The Candy Book Tag!

candytag

The Candy Book Tag is a new book blog tag started by Samantha @ Bookish Serendipity. Basically, this is a list of types of candy . . . and we have to match them with books. Awesome.

In good old ‘Straya, we don’t have candy. We have chocolate or lollies. Sometimes both if you’re referring to Chicos (basically like chocolate jelly babies…surprisingly good, actually).

ANYWAY. I’m here to talk about books. I was tagged by the lovely Kara at Diary of a Teen Writer, and it looked like so much fun I thought I might try it.

Apples: Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

we were liars proper

 

 

This one was just not for me at all.

Didn’t get the hype.

 

Milk chocolate: this is a book you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

falling into placeThis book, man. I just.

I can’t even with this book.

It’s amazing. Read it.

Black jellybeans: why do these exist??

allegiant

I was so disappointed you have no idea. It’s pretty much the only one-star rating I’ve ever given. Just was not my thing.

It’ll be interesting to watch the movie…

Chocolate kisses: awww this novel had the best romance.

anna and the french kissI know, right? Bet you didn’t see this one coming.

Anna and Etienne are still my favourite couple out of the three.

 

Gummy Spiders: Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

the evolution of mara dyer

 

This one scared me big time. Unbecoming wasn’t scary at all, but this one was creepy. I hoped Anna Dressed in Blood would be similar, but I was very underwhelmed.

Although I’m very intrigued about these gummy spiders. Why would anyone put themselves through eating those?

Jumbo Lollipop: This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

the fellowship of the ring

And it was, indeed, an EXCELLENT adventure. I enjoyed it immensely. I have actually read the whole series, but don’t intend to reread them any time soon…way too exhausting.

Cotton Candy: Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

eragonAren’t you proud of me for not going straight to Harry Potter?

This one is kind of against the rules. It’s not really children’s or MG, but I really loved it when I was younger and I’m sure if I’d started it now, I wouldn’t like it half as much.

But I still love it. These books are just…they’re so great.

 

 

I tag!

Bernadette at The Bumbling Bookworm

Jess at My Reading Dress

Laura at Laura Plus Books

What’s your favourite type of candy? I’m more of a baked goods person, myself, but I love me some Starbust snakes.

31 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag!

  1. We Were Liars actually won the Goodreads Choice Awards 2014, which surprised me from all the bad reviews I saw. Odd
    Yes…Allegiant. Awful. Just awful. And not really because of the ending…with…you know. Just because it wasn’t that great.
    I’ll have to read Anna and the French Kiss sometime, then! It’s been on my TBR for a while.
    *high fives* It took me forever to get through The Fellowship of the Ring. Then there was the fact that I couldn’t see The Two Towers until I read it. I personally prefer the books better…
    I like Eragon, I just never finished Eldest… I’m kind of disappointed with Paolini’s uncreativeness with character names in comparison to LotR.

    • I saw that!! Yeah, I guess with popular books there are always going to be negative reviews as well. And yeah, I hated Allegiant so much…think I’ll just stick with the first one.

      READ ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS. LIKE, NOW. IT’S AWESOME.

      Yeah haha took me forever as well…those books are dense. I made myself read them all before I watched them 😛

      Lol, Paolini stole a few things, but I still love Eragon ❤

      • The problem with reading reviews is that sometimes you honestly don’t know if you’ll like it or not ’cause they’re so mixed. 😛
        I WILL. ASAP.
        I actually read Lola and the Boy Next Door and thought it was really adorable. So I shall read it.
        I think I’m going to reread Eragon sometime and continue the series even though originally I was kind of mad about the name things. It was really good. 🙂

  2. I don’t hardly ever eat lollies/candy. Like, um, probably never. BUT CHOCOLATE, DUDE, CHOCOLATE IS THE GIFT OF HEAVEN. And I have to admit, I wouldn’t say no to a sour skittle. There’s just something delicious about them. *nods*
    Aaaanyway. I am actually going to read Eragon! I tried it when I was younger and just felt meh, but I actually like dragons now and it’s SO famous. I feel I really ought to at least finish it. (Plus. Looooads of respect for the 16yrs author. I mean. COME ON. So cool and unfair. XD lol Just kiddding.) I have it on audio. And I am proud of you for expanding beyond Harry Potter. XD I meant to finish HP this year and omg, December, did I say you could come just now. *panics*

    • WHAT. But lollies are great! I love me some Starburst. But yes, chocolate is amazzingngingignign. Same with baked goods.

      Eragon’s pretty good…although maybe I wouldn’t think so if I started them now. And yeah – amazing that he was so young! OH WOW CAIT you need to hurry up with HP 😛

  3. Oh god, I’m addicted to those natural confectionary things BUT only the chewy ones. Gah. I could eat them all up. And green tea kit kats. Stop, I’m about to raid my pantry.

    I’VE HAD FALLING INTO PLACE FOREVER AND YET I HAVEN’T HAD ANY TIME. BUT YOU REC TO EVERYONE. I THINK I NEED TO READ IT. NOW.

    I love this tag, Em! Thanks for tagging me, my dear <33 x

    • Only the chewy ones?? You’re crazy. Although I suppose they do end up lasting longer. My friend got green tea ice cream the other day, so maybe I’ll have to try something like it…

      I REC LOTS OF THINGS TO EVERYONE, BUT FALLING INTO PLACE IS TOP OF THE LIST. READ IT 😀

  4. YAY, YOU DID THE TAG! I so agree about We Were Liars… Urgh. I enjoyed it, I guess, but yeah, it was just so underwhelmingly disappointing. Ha ha, I was SO tempted to choose Harry Potter for that cotton candy question, but I (somehow) managed to resist. 😉 I do love Eragon, though, and I so would love to reread that one day! Whenever my TBR pile allows for it. Anyway, this tag is completely awesome. 😀

  5. Literally, half my post would be exactly like yours LOL! Thank you for tagging me Emily. ♥ I completely agree that We Were Liars wasn’t my thing. And Allegiant. Why are you in my world? And Falling into Place and Anna and the French Kiss. Yes! ♥

  6. Aw, too bad you didn’t like We Were Liars. I loved that book, but I can understand how all the hype could have ruined it for you. I still liked it but I probably would have liked it more if I hadn’t been told that it was so unpredictable beforehand. Then again, I probably wouldn’t have read it if I’d know that. *sighs* Yes, LOTR does take a long time to get through. The story is great, but the writing is a little dense. I think I’ll reread it sometime.

  7. This tag combines my two favourite things, food and books! A shame you couldn’t get into We Were Liars. AND YES why do black jellybeans exist? *shudders*. I just bought Anna and the French Kiss at Supanova recently and I am looking forward to reading the sweet romance.

    I LOVED ERAGON! I need to continue this series, even my nephew has read all of them before me. Good on you for reading LOTR though too. Great post Emily!

    • I know, RIGHT? Two of my favourite things too. Except…yeah, black jellybeans. Gross. And why do the bad-coloured lollies still exist? Nobody likes the green snakes!! YOU HAVEN’T READ ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS??? WHATTTTT???

      Yesss I loved Eragon too! My friend and I had a race to finish the last one (which was like a gazillion pages) and both took two days 🙂

  8. Evolution is definitely a gummy spider 🙂 Yummy but kinda creepy lol
    Also, completely agree on the cotton candy. That one is awesome.

  9. Yum, candy! Yeah we don’t call it candy often too. But hey, sweets taste just as sweet no matter the name! I haven’t read Allegiant but the whole series just displeases me. I don’t get the hype, and it’s an awesome series. Just…better execution please?

  10. Book tags are always such fun. 🙂 Ah, yes. Your answer for apples is spot on. And Falling Into Place is amazing! I can’t wait for Amy’s next novel coming out next year!! 😀 Also Allegiant….I didn’t hate it enough to give it a one star, but what the hell happened there?! Anna and Etienne! ❤ They're so cute. Sure, the book is cliched, but it was so cute that I didn't care…yet to read Isla yet (hopefully this month), but Anna and Etienne are definitely my favourite couple so far. The Unbecoming. Definitely one of my favourite books EVER and without a doubt my favourite from the trilogy. I think it's fantastic. And LotR! I need to start reading those sooner rather than later…The Hobbit is on my TBR for a reading challenge I'm participating in next year, so hopefully that'll encourage me to read LotR. I never finished the Eragon series for some reason, but I want to one of these days.

    I'm not a biiiig fan of lollies either (chocolate is pretty good, though), but I love baked goods and pods…pods are good. And I don't know where to class those, so they just get to be all on their lonesome.

    Thanks for sharing, Em. I loved reading your answers. 😀

    • Book tags are SO fun. I hope nobody’s getting bored by them O_O OH MY GOSH AMY ZHANG IS AMAZING AHHHH. Yeah lol, for Anna and the French Kiss I was so close to putting another cover on it – people judged me so hard! But I don’t even care 🙂

      The Hobbit is a lot easier than LOTR, but they’re both really rewarding once you finish 😀

      PODS ARE AMAZING. I don’t know how to classify them either…baked chocolate? Lol.

  11. I’m always the black sheep with Allegiant. I absolutely LOVED it!
    And wow Eragon! I LOVED ERAGON TOO!!!! ^_^ and yet, I’m still to finish the series. I’ve never read Inheritance though it’s been on my shelf for years.
    Eh, I’ll get around to it. 😀
    Thanks for the post! I loved the idea of chocolate and lollies as books! In fact… (shhh!) I kinda just had to eat some chocolate while I read this! 😀 😉

    • I’d rather be a positive black sheep than a negative one! Cait from Notebook Sisters…erm, Paper Fury, loved it as well. YAY I LOVE ERAGON. Inheritance is great. Lots of awesome plot twists 🙂

      Chocolate-eating is mandatory when you read my blog 😛

  12. I still need to read We Were Liars… so many people love it, and so many people hate it, and so many are in between that it’s intriguing to say the least! I’m interested to know where I’ll stand in a sea of differing opinions! And I really love creepy books so I want to read the Evolution of Mara Dyer now. I still need to read the first book though but I don’t think that’s going to be a problem 😛 And dude, you finished LOTR… O.O That’s amazing in many ways. I tried it, but… yeah… I just couldn’t get into it for many reasons lol. The writing was simply too muddled for me >.<

    Cool list! Loved candies when I was a kid, but now that I'm older, have to monitor my sugar levels regularly so it ain't an option now haha!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  13. Ooooh, I love a good tag. I was the opposite to you – I loved We Were Liars and didn’t really get Falling Into Place. Allegiant… HATED IT! From beginning to end. I wanted to give that book a minus rating, and I would have if Goodreads allowed it. Anna and the French Kiss is such an adorable book! I really want to read Lord of the Rings, especially since I love the films so much, but it just seems like so much effort. It’s something I am sure I will get to ‘one day’.

Leave a Reply

