This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

this shattered worldTitle: This Shattered World

Author: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Genre:YA sci-fi/dystopian

Length: 390 pages

Published by: Allen and Unwin

Source: received for review (thanks so much, Allen and Unwin!)

Blurb:

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

It’s always hard reviewing a book when it first comes out.

Usually, when I review books, I hop over to Goodreads and have a look at what other people think. That’s really helpful in constructing my own thoughts about the book. But for This Shattered World, I’m privileged to be one of the first readers – and that means there aren’t many reviews out yet.

And none of them seem to think the same things as me.

I’m trying, John, I’m trying.

Okay. Words.

I didn’t like it as much as These Broken Stars.

The main reason? There wasn’t the survival aspect that I loved in the first book.

That was my absolute FAVOURITE part of These Broken Stars. It might not have been yours, in which case you’ll probably love This Shattered World. But that’s what I loved about it – I loved how Lilac and Tarver learnt to tolerate each other, and work together. I loved that they were seemingly alone in an unknown world, and had to navigate it.

That wasn’t there in This Shattered World.

I also didn’t feel as connected to the plot or the characters.

And again, that’s not the book’s fault. I found the plot a bit dense, and I didn’t know what was going on some of the time (I think half the problem was that I was reading this while finishing NaNoWriMo…not the best combination).

I didn’t feel a connection with either Jubilee or Flynn, and the excerpts at the beginning of each chapter didn’t flow to me. BUT THAT’S JUST ME.

I did like how both stories wove together.

We got to see glimpses of Tarver and Lilac (well, more Tarver than Lilac) which was great. It wasn’t too much, and not too little – just enough to tie the stories together.

PLUS. IRELAND.

There was a lot of Irish stuff going on. I love how there was that connection to Earth. It really made things more relatable.

And I have to admit I did love the ending.

The ending was where I really paid attention and took notice, because things were happening that I cared about, and I wanted to know what would happen. Unfortunately, though, the beginning and middle dragged too much for it to be completely redeemable.

Rating: 3/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

10 thoughts on “This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. Oh thankyou for a new perspective! I’ve just read about a bajillion reviews for This Shattered World and I really must read the series, but I’m glad that you have a different opinion! It’s dystopian isn’t it? I seem to find many dystopian books have a great first book then slowly decline towards the last books. (Which was why I love the Disruption Duology by Jessica Shirvington because there was no time for all that lingering and waiting etc.)
    And I’m also glad there are Ireland things because I have a particular affinity for Ireland! XD
    I’ll have to read this series soon and see what I think but thanks for the new perspective and great review! (and the John Green gif! ha ha)

    • No worries! Haha. Most people are raving about it and I feel kind of left out 😦 yeah, it’s dystopian. I find that too with a lot of books – I thought this one might be different because it’s new characters, and it WAS different, but in a way that I didn’t necessarily like.

      I love Ireland too. My Irish accent is top notch 😛

  2. Most people who I’ve seen read this have told me that it wasn’t as good as the first book. I’ve just started it and so I’m bracing myself. To be honest, I don’t like it yet but I’m going to try and put myself into the story a bit more to see how I like it. Thank you for the truthful review!

  3. I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND WITH THE EXCERPTS EM. I WAS SO CONFUSED OMG In fact, I still don’t understand and will never dive in again because I don’t want to further confuse myself. I can understand the disconnection though–the book was quite different from the vibes of TBS. BUT I ADORED THAT TARVER/LILAC CAMEO! Sucks that you didn’t love this one but I’m still glad that you enjoyed it!! 🙂 Fantastic review x

  4. Pingback: Mockingjay, Hot Weather and Maleficent | The Loony Teen Writer

  5. Sorry you didn’t love this one, Em, but hey, it still sounds like a great addition in the trilogy! 🙂 I’m really looking forward to the Irish elements, now, haha. It sucks that you weren’t as connected to the plot and the characters this time around, but as you said, that’s just your feelings. I’m really looking forward to reading this book after going to the launch on Friday. Thanks for a wonderful review, lovely. ❤

  6. SOUNDS LIKE YOU’RE THE BLACK SHEEP SO FAR! But that’s okay! I still love you and your review! I have yet to read it, but I’m excited to see how it will compare with These Broken Stars (I only thought it was good and not great)

Leave a Reply

