Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas – people are scary

dangerous boysTitle: Dangerous Boys

Author: Abigail Haas

Genre: YA thriller

Length: 336 pages

Published by: Simon and Schuster

Source: gifted by Sarah Epps – thanks so much, Sarah!!

Blurb:

Three teens venture into the abandoned Monroe estate one night; hours later, only two emerge from the burning wreckage. Chloe drags one Reznick brother to safety, unconscious and bleeding; the other is left to burn, dead in the fire. But which brother survives? And is his death a tragic accident? Desperate self-defense? Or murder?

Chloe is the only one with the answers. As the fire rages, and police and parents demand the truth, she struggles to piece together the story of how they got there-a story of jealousy, twisted passion, and the darkness that lurks behind even the most beautiful of faces…

Β 

In many ways Dangerous Boys was even more disturbing than Dangerous Girls.

So I read this in a day. It’s just as addictive and frightening and exhilarating as Dangerous Girls in that way. It’s more disturbing – it has some quite dark scenes, and for me at least, it made me question the nature of people. The darkest parts of people that are invisible until…well, until they’re not.

Some parts are similar to Dangerous Girls – for example, there’s the same technique where Abigail Haas gives us snippets of both the beginning and the ending. Figuring out the middle, of course, is the most exciting part – it’s the journey.

And what a journey.

So we have three characters: Chloe, Ethan and Oliver.

Chloe is our narrator. Ethan is her boyfriend. And Oliver’s the one who shakes things up. Oliver reminded me of Cadence from Breaking Butterflies in that he was…um, possibly a sociopath. But I’ll let you decide that for yourself.

Yep, there’s a love triangle. But believe me, you’ve never read a more messed-up love triangle. Or…I don’t know, maybe you have. BUT IT’S MESSED UP. And there are parts when you will doubt the narrator, question her. And you will think about this book for a long time.

You may not want to. But you will.

(and then you’ll want to read Dangerous Girls again)

I also really liked the element of Chloe’s mum’s depression.

It added a very real element to the story – since Chloe’s mum has such all-encompassing depression she can barely get out of bed, Chloe has to defer college in order to Be An Adult and pay the bills. So she’s trapped, basically, and because of that I really felt for her. Ethan is so nice to her. And then Oliver…Oliver is just something else altogether.

But you guys want to know what I thought of the ending, don’t you?

I have a few thoughts. It’s been known to happen. Okay, so…this is going to be difficult without giving anything away. AND I WILL NOT. You guys deserve to read it without spoilers. But basically, I wanted more. I expected there to be some other element that blew my mind and…well, it didn’t. Unfortunately. There were a few things that I thought were going to be important but weren’t. It was a bit predictable.

So I didn’t like it AS MUCH as Dangerous Girls.

But that would be pretty impossible given how much I loved Dangerous Girls. Like seriously LOVED IT. In fact, you can read my review here.

What these two books HAVE shown me is that I love YA thrillers, and I think there should be more of them. So if there’s a YA thriller you absolutely loved, let me know in comments! Because, you know, my TBR is NEVER high enough πŸ˜‰

If you haven’t read either of these books yet, you really need to. You really do.

 

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

 

18 thoughts on “Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas – people are scary

  1. I need more thrillers in my life. And seeing your review of Dangerous Girls… Wow. I need to read both. I just need to know. I’m actually usually pretty good about guessing endings – er. In movies. I feel like I haven’t read many (or any) YA thrillers. At least, I can’t think of any right now. But honestly, I’m not sure I could name the last book I read so that isn’t saying much.
    HOWEVER. When I do think of one, I will let you know(:

  2. I didn’t like it as much as Dangerous Girls either and I neeearly gave it 4-stars….but then I thought, if I hadn’t of read DG first, I wouldn’t be comparing them. SO! I gave it 5-stars anyway. πŸ˜„ IT WAS SO MESSED UP. I mean…omggggg. I read it in one day and my brain hurt. I don’t think the shock was as big as in DG but it was still so perfect.
    Humans.
    They’re terrifying creatures.

    • That’s what I kind of think, but then again, when you’re looking at BOTH, they have…similarities. If you get my drift (don’t want to post spoilers specifically!). But yes. Messed up is the RIGHT PHRASE THERE. Goodness. It was cray. I promised I’d stop saying cray but it fits.

      My brain is tired.

  3. The whole questioning the nature of people thing lets me know this book is definitely not for me. I’m glad you enjoyed it though. The mystery part sounds good, trying to figure out what happened. I’ll have to check out Dangerous Girls.

  4. So I remembered a couple! One isn’t REALLY a thriller, it’s more contemporary, but there is a bit of mystery… The S-Word by Chelsea Pitcher?
    And the other is an adult novel, but the mystery and suspense is crazy. I still can’t figure out the ending. The Killing Circle by Andrew Pyper…
    Just that I’d put that out there (:

  5. YA Thrillers = awesomeness. Sadly I don’t read enough of them neither! πŸ™‚

    I’m so putting this book on my Christmas list. It looks awesome. Yeah, to be honest I don’t think it would be possible for me to like this one as much as I did with Dangerous Girls, because that book just blew my mind away. I think I stayed up until three in the morning reading it haha. I’m still super excited for this one, though — the author is definitely talented. πŸ™‚

    • RIGHT? They don’t publish neeeearly enough for my taste. I think if there were more, I’d like them as much as contemporaries.

      That is an excellent idea. A Christmas Eve reading of crazy people haha. But yes, Dangerous Girls was insanely amazing.

  6. MORE DISTURBING THAN DANGEROUS GIRLS?! Sign me up. I need to read this one asap. I don’t know why I’ve left such a big gap of time in between reading Dangerous Girls and this one….Hmmmm, I always loose my way like this xD Slightly disappointing ending? That’s sad. I feel like I’m going to pick it out from early on because it’s so easy for me to ruin thrillers for myself but no fear, I love a good YA thriller (WHICH there totally needs to be more of!) Fantastic review, Emily! x

    • I KNOW HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?? But it was. And I was impressed. Gosh, maybe I’m a psychopath as well. Haha, I left a long while between reading because I needed to recover from the shock of that ending! O_O but yeah this one wasn’t as good. I hope you like it, though πŸ™‚

      Totally agree there need to be more thrillers.

  7. So I read this review… then went and read the one on Dangerous Girls (and This reminds me of Mara Dyer SO MUCH and the final book isn’t here yet so…) and now I’m flying to the library to get the first one. It looks soooo GOOD!

  8. I agree that this one is far more disturbing and darker than Dangerous Girls for me. Dangerous Girls was thrilling; it really sends you on a wild goose chase and has a ending that was mind-blowing. This one was simply just… whoa. This is dark stuff. I’m witnessing the spiraling down into the rabbit hole of someone. I liked it much better than Dangerous Girls for that same reason, though! I thought it was just really complex, but these two are so different it’s hard to actually compare!

    In any case, I love that you love it! Abigial Haas is really someone to reckon with when it comes to YA thrillers… and an automatic favorite for me! πŸ˜›

    Faye at The Social Potato

  9. Ooh…I’ll have to buy that one at some point! I’ve never read any YA thrillers (which is pretty foolish because I write them), and it looks like I’ll have to make this one my first. πŸ˜€

  10. More disturbing than Dangerous Girls? Wow. Lovely review, Em. I’ve heard most people say the prefer Dangerous Girls out of the two, but I do know I’ll definitely give this one a go too when I finally get around to reading Dangerous Girls…ugh. READING SLUMP BE GONE, I beg you!

  11. Pingback: This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Blogoversary and Dancing | The Loony Teen Writer

  12. Ohhhhh, I loved Dangerous Girls!! Really? I don’t really know how this could be more disturbing than DG…. that shit was pretty fucked up…….. DG was stuck in my head for a few weeks after I finished reading it!! I’ve been hearing that DG was better than this one, but OF COURSE I’m still going to read it, especially now after reading your review πŸ˜€ *runs to emails to coerce Kelly into reading this with me*

Leave a Reply

