here's to many, many more blogging achievements. πŸ™‚

  21. Congratulations on coming so far!!!!! You’re blog is amazing, and I love reading all your posts & commenting πŸ™‚ Wow, I can’t believe you remember exactly where you started and everything. xx

  22. Awww Ems, wow I’m late to the party! Sorry sorry *hangs head in shame* Forgive me for this belated HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY but you know I mean it from the bottom of my heart. You are one of the loveliest and most genuine people I know, and I know you ALWAYS take the time out to leave comments on my blog posts. I can’t thank you enough for that. And I know I’m horrible at keep up with all the commenting and posts but…yeah I have no excuse. πŸ˜› I’m so glad to have met you (and to have touched your elbow – yeah never going to stop with mentioning that), and I know we’ll see each other around soon! xx

  23. Pingback: This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Blogoversary and Dancing | The Loony Teen Writer

  24. HOW COULD I POSSIBLY HAVE MISSED THIS POST? *stabs exams from taking me away from blogging*

    Anyway WOW EMILY. Happy 2nd blogoversary! That is a huge milestone and I’m so happy that I came across your amazing self and your equally awesome blog. I love how passionate you are and your easygoing and fun attitude. I would love to meet you in person someday as well! *flies to Australia in Spandex*

    Keep blogging, girl! You deserve all that you’ve achieved so far and much, much more. <33

  25. I’m a tad bit late but super mega congratulations Emily! Two years is absolutely amazing. I think I reached two years awhile back but I completely forgot to do a celebration. πŸ˜› Oops, guess I’ll have to wait until 3 years. Cheers to many years to come! I wish the best of luck with your writing and everything because you’re wonderful!

Leave a Reply

