If Books Were Disney Songs

A side-effect of NaNoWriMo is that I listen to a lot (and I mean a lot) of Disney songs while I’m writing. So I thought it’d be fun if I matched some Disney songs to books.

Because that’s what my sleep-deprived brain comes up with.

A Whole New World – Aladdin

I match it with…A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

Β a thousand pieces of you cover

Because, you know, parallel dimensions? GET IT? Although A Thousand Pieces of You obviously needed more flying carpets.

Can You Feel the Love Tonight – The Lion King

I match it with…Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

anna and the french kiss

Basically? Cutest. Book. Ever. Etienne is mine.

Under the Sea – The Little Mermaid

I match it with…Atlantia – Allie Condie

atlantia

I’m still disappointed this one doesn’t have mermaids, but it IS set under the sea.

You’ve got a Friend in Me – Toy Story

I match it with…Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein

code name verity

Leave me alone. I’m still sobbing. But this is still one of the best books I’ve read about friendships.

God Help the Outcasts – Hunchback of Notre Dame

I match it with…Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

since you've been gone

Because, you know, Emily is kind of socially awkward (not at ALL like me, of course…)

Okay, so I’m dramatising a bit by saying she’s an OUTCAST. My blog, my rules. Deal with it.

Spoonful of Sugar – Mary Poppins

I match it with…Flirty Dancing – Jenny McLachlan

flirty dancing

Flirty Dancing is pretty much the cutest book I’ve ever read. It’s ADORABLE. It’s light and fluffy and full of dancing, and it helps the medicine of homework go down.

When She Loved Me – Toy Story

I match it with…The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

the assassin's blade

Here, “me” is Sam. And we all know what happens to him.

I’m going to start crying now. This scene in Toy Story is the saddest in film history, and pairing it with The Assassin’s Blade is a cruel mix.

(don’t you love it?)

Poor Unfortunate Souls – The Little Mermaid

I match it with…The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

tfios

Do I even need to talk about this one?

I’ve Got a Dream – Tangled

I match it with…The Intern – Gabrielle Tozer

the intern for blog

This one’s all about Josie pursuing her dream of being a journalist. As if I haven’t talked about this incredible book enough! PS not long until Faking It!!!

So that’s my attempts at matching YA books to Disney songs.

Tell me in the comments some you’d pair up! Or make your own post. Or just soak in my amazing words (though this is a given).

And also – what’s your favourite Disney song?

34 thoughts on “If Books Were Disney Songs

  1. My favorite Disney song would be either Reflection or I’ll Make a Man Out of You. (It’s so hard to decide!) Both are from Mulan.

  2. Oh my gosh yessss. THESE ARE PERFECTION. I particularly laughed/cried at The Assassin’s Blade and Code Name Verity. Yes the songs are perfect, but noooo the pain is not okay. I can totally see TFIOS as the evil sea witch (oh my gosh, her name fails me. o.O WHAT IS HER NAME?!! I know the one out of Little Mermaid 2 is Vanessa..gah, why do I remember the weirdest things but not the obvious?) *ahem*
    SO YES. THIS POST IS THE BEST.

  3. AAAHHH this is brilliant!! Great idea! I’ll Make a Man Out of You (or whatever it’s called) from Mulan reminds me of the Song of the Lioness books.I also love the songs in Pocahontas.

  4. Oh my gosh, You’ve Got a Friend in Me and Code Name Verity is PERFECT. And yes. Let’s sob together. *bursts into tears*
    God Help the Outcasts and Since You’ve Been Gone is a good one too. And When She Loved Me and Assasin’s Blade.
    POOR UNFORTUNATE SOULS AND TFIOS THAT IS AMAZING.
    My fave Disney song is I See the Light from Tangled. I love Tangled. πŸ™‚

  5. THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE

    OMG WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME *UGLY SOBBING*

    this post is so brilliant i cannot even <333 i have been quite out of touch with disney songs recently (ahem 1989 on repeat followed by alt music obsession haha) i love all the song you've mentioned in the post!!! how does on pick a disney favourite… i'm quite a fan of colours of the wind πŸ™‚

  6. Totally creative and wonderful post Emily! I love what you’ve done with A Whole New World and Under the Sea πŸ˜€ Very fitting all of them! I STILL haven’t read Flirty dancing, every time I try and pick it up I just can’t make myself read it D: it’s soooo fluffy!

  7. WHY MUST YOU MENTION SAM YOU CRUEL, CRUEL GIRL!!! Waaaah *sobbing time* And TFiOS as well?! Whyyyy Emily, whyyyy?! But these are pretty much spot on. Now I must leave and go cry in a corner because Sam and Gus. πŸ˜₯

  8. LOL at those poor unfortunate souls. Indeed!!!
    MY favorite Disney song is Belle’s song, the one that goes “Little town, it’s a quiet village, everyday like the one before…” Plus, you gotta admit the line “with her head stuck in a book” just strikes a chord!

    • P.S. Why have I never heard of a number of books on this list before?? Must be before my days of joining the Goodreads Reading Challenge. Add add add!! πŸ™‚

  9. TFIOS. DON’T TOUCH ME.
    (I’ll admit, though – I totally burst out laughing at that GIF. In the midst of my tears. What is this world coming to…?)

  10. Pingback: Mockingjay, Hot Weather and Maleficent | The Loony Teen Writer

  11. THESE FIT SO WELL, EM! Well, from what I’ve seen. Unfortunately I haven’t seen The Hunchback of Notre Dame or Tangled yet, nor have I read Flirty Dancing, The Intern, Atlantia or Code Name Verity yet. Or all of The Assassin’s Blade, come to think of it. BUT, from what I’ve heard, I still think the songs are spot on. Now I’m going to have You’ve Got a Friend in Me, A Whole New World and Under the Sea stuck in my head for the rest of the night! πŸ˜›

    Also, I’m not sure if these two entirely fit together, but I think I’d match up Harry Potter with The Bare Necessities from The Jungle Book. I actually didn’t grow up watching a lot of Disney (and I still haven’t seen a lot, well, compared to the majority of other people in my age group), but The Jungle Book (both the animated version and the non-animated version) was one of my favourite movies growing up even though Shere Khan scared the absolute bejeezus out of me.

  12. Pingback: Indulgence Insider #14 – 1000 Bloglovin Followers! | Happy Indulgence

Leave a Reply

