Book Tag: Top Ten Books That Have Stayed With Me

I was tagged by Bernadette @ The Bumbling Bookworm to do this tag! You can see her post here.

I was going to do a fancy banner and everything, then realised I had waaaay too much to do.

So you’re just going to have to imagine it.

 

Without further ado: the top ten books that have stayed with me.

philosopher's stone

The Harry Potter series by Queen Rowling

Did you really, honestly think that I would make any kind of list without Harry Potter? Obviously you thought wrong. I cannot even describe the influence HP has had on my life. There’s no possible way to over-estimate it. And I think a lot of people have the exact same thoughts as me.

the northern light

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

Another one I’m constantly talking about. His Dark Materials is a series I first read in primary school, and didn’t really understand it. I came back to it and I loved it even more. Seriously phenomenal book.

looking for alaska

Looking for Alaska by John Green

This was the first John Green book I read, waaaay back in the beginning of 2012. I loved it so much – it was what really introduced me to YA and made me want to read more of it – before then, I read mostly MG or adult and hadn’t really found the category in between. I love this book to pieces.

the princess diaries

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

Before Looking for Alaska, this was probably the first contemporary YA series I read. It is SO much fun and it’s a pretty nostalgic series, because I read it when I first became a teenager.

the solitaire mystery

The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder

Yes, I’m always mentioning this book. YES, it’s worth it. I read this in…year five, I think? So it reminds me a lot of that time. It was one of the first times (I can recall) that I really started questioning who I was in the world, and the meaning of life etc. Yep, I was a philosophical little kid. This book has had a HUGE impact on how I think.

wintergirls

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

This book is haunting. It’s about anorexia and a girl’s battle with it, and it has stayed with me. I only read it this year, but oh my goodness, it is amazing.

emily of new moon

Emily of New Moon by L. M. Montgomery

She also wrote Anne of Green Gables. L. M. Montgomery is an author that my mum read a lot of, because she still has a lot of her books. I used to read a lot of them when I was younger – the Emily and Anne books, the Swallows and Amazons books, the Trixie Belden books. They’re all great.

my sister's keeper

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

The first Jodi Picoult book I read. It made me want to write contemporary YA (for some strange reason) and it made me want to read more of her work. I did – every single one of hers that was in the school library (probably about ten or so). She’s still one of my favourite authors.

wonder book

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

One of the books I’d really like to reread. This taught me so much about kindness it’s unbelievable – even though I’m not in the age target, there’s still so much to gain from this book. I cried.

the bell jar

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

This was one of the first classics I read, after The Great Gatsby (which I hated) and The Catcher in the Rye (which I loved). I don’t like many classics, but this one…I loved this one. And it was so terribly sad, but I still loved it.

So those are some of the books that have stayed with me *is attacked by nostalgia*

I tag:

Cait @ Notebook Sisters

Eugenia @ Genie in a Book

Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer

29 thoughts on “Book Tag: Top Ten Books That Have Stayed With Me

  1. Yup…I saw Harry Potter and His Dark Materials coming. 😉 But heeeey I FINALLY have The Golden Compass out on audio! And I’m on an audio craze at the moment so I’ll finally listen to it!! HUZZAH! I kind of want to try the Bell Jar after Belzhar and also BZRK (which mentioned she was kind of insane…didn’t she die horribly, or something? Sylvia Plath, I mean). Aaaand I want to read Wintergirls. AH. OKAY I’M DOING THIS TAG.

    • HAHA HAVE I TALKED ABOUT THEM ENOUGH YET??? Oh my gosh I’m so nervous for you to read/listen to it. SO NERVOUS. I hope you like it *gnaws fingernails* Oooh, the Bell Jar is excellent. But yeah…she committed suicide 😦

      WINTERGIRLS IS FANTASTIC TOO 😀

  2. Harry Potter! Princess Diaries! The Bell Jar and My Sister’s Keeper! Although the last two weren’t my favourite, it’s totally right that they were memorable to stay with us. I just love the way you described Wonder, I haven’t had the chance to pick it up though. I still have to read The Dark Materials though!

  3. I loved Wonder so much! It was so touching and I loved how the friendships that August made throughout the story formed and grew. The L. M. Montgomery books are really good, too. I kind of want to read some of Jodi Picoult’s books, but they seem to be targeted for a much older age group. Also, I don’t know if you’ve read Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire, but those two books have also really stuck with me. Elizabeth Wein’s writing is just so real. IT’S AMAZING!

    • You’re making me want to read it again, Ana!! L M Montgomery is so great as well. Oh, yeah, Jodi Picoult is an adult writer – pretty much the only one I read 🙂 YES CODE NAME VERITY. Although I’m not brave enough to read Rose Under Fire yet lol.

  4. I’ve never read Emily of New Moon but I LOVE Anne of Green Gables so I’ll probably try it out. Wintergirls also looks really good. 🙂

  5. OH OH I haven’t read The Bell Jar yet but might just have to (Fun fact: I loved both Gatsby and Catcher. It’s so rare to find someone who actually enjoyed Catcher and I’m so glad you did *high five*) Harry Potter is a must for everyone, right? I’m dying for a reread but that may just have to be a 2015 thing.

  6. Yep, you can’t go past Harry Potter for sure! I loved The Catcher in the Rye, The Great Gatsby and The Bell Jar – making me realise that I definitely want to look into more ‘modern classics’. Admittedly, I didn’t enjoy ‘Looking for Alaska’ as much as I’d hoped – probably because I read TFioS first and my expectations were pretty high. ‘Wonder’ looks like a great read, and ‘Wintergirls’ looks like a powerful story which I’d be interested in checking out. Thanks for tagging me Emily, looking forward to doing my post 🙂

    • I know. I don’t think I’ve ever done a tag without it 😛 Modern classics are great! Although ones like Pride and Prejudice are good, too (also I really want to read The Handmaid’s Tale). Yeah, since Looking for Alaska was my first I really, really enjoyed it 🙂

      Can’t wait to see your post! 🙂

  7. Winter Girls, it’s one that I’ve really wanted to read since I discovered LHA, but always forget when I’m shopping online. If you loved Wonder, have you read Marco Impossible? That’s like a cross between Wonder and Aristotle and Dante. I think you’ll really enjoy that one Em. I’ve never heard of Emily of New Moon, earlier today I actually purchased the new edition of Anne of Green Gables. I can’t believe I’ve never read it.

    Awesome choices Em, thanks for sharing ❤

  8. Like I said before, I’ve only read the first three HP books… BUT I AM FIXING THAT. I’m on page 70 of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire right now. ;D Looking For Alaska was also my first John Green book, and it definitely intrigued me and was one of my first “poetic writing” books in YA, which, unfortunately, I’m not a fan of. 😦 Still, I appreciated how brave Green was for writing such a book. I haven’t read ANY of the Princess Diaries books. I don’t even know why I haven’t–the movie was adorable! I also really want to read Wintergirls, or anything by Anderson… And Wonder. That’s definitely on my TBR as well.

    Thanks for sharing, Em! It’s awesome when books make huge impacts on people’s lives. ❤

  9. Harry Potter and The Princess Diaries are so up my alley! Then again, I don’t think that’s super out there. All I know is that those were some great childhood books for me, and I’m sorry to say I haven’t read the rest. BUT I do think it’s cool that you can pinpoint them where they’re at, and what they did for you. Sometimes it feels like we never truly appreciate what books do for us when we’re young. Now I really wanna read some Harry Potter…

  10. Pingback: This Week I Finished NaNoWriMo (huzzah!) | The Loony Teen Writer

  11. Excellent post! Fun fact: It took me at least a month to realize that John Green wrote The Fault In Our Stars. I read it, then I started hearing about how popular it was. Another weird fact: It took me at least two months to connect John Green to the person in the Vlogbrothers videos. I’m dumb.

  12. These list are always so great to read! Harry Potter, Wintergirls and The Princess Diaries and My Sister’s Keeper have definitely stayed with me, too. 🙂 I completely forgot that L. M. Montgomery was the author of the Trixie Belden books as well as the Anne of Green Gables books! I absolutely loved both of those series. 🙂 I really want to read Wonder and The Bell Jar.

  13. Thanks for tagging me! 🙂 I’m pretty sure this has been the third time I’ve been tagged for this post, haha, but I just keep forgetting! O.o I *will* do it. Eventually. 😉 HP is definitely going to be on my list, too — I mean, I think it’s on most people’s. It’s had such an affect on everyone’s lives — especially for the people like us that grew up with it, you know? Confession: I’ve never read My Sister’s Keeper. Never. I want to, but the idea of reading it makes me nervous because I know there’s a 90% chance I’m going to bawl my eyes out. O.o

Leave a Reply

