Loony Blurbs Returns – The Monthly Edition

loony blurbs 4

I made the executive decision that doing Loony Blurbs every two weeks is a bit difficult. So instead, it’s now going to be a monthly feature – at the start of the month, I’ll do my post, and then you can do your own ANY time within that month. This is the first of those.

Let’s go!

 

Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay

princess of thornsThe four princesses of Flora. The Princess of Thistles. The Princess of Dandelions. The Princess of Nettles.

And the Princess of Thorns. But unlike the others, this princess has roses. She curses the Princess of Thistles with the power of the rose – unless the Princess of Thistles can find someone to love her before the last petal falls, she will die.

But there are two more princesses, and they are coming for the Princess of Thorns, roses or not.

 

 

 

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

the summer of chasing mermaidsEveryone tells her she’s stupid. “There’s no such thing as mermaids – it was just Captain Cook seeing a manatee or something.”

But Sarah knows the truth, because she’s seen a mermaid. And she wants to see them again.

And then she does. She’s dragged into the world of Hukkatta and she wishes she had never seen the mermaid. They don’t just drown sailors – they drown anyone.

But there’s one mermaid who’s different. Saali takes pity on Sarah. And maybe the world of Hukkatta could be beautiful after all.

 

Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire

egg and spoonTwo galaxies are at war.

The Milky Way against the Cartwheel Galaxy.

People are dying.

But Greg things up a compromise: an egg and spoon race. And whoever wins gains control of the other galaxy.

This is going to be the most intense egg and spoon race the universe has ever seen.

 

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

a court of thorns and rosesShe is a mystery. A girl, asleep, seemingly in a coma. She breathes. Her cheeks are pink with life. On her finger is the tiniest pinprick of blood.

They call her Aurora, for they found her at dawn.

Who will be in charge of her, this Aurora? Lawyers, judges. They all try to make the decision.

But when Mallory comes across the strange girl, Aurora wakes up, and says just one sentence: “Take me away from here.”

That’s how Mallory discovers the Thornrose world. And she’s not sure she’ll ever get out.

 

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

thirteen little blue envelopesEach envelope arrives somewhere different, somewhere more intrusive. First it was the letterbox. By number nine, they’re arriving beneath Maureen’s pillow.

She tries to ignore them. That’s what you do with stalkers, right? And besides, she can’t tell anyone. She has a feeling that whoever is sending her messages isn’t quite human.

They don’t say anything. Just a number. But when 12 arrives, there’s more: “13 will be the last one. And then you will be mine.”

If Maureen doesn’t figure out what this person wants, things are going to get very scary.

 

 

A Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson

a pocketful of eyesBeing a witch’s assistant in modern-day Sydney has its perks – Lili can ace all her tests without arising any suspicion. But when her friend Lulu finds her with a pocketful of frog spawn and rat eyes, it’s suddenly difficult to think of a reasonable explanation.

The solution? To enlist Lulu, of course.

Except it turns out that Lulu isn’t really a girl Lili’s age, but a rival witch.

Lili’s mistress is not going to be happy.

 

 

 

The Bubble Wrap Boy by Phil Earle

the bubble wrap boyHis mum makes his sandwiches for school, and packs his bag for him. He goes to bed at 9pm.

He’s in his last year of high school.

Something has got to change.

Then Phil meets a new friend – a boy called Newt, who doesn’t do what anyone tells him.

This is going to be one hell of a final year.

Link up below! Remember it’s open through all of November.

 

 

Is anyone else as excited for A Court of Thorns and Roses as I am??

27 thoughts on “Loony Blurbs Returns – The Monthly Edition

  1. Ohmigosh, ACOTAR. I cannot wait. (I found it due to Throne of Glass. Are you the same? 🙂 )

    Hmm, I keep seeing Loony Blurbs around…and it does look like fun… *goes to click that button in the menu*

  2. I AM EXCITED. I am very excited. In fact…I might just flail and screech. BECAUSE IT’S GOING TO BE AMAZING I JUST KNOW IT.
    Oh! But I loved Egg and Spoon so so much!! XD This is hilarious and wonderful. I’m totally trying to do it this month. *nods* But I can’t possibly live up to the awesomeness you’ve done. lol I love this so much!

  3. YES, OH MY GOSH I AM SO EXCITED FOR A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES OH MY GOSH I STILL CAN’T GET OVER THAT BEAUTIFUL COVER. Ahem. Anyway. This is AWESOME, as usual. ❤ I'll definitely be linking up sometime during the month, that's for sure! (Though I'm not sure I'll be able to come up with anything quite as awesome. 😉 ) I think my favourite this month has to be Egg and Spoon, and Princess of Thorns. 😀

  4. I looooove the one for The Princess of Thorns. I’m even more excited to read now (even if it won’t be your story that I’ll be reading). Still. *grabby hands*

    Also love the one for A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I AM ALSO EXCITED FOR YAAAAAY!

    I’ve never been interested in reading 13 Little Blue Envelopes. I’d much rather read a book with the synopsis you came up with. 😉

  5. I NEED YOUR VERSION OF COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES. I like the original and all BUT THIS ONE SOUNDS UP MY ALLEY. And The Summer of Chasing Mermaids? How did you make that sound so cool. Actually, I was getting real H20 vibes form that hahaha Honestly, Emily, you are a creativity queen ok

  6. Oh good lord, This is going to be the most intense egg and spoon race the universe has ever seen?
    THIS is something someone should be exploring for NeMoMiMo. Sabotage, espionage and magically infused spoons. I can see it now.

    YAY! Monthly I can do. Sign me up. SIGN ME UP! Super excited now ❤

  7. I felt so bad not being able to do my post for this last time because I was really busy with other stuff, but this month I’m definitely looking forward to giving it a go. I really like what you did with ‘Egg and Spoon’ and ‘Princess of Thorns’ especially 🙂

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves and NaNoWriMo Madness | The Loony Teen Writer

  9. Grrr, whenever I read your blurbs I really, really want to read those books… until I realise they’re not actually real. 😛 WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME. (By the way I love the one for Princess of Thorns – reminds me a bit of Beauty and the Beast, with the last-rose-petal-falling thing!)

  10. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Nov 2-8, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

Leave a Reply

