The Selection by Kiera Cass: fluffy abounds

the selectionTitle: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: YA dystopian

Length: 336 pages

Published by: HarperTeen

Source: library!

Blurb:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

This was an extremely fun read.

I was under no delusions that this would be an incredibly amazing book. And it wasn’t. You’re not going to come out thinking it’s the best book you’ve ever read…or maybe YOU will, I don’t know.

What I’m trying to say is that it’s a fun read despite not being the most well-written book out there.

PLUS. PRETTY DRESSES.

 

Let’s get the bad out of the way first: the names.

I didn’t like any of the names. America Singer is our main character (and she sings. Wow). Maxon is the Prince. You know what his name reminded me of?

Except with an M.

We also have Aspen, who sounds kind of snake-like. Didn’t like him at all. Then there’s a “Gavril Fadaye.” I mean, “Fadaye” just sounds like the most obviously made-up name in the history of made-up names.

BUT DESPITE THIS, I still really enjoyed it.

It’s a nice LIGHT contemporary, you know? It’s not heavy on the blood and the gore and the future of the human race. There are pretty dresses, cameras, a pretty cute guy (Prince Maxon…although his penchant for calling people “my dear” really ticked me off). Plus America was quite likeable. Although her friend Marlee was pretty flat.

I decided to read this because The Jewel was compared to it.

I liked The Jewel better, but this was still pretty great.

People have made comparisons to The Hunger Games.

And there ARE similarities – the caste system, the lottery system, Gavril Fadaye/Cinna, America herself…lots of things. But it’s a more FUN version.

So if you want a light dystopian, read The Selection.

Meanwhile, I’ll be trying to find The Elite.

Rating: 3/5 Wonderkitties

 PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

 

31 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass: fluffy abounds

  1. I’ve been reading these series and although I did enjoy them and they were a really light read, I think they’re just dragging them on now and they’ll probably keep bringing them out. I haven’t read The Jewel yet, but it’s on my TBR list and I can’t wait to get to it!

  2. HAHAHA oh your wax on wax off comparison is hilarious! And why are the names so lame? If you liked the Jewel better well…I don’t think I would like this one. But I have a few on my shelf already, so we’ll just have to see when I feel the inclination to pick it up XD Great review lovely!

  3. OMG, WAX ON, HAHAHA. I can never look at the name “Maxon” the same way again. Hilarious, I tell you! xD I didn’t really like The Selection, but it’s great to know you liked The Jewel better, since its somewhere on my TBR. But I do agree that there were good things about The Selection like the fluff and pretty dresses!

  4. THE NAMES DROVE ME UP THE WALL, I MEAN SINGER??? FOR A SINGING FAMILY??? OMG I’m glad you enjoyed this one in the end, but The Jewel’s a tad more complex, right? If I had to choose I’d do the romance in this one and the dystopian system from The Jewel. Then we’d be onto something (that I’d read lol) But I digress. What I wanted to say was that you’re right! This was an extremely light dystopian and definitely felt more contemporary then anything. Fantastic review, Emily! x

    • I KNOW. It’s like when I used to read Emily Eyefinger books and their names were ALL like that. But at least that was for six-year-olds 😛 Yeah, I think The Jewel’s more complex (and I’m assuming The Handmaid’s Tale is, you know, just a TAD more too). Ooooh yes that would be good – didn’t like the romance in The Jewel :/

  5. I’ve read The Jewel which got compared a lot to this book when I first heard about it, so I am curious to see how The Selection stacks up. It does look like a fluffy read, and when I’m looking for a break from the Deep-and-meaningful novels or those really action-packed dystopias then I might just check it out. Brilliant review Emily as always!

  6. Yep, this is definitely a light, fun read and nothing more. 🙂 I really enjoyed it, and glad you did too, Em. However, I didn’t like The Elite as much…I’ve still yet to read The One. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series and thanks for a wonderful review.

  7. You feel almost exactly the same way about this book as I do XD I loved the dresses, hated the names (HATED THE NAMES), and thought Maxon’s “my dear” crap was, well, crap.

    I liked The Jewel better than this one, too! And I hope the sequel is better than the sequel to this one. Where I was able to oversee the hideous parts of this book, I was unable to do that with The Elite. It was … really bad.

  8. You’re completely spot on with this review! I was under the impression, when I first started it, that I was not going to like it AT ALL. That wasn’t the case — I actually quite enjoyed it. But yeah, like you said, I didn’t find this amazing, either, and it’s certainly not wonderfully written or anything… it’s just so enjoyable to read. I hope you like the rest of the series!!

  9. I wasn’t a fan of this book at all and yeah, the names are LOL worthy. Honestly though, Maxon BAHAHAHA. Now I’ll think of that every time I see his name.

    Great review, Em <33

  10. Yeah, your review is a much nicer version to mine. But the way you’ve written this makes me think that I should’ve been a bit more flexible too, though… Ooops ‘_’

  11. I really don’t think The Selection and The Jewel are very good comparisons. Granted, I read The Jewel because it was compared to The Selection but they’re very different. I understand why they chose The Selection; it is probably the best comparison but I’m not sure it’s a great comparison. I did love both The Selection and The Jewel though. So glad you liked this one!

Leave a Reply

