Fairytales for Wilde Girls – hey look, the perfect book for me

fairytales for wilde girls

 

Author: Allyse Near

Genre: ummmm…contemporary/fantasy

Published by: Random House

Source: I bought it! Thanks Bookworld 🙂

Blurb:

There’s a dead girl in a birdcage in the woods. That’s not unusual. Isola Wilde sees a lot of things other people don’t. But when the girl appears at Isola’s window, her every word a threat, Isola needs help.

Her real-life friends – Grape, James and new boy Edgar – make her forget for a while. And her brother-princes – the mermaids, faeries and magical creatures seemingly lifted from the pages of the French fairytales Isola idolises – will protect her with all the fierce love they possess.

It may not be enough.

Isola needs to uncover the truth behind the dead girl’s demise and appease her enraged spirit, before the ghost steals Isola’s last breath.

First you must know that the movie Wild Child is my favourite movie of ever, and that this was what I thought of the first time I read the title of the book:

But Isola is not at all like Emma Roberts. She reminded me a bit of Alice in Wonderland if she was in modern times.

So first off I loved this book. Let’s not draw that out.

THE WRITING. IT WAS JUST. DUDE. SERIOUSLY. I APPARENTLY CAN’T STRING TOGETHER A COHERENT SENTENCE BECAUSE ALLYSE NEAR HAS STOLEN THEM ALL.

This review is, from here on in, not going to make any sense. If my review is lacking in any way, it’s because this book has used all of the most amazing phrases in the English language.

I seriously considered inhaling the words.

You’ll be pleased to know, however, that it remains un-eaten and on my shelf, next to all my other fairytales or retellings.

It’s a great shelf.

So let me tell you some of the great things about this book. First of all we have the awesome structure.

Lots of short, choppy sentences in short chapters. There are illustrations (LOVE. IT). There are brief excerpts from fairytales (which aren’t your ordinary fairytales, just FYI). There are “dramatis personae” (you might recognised something similar in The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making).

So that’s awesome and different, and it kept me flipping pages.

Plus we have the DARKNESS of the fairytale.

It’s nothing like what you think…

IT’S NOT LIKE THAT AT ALL.

Oh gosh, I’m over-using the caps again. Bear with me. It’s not your whole “good and evil are two separate things” kind of…thing. It’s very dark, and there’s a lot about death and loneliness, and it’s sad in some parts, but then you’ve got this amazingly beautiful writing and just…it’s so good, guys.

It’s a strange kind of genre, too.

You’ve got these fairytales and these brother-princes (and yes, some of them are girls…it’s okay, I was confused too. That gets explained). There are fairies and unicorns and a bunny-gargoyle…don’t ask.

But then it’s also contemporary, with a girl called Grape and a boy called Edgar and lots of swearing and references to modern things. It’s a bit jarring in some places, but it works really well.

Plus!! The ending!!

I was kind of confused, but I think that’s because I read it too fast. But gosh, guys, my mind was blown. Didn’t see it coming at all (maybe I should have…all the signs were there). You have to read it just for this marvellous ending.

For a gothic fairytale with beautiful writing and a unique format, look no further than Allyse Near.

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

And tell me: what’s your favourite fairytale? Or fairytale retelling?

 

23 thoughts on “Fairytales for Wilde Girls – hey look, the perfect book for me

  1. Ahh! This sounds like a brilliant read. Too bad my library doesn’t know what brilliant means.

    I love fairytales, and even more, good retellings. I really enjoyed Wide Awake Princess, the Lunar Chronicles (although I should probably finish the books out so far, I’m about halfway through Scarlet, but I think my mum returned it for me because it was overdue. >_<), among others. Oh! And I also need to get to reading Splintered. I managed to get my hands on a copy, finally.

    …Anyway. Awesome review! With adequately awesome gifs as well. (And there can never bee to many caps. Especially when fangirling. ):D

    • IT IS BRILLIANT. And I know, right? My library wouldn’t get Shadow and Bone in because they had “similar books.” Just. No.

      I LOVE fairytales too!! The Lunar Chronicles are great – I love Cress. I’ll have to check out Wide Awake Princess. Oooh and Splintered and Unhinged are both awesome.

      I agree with you on the caps 🙂

  2. OH I AM SO RELIEVED YOU LIKE IT BECAUSE I JUST GOT IT FROM THE LIBRARY AND I’M WONDERING WHAT I’LL BE LIKE. *breathes calmly* Yessss. SO. Hopefully I’ll be reading it this week?! Or something! XD Dark and awesome and great writing? I’m totally in. And I looooove Alice In Wonderland-esque things. So this should be absoutely wonderful. ^-^
    AND I LOVE THAT GIF ABOUT EATING STORIES. Best ever.
    ALSO I AM BACK. (It’s hard to tell I know. xD) And I get to read your blog again and huzzah! HOME IS GOOD.

  3. This sounds really awesome! I’ve seen it around but never really been enticed to pick it up. I will now though, because of your stellar review! It sounds different and fantastic and maybe a bit creepy and not at all Disney (I love Disney but I also love fairytales that aren’t Disney!) Can’t wait to read this now!

  4. I have been wanting to read this book FOREVER! And am finally going to read it this month, It’s on my reading schedule and everything! I am so glad you loved it. I can’t wait to read it, I’m sure I’m going to love it too 🙂

  5. Okay, I’ve wanted this book since its publication, but now I NEED IT. What have you done to me, Emily?! The only thing that’s stopping me from purchasing it right now is that Bookworld now charges $5.50 flat rate for shipping, which is all fine and dandy if purchasing more than one book…and I still have Christmas presents to buy…thanks for a fantastic review, Em – looking forward to getting my hands on this one. 🙂

  6. This book looks so good! I have seen it around, but haven’t really had the motivation to ‘get into it’ until now – it’s definitely going on my holiday read-list. I’ve been going through a few fairytale retelling recently, and this one in particular looks like it will be a hit. Fantastic review Emily 🙂

  7. OH MY GOSH THIS SOUNDS AMAZING AND OMG I CAN UNDERSTAND YOUR FANGIRL FLAILING!!! 😀 THIS SOUNDS SO COOL I MUST READ IT NOW!!! The writing sounds similar to Maggie Stiefvater’s The Wolves of Mercy Falls (Shiver, Linger, Forever) series! That was also beautiful and poetic and lyrical and INTENSE!!!!
    CAN’T WAIT TO READ THIS NOW!!! (And omg so sorry for overuse of capslocks!)

  8. I read this earlier this year and also really loved it. While there were times throughout it when I thought nothing was really happening and it was just a string of very pretty imagery, but then I got to the end and my mind was blown, too. My review is over here.

  9. See I love the concept of these and the dark fairytales and whimsical story, but last time I tried one of these (Laini Taylor’s Lips Touch Three Times) I didn’t like it because it was too weird for me. I hope this one wouldn’t be, though. Great review Emily!

  10. Haha, I love how enthusiastic you are about this book! That makes me really excited for it. I love fairy tales and retellings, but they’ve always been a hit or miss with me because many of what I read just didn’t bring anything new to the table. This one, however, seems like it’s right up my alley. I totally love darkness and love how it’s incorporated in fairy tales considering FTs are usually all bright and happy (at least in the disney versions… haha!) thanks for the review!

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

