This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Blogoversary and Dancing

This week was pretty busy for me. Also, it’s getting RATHER WARM. Like, 35 degrees warm. Time for singlets, shorts and thongs.

Monday the 20th of October was my blogoversary so that’s exciting! If you go back over to that post, there’s an international giveaway running, so don’t miss out on that

– This week, the rehearsals for Schools Spectacular also began – basically this massive event at the Entertainment Centre in Sydney with schools all across NSW – there’s dancing and singing and it’s lots of fun. So on Friday 180 of us from about 12 different schools started rehearsing – our section is Aussie rock, which is awesome, and we’re dancing to John Farnham’s Playing to Win.

We’ve got another rehearsal on Monday at the actual Entertainment Centre, and wow, I am going to be tired.

From the Schools Spectacular Facebook page!

– It’s now very close to November, which means I’m at the finishing stages of planning my NaNo novel. On Monday I’m going to tell you ALLLLL about it. It’s going to be great.

– I’m also stacking the shelves this week!

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted byΒ Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

CAM00445

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – this one involves LISTS which is exciting. Thanks to the amazing Simon and Schuster for this one.

Atlantia by Ally Condie – another one I’m ridiculously excited about – ever since I saw the blurb I’ve wanted to read this book. So I plan to get into it soon.

Although my TBR is getting a LITTLE bit out of hand.

CAM00447

There are more books in the row behind. And also about 30 above my other bookshelf. And with NaNoWriMo coming, I’m not going to have much time to read. You’ll have to wait a little longer, my pretties! I love you, I promise.

Books Read Since Last Week

pandora jones deception fahrenheit 451 dune

Pandora Jones Deception was better than the first one, I thought – mini-reviews of each will be up next week.

Fahrenheit 451 is one of my all-time favourite books – I read it for English and enjoyed it even more than last time.

Dune was for school as well – a mammoth 600-ish pages *faints* Sci-fi isn’t REALLY my thing but I did enjoy it…once I understood what was actually going on.

Currently Reading

corruption north child

Corruption is really good, and I wish I could read it faster, but I’ve hardly had any time for reading this week!

North Child is a reread for school (I’m writing a retelling so I have to READ some, of course!). It’s even more beautiful than I remembered. Seriously, read it. It’s amazing.

Reading Next

the ghosts of heaven

BECAUSE I AM INTRIGUED.

Gif of the Week

This is from the Perks of Being a Wallflower movie, by the way. If you haven’t seen it, you should. It’s excellent (one of my favourite movies of all time, actually, and SO faithful to the book…well, what do you expect when the author is also the director?)

Posts on the Blog

Monday: Blogoversary!! Go and see how I started blogging, and enter the international giveaway.

Tuesday: I talked about the ten series I REALLY need to read – and almost everyone agreed that I need to read the Grisha trilogy quick-smart…book bloggers can be so pushy sometimes πŸ™‚

Wednesday: I reviewed Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas and concluded that people are terrifying.

Thursday: I made a Harry Potter tag! Feel free to do it on your own blog.

Friday: after forgetting MY OWN MEME, I posted Loony Blurbs. From now on they’ll be monthly, but I’ll let you know more info soon.

Saturday: I reviewed Golden by Jessi Kirby *whispers* Read it.

It’s the first time in a while that I’ve posted every day of the week. Good old scheduling. But I’ll be back to six days next week πŸ™‚

What are you reading right now, blogglings?

30 thoughts on “This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Blogoversary and Dancing

  1. Ooh the School Spectuacular looks fun! The main character in ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ is an Emily as well, so hopefully you enjoy it πŸ˜‰ I still haven’t had time to read ‘Corruption’ yet amongst my required reading for English and all the rest of it, but I’ve been hearing good things about it already so I’m excited to see how it goes. Hope you have a great week, and best wishes for your NaNo novel πŸ™‚

    • It is so much fun! But difficult with the heat haha. Oooh yes, I saw that about Since You’ve Been Gone – might be a bit weird but I’m sure I’ll like it. Yep, I’ve had SO much reading to do for English. Year twelve *sighs* And re-reading for English as well.

  2. OH MY GOODNESS! I WAS SO CONFUSED WHEN I READ THE FIRST BIT OF YOU POST, When you said, 35 degrees, i thought OH MY GOODNESS THAT’S FREEZING!!
    But then i remembered oh, duh, 35 degrees Celsius! (Because i live in the U.S and it’s measured in Fahrenheit over here)
    So yes, now that i know, 35 degrees is hot! (95 degrees Fahrenheit πŸ˜€ )
    I haven’t read any of these books yet! And I can’t wait to get started! ‘Fahrenheit 451’ Sounds good, I think they made a movie, but not sure if it has anything to do with the book! πŸ˜›
    Have a great Day! and Best wishes on your NaNo novel!

  3. I loved Since You’ve Been Gone… I convinced Cait to read it, and now you’re reading it! πŸ˜›

    Ooh, the Schools Spectacular sounds, well, spectacular! Ehehe. I can’t sing or dance, but I’m sure it’d be very fun to watch. ^-^

    Love the cover of The Ghosts of Heaven!

    • AWESOME. Cait convinced me to read it, so basically you convinced me to read it πŸ˜›

      Yep, it’s pretty spectacular, lol. I’m not great at singing or dancing either, but there are so many people it doesn’t really matter. A lot of hand dancing πŸ˜›

  4. SCHOOOOLSS SPEC! YAY! Have fun! I haven’t seen a show in years but I remember how fun it used to be, backstage where everyone was teeming with energy. You’ll do AMAZINGLY! <33 (but have fun dancing in this dreadful heat :P) I'm super duper curious about how you'll take The Ghosts of Heaven. It's so pretty, that one, but I'm not sold on the whole "four parts read in any order" thing. Hopefully it's a good risk though. HAVE A FUN WEEK! <33

  5. I really hope you like Since You’ve Been Gone! ^-^ I REALLY DO. It was definitely one of my favourite reads of the year (though it is kind of slow…but whatever). xD I’m sooo glad it’s finally heating up. That random hey-let’s-pretend-it’s-winter-again! thing sort of annoyed me. Australia. What are you even doing? -_-

  6. Congratulations on your Blogoversary! I must have missed that post. You have such an awesome blog and I look forward to many more of your fantastic posts.
    I’m really looking forward to Atlantia as well, and I’d love to be reading Ghosts of Heaven, it intrigues me too.
    Good luck with school spectacular.

  7. You look like you’re getting your flashmob on, or at the Fame school of dance. I don’t see legwarmers, so I think you’re safe there. is that the same one they used to call the Rock Eisteddfod? Or is that a Victorian thing? They’ve been going since I was at school. I always wanted to do one. You think I could turn up at my local school and casually pop into one of the dance troupes? πŸ˜€

    You’ll have to update us how it’s all going ❀

    • Oh goodness, no leg-warmers for us. Although we are doing Aussie rock with good old John Farnham, so there might be some shoulder pads as part of the costume. I have no idea what the Rock Eisteddfod is but I’m sure it’s similar πŸ™‚ They’re so much fun. Come on down to ours and nobody will even notice πŸ˜›

  8. Wow, good luck with the Schools Spectacular thing! (Dancing seems especially fun) Ah how envious I am, while the temperature plummets in Britain y’all be bringing out the ice cream cones. Like wut? I should just be one of those birds that migrate to always be in a hot climate. Not that I don’t love autumn, it’s pretty cool…I mean it’s really sleepy, which sucks…but long nights cuddling with a book doesn’t sound like such a bad idea. (Also, hot chocolate).

    Fahrenheit 451 is one of my favourites too! Bradbury is so freaking chic and cool I’m just all BLAH. (He is amazing, isn’t he?) Thing is, I can’t spell fahrenheit for my life, no matter how many times I’ve had to write it (which isn’t a lot, but still, shameful…it’s just shameful *shakes head despondently*)

    Hope you enjoy Ghosts of Heaven (that is one really boomting cover!)

    • Thank you!! Dancing is SO much fun. Haha. Our weather’s all topsy-turvy right now – cold one minute, boiling the next. But hey, you can eat ice cream in ANY weather.

      I wish I had written Fahrenheit 451. It’s sci-fi…but with beautiful language. I mean, WHAT.

  9. Emily good luck on NanoWrimo!!! You’ll have an awesome time I know it, well except for all the stress from trying to keep up with 10k hahaha! And what. That is not a lot of books on your TBR, they can all wait haha. I don’t even have much on my TBR though, I just keep pushing back the dates that I end up reading them.

    Anyways, I won Atlantia in a giveaway, so hopefully we both enjoy it when we get to it! And Fahrenheit 451! I haven’t read it yet, but I heard that it’s really good! I’ll be looking forward to your review of it!

  10. Ahh, North Child! ❀ I remember I loved that book so much when I was younger… I'm sure I still have my copy sitting around, somewhere, buried beneath piles and piles of books. πŸ˜› I feel your pain with your TBR pile. Mine isn't looking very good at the moment. It's sitting very prettily dumped on the floor (the only space I have for it) I just need the TIME to read them all. Atlantia and Since You've Been Gone look awesome — can't wait to see what you think of them. πŸ™‚

    • Same with me! Nostalgia much? And it’s just as good the second time, let me tell you (well…not the second time since I read it quite a few times…but you know what I mean!!). I’m sure my TBR will be relocated in the near future as well, lol. No room!

  11. I salute you for being able to read so many adult looking books in a week! I always need something childish to balance our my heavy reading out, but you, you got this πŸ™‚
    I read the sampler on NetGalley from Atlantia and loved it to death πŸ™‚ it was AMAZING! so enjoy πŸ™‚

  12. I hope the practice went well! I remember being in School Spectacular when I was like 9 so I really don’t remember anything other than it being really fun. I totally understand your TBR struggles. I started to keep track of all the unread books on my shelf and now I regret it because there are over 40. Not including my e-books. >< Happy reading and writing!

Leave a Reply

