Top Ten Books on My Winter-Summer TBR

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

It is almost summer in Australia.

I say “almost,” but considering we’ve had blistering temperatures in the past few weeks, it feels like we’re right in the MIDDLE of summer. And I say summer/winter TBR, because I’m going to England, where it WILL be winter, in a month. So that’s exciting.

Let’s get to it.

faking it all our yesterdays cooper b is dead

Faking It by Gabrielle Tozer – I. Am. So. Excited. For. This. Book. I’m also participating in the blog tour, so that’s going to be a lot of fun! Look out for that in mid-December.

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill – so I borrowed this from the library and my sister stole it. But I intend to take it back very soon.

Cooper Bartholomew is Dead by Rebecca James – I spell “Bartholomew” wrong every time, I’m convinced. THIS BOOK, though…I’m so excited. All the Aussie bloggers are raving about it.

hope in a ballet shoe just one day cruel beauty nona and me

Hope in a Ballet Shoe by Michaela and Elaine DePrince – this is about ballet and war and it just…it looks really good, and I’m so excited to read it.

Just One Day by Gayle Forman – I’ve owned this book for a few months now and never get around to reading it. So I intend to this summer/winter.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – I will get my hands on this book…somehow.

Nona and Me by Clare Atkins – Diversity, yay! This one looks amazing.

all the brigt places mara dyer 3 the summer i turned pretty

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – because it comes out in January, and that’s still summer/winter. I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS YOU HAVE NO IDEA.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – I seriously need to find a copy of this.

The Summer I turned Pretty by Jenny Han – because I’m hoping it might prove to be true, maybe?

So! Which of these should I be running to borrow/buy/pre-order/steal?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on My Winter-Summer TBR

  1. MARA DYER, MARA DYER, MARA DYER.

    My summer TBR is a tad different from yours. As in, it’s mostly summer contemporaries because what is happening to me (the self confessed anti-contemporist). But I’m trying to get in the mood, you know? I was looking at Cruel Beauty the other day in dymocks and flipped to the price tag and literally laughed out loud. Because it was 30 for a standalone. OMG that makes me laugh even now. Unbelievable, australia! Honestly. I’m going to be saddled with some winter during out summer as well (which I’m super stoked about because I cannot stand hotness) so I’m hoping to get something a tad more wintery. Maybe some fantasy. I need to go back to my roots hahaha

    • MARA DYERRRRRR YAY.

      Woah dude! Contemporaries! Crazy! Although it’s my favourite genre (weird because hardly any of these are). WHAT, thirty bucks??? That’s crazy!! Dymocks is so ridiculously over-priced…I still feel bad for not shopping there, though. OOOH where are you going??

  2. All Our Yesterdays looks really good, but it didn’t make my winter TBR because i doubt I’ll be able to read it this winter. My list will has stuff from different genres ’cause I’m just random like that :P.

  3. WOW YES. Please read All Our Yesterdays because I want to see your thoughts on it. And of course you should just read everything else! I haven’t read any of them besides All Our Yesterdays, but the others look good. JUST READ THEM ALL

  4. I loved All Our Yesterdays! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I have a copy of All The Bright Places which I’m looking forward to getting stuck into. Great list! I hope you get to all of these books!

  5. Fabulous list Emily! I can’t wait to read Faking It As Well and hope you like Cooper Bartholomew is Dead – Rebecca James is so good at writing YA psychological thrillers. All The Bright Places also looks really promising, and I found The Summer I Turned Pretty to be a light contemporary read which was enjoyable overall. Looks like you’ve got some fantastic reads ahead of you – enjoy 🙂

  6. Ooh have fun on your trip Em, I’m so jealous!! I’m looking forward to finally cracking open Cooper Bartholomew as well. I love, love, LOVED All Our Yesterdays, I hope you do as well! And I still need to read Cruel Beauty haha. I hope you get through all these books!

  7. Great list! Nona and Me is sitting on my shelves as well, waiting to be read, along with Just One Day and All the Bright Places 🙂 I need to read Mara Dyer #2 before starting Retribution, but I found the first one a bit strange so they’re not as high up my list at the moment.
    PS I’m so jealous that you’re going to England! I’m sure you’ll have a marvellous time 😀

  8. I wish it was almost summer here! I hate SNOW!

    All our Yesterdays looks really good and I’ve heard good things about Cruel Beauty. I still haven’t read Mara Dyer either. That series sure was popular on these lists though. Good luck!

  9. Ugh. Dreading Summer. That, is what I am doing. Lucky you escaping to beautiful England! I hope you enjoy the conclusion to the Mara Dyer trilogy, Em. 🙂 I’m a bit sad it’s over. I’ll definitely be looking forward to see what you think of All Our Yesterdays, Cooper Bartholomew (I actually have this out of the library at the moment, so I should probably hop to that), Just One Day (I’ve owned this since PTALive back in April and won a copy of the sequel a few months back, so another I should get to), All the Bright Places (I NEED THIS) and The Summer I Turned Pretty (heard pretty positive things about this one!) I also hope you enjoy Cruel Beauty. I liked it, but it disappointed me slightly. I’m looking forward to Crimson Bound however.

    • I know. 46 degrees in spring is not acceptable at all. EEEK MARA DYER YAY. I’ve been checking our school library constantly 😛 Hmmmmm I’ve heard different things about Cruel Beauty, but I still want to read it…and not JUST because it’s beautiful (that’s only about 99% of the reason…)

Leave a Reply

