In which November was the busiest month of my life

SO I DID A LOT OF STUFF THIS MONTH.

For instance, I

– Wrote a book as part of NaNoWriMo. It’s shocking, and only 57,000 words (including a 10k day which was exhausting), but it will be better in a second draft.

– Participated in a state-wide dance thing, which took me off 6 days of school and was extremely tiring. But also fun. Here are some photos from the Schools Spectacular Facebook page (the second photo is of my dance…like the tartan pyjama pants?)

Oh, and side note: there were a LOT of people in the finale. We had four performances and I fell over every. single. time. The last time, I couldn’t even get back up because there were so many people, so I just kind of…sat on the floor for a while.

– In November I also had a LOT of assessments. Five this week, for example (haha! Kill me).

– I hardly read anything…

– Also I abandoned the blog a little bit. BUT THAT’S OKAY. I’m back with a vengeance.

– And since it’s December, it also means that I’m going to England…THIS MONTH. Crazy. I’m so excited, though!

My goals for November were to…

– Read at least 6 books (check! I read seven)

anna dressed in blood since you've been gone this shattered world the selection

the program fairytales for wilde girls all our yesterdays

– Review at least 6 books (EXACTLY!). Click on the pictures to go to my reviews.

a thousand pieces of you cover corruption the ghosts of heaven

since you've been gone this shattered world the selection

– Write 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo (CHECK. I WROTE 57,000 OF THEM. THAT’S A LOT OF WORDS. And yet it still felt less draining than the 2,500 assignment I gave in today…)

– Get through my first lot of HSC assessments alive (well, I don’t know about alive, but I’ve got through the bulk of them…two more and I’m FREE. Well, not really, since I have to do my major works over the holidays…BUT STILL).

– Try not to die in the heat (kind of…it got to 46 degrees Celsius here. For my ‘Murican friends, that’s about 115 degrees Fahrenheit. Not fun!)

Gif of the Month

I had no choice.

Books of the Month

since you've been gone fairytales for wilde girls

Both were EXCELLENT. Very, very different, but both awesome.

Goals for December…

– Read at least 10 books

– Review at least 6 books

– Stop neglecting your review copies, Emily. Geez.

– Finish off those last few HSC assessments for the year

– Get to England in one piece

– Use the excuse of Christmas to buy as many books as possible

– Realise that it has been a very hectic but awesome year, and that 2015 is looking to be even better

So happy holidays everyone! I’m going to be saying it a lot, because it’s only the start of December…but whatever. Have a great December, whatever you happen to celebrate!

37 thoughts on “In which November was the busiest month of my life

  1. Although you didn’t get to read as much as you wanted to, it looks like you still read some fantastic books like This Shattered World and Since You’ve been Gone! I loved both of those too. And the school musical would have been fun!

  2. Oh you’re going to England?! HOW COOL. Like, um, literally: freezing.
    Any excuse is a good thing for buying books. ^-^ I’m trying to subtly (I’m totally epic at subtle) indicate I want books for Christmas but no one has even LOOKED at my list and this means I’m going to have to gift them to myself obviously. *nods* It’s just going to happen.
    CONGRATS ON 57K OF GLORIOUS STORYNESS.
    Gif of the month = definitely yes. Although I feel like I’ve missed so much these last 2 weeks. XD heeeh. I’m totally out of the loop. *hugs all the blogs again*
    I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S NEARLY 2015.

    • LITERALLY COOL. Oh my gosh, Cait, you’re just too punny for me. WHAT, how does nobody realise you want books??? Crazy.

      Hahaha that happens to me if I’m off the interwebs for even a day. Which, come to think of it, may actually be a good idea…

      I KNOW. 2014 has gone for like a week!

  3. Congratulations on accomplishing so many of this month’s goals! Maybe I should start setting monthly goals too… hmmm… I’m sure my mother would be thrilled if I became a little more organized and responsible. xD

    Love the Voldemort GIF!

    Ehehe, those pants are… I can’t decide if they’re horrible or awesome. Perhaps both?

  4. Wait it was 46 degrees?! Did I sleep through that or something?! I went to the beach on the supposedly 40 degree day and it ended up being cloudy and 30ish haha.

    Congrats on finishing most of your first round assessments! It’s always so hard to start off with year 12 but it gets easier as you adapt to it. Have heaps of fun in England, I’m so jealous I want to go back already!! 😀 😀

  5. Wow it definitely seems like you had a really busy month this November! Writing a novel is a massive achievement, and it looks like Schools Spectacular was lots of fun! Congrats in surviving your assessments so far too, I’m sure you aced them 🙂 Have fun in England too, it’ll be so much different to December over here (though with our scorching heat I’m sure it’ll be nice to experience something different).

  6. Congrats on winning NaNoWriMo! I won NaNo, too, but my goal was only 25k. It’s still better than nothing, though, right? The Schools Spectacular looks like a lot of fun, even though I really don’t like dancing at all, and I’m really bad at it. 115 degrees Fahrenheit!!! What!!! I’m at the opposite end of the spectrum right now, and I honestly could not imagine a sweltering Christmas. Ah, the life of an Australian…very interesting…very weird…very different…I really want to read Since You’ve Been Gone, so I’m glad you liked it.

  7. Congrats on EVERYTHING you did in November! Guess what I did?
    Sobbed my way through the Throne of Glass series. Just finished The Assassin’s Blade, and ajkfjrtktgjsfklwerw.
    WHAT?!!? Oh god, that ending, that ending…collapses into sobbing heap.
    Am waiting impatiently on Heir of Fire.
    Also, I bow down to your awesome 57K writing skills!
    Have fun in England!
    Noemi

  8. Congratulations! I hope that you have fun in England. Oh, by the way, my copy of The Program arrived at the library. After I get through about sixty-plus other library books, I’ll read it. -gulps, looks nervous-

  9. I am insanely jealous of you going to England. I went back in 2008, and we didn’t even go to Kings Cross station!
    I’ll get back there…one day…
    And YAY! 57,000 words is impressive! I ended up with about 15,000 myself, but November is just so busy! I’m amazed I got any words down.
    I don’t think I even read any books 😦
    And WOW 2014 is almost over…seems like it was starting only yesterday.

      • I spent practically the entire time we were in London begging to go to Kings Cross, but there was so much other stuff my parents/grandparents wanted to do that we didn’t have time for it.
        I then spent the rest of the trip complaining about it.

  10. WOAH IMPRESSIVE DANCE COMPETITION I AM IMPRESSED! I hope you had a lot of fun! And also, HAPPY HOLIDAYS! It still looks like you had a good November, and I don’t think you neglected the blog too much! I mean there was NaNo.

    IS IT SNOWING ON YOUR BLOG? UNDERWATER WHAT?

  11. ENGLAND! You totally need to start snacking on tea and scones now to get used to it. I’m pretty sure that’s ALL they eat over there. And warm beer, but your just a poppet, so no beer.

    I love the dancing Scotsmen! What were you dancing to? Is their a clip available? I know they used to put in telly on the weekend after, but haven’t seen anything advertised. Bloody hell it’s hot up there. The weather is bonkers all over at the moment. It’s like Queensland weather down in Melbourne, so humid and overcast. We’re all so confused and don’t know where we live anymore. I seen the local council trying to construct a big banana even.

    • Yep, I can tell you on good authority that it’s their only source of nutrition. Haha, yep, no beer for me (looks gross anyway).

      We were dancing to Playing to Win by John Farnham. I have no idea if there are any videos around. Yeah, the weather’s crazy. Hot during the day and then thunderstorms. HAHA. Everyone needs a big banana in their lives 🙂

  12. DUDE, THERE IS SNOW FALLING ACROSS THE SCREEN. THAT. IS. AWESOME.

    And you’re going to England!? Luuuuuuuuucky! Take lots of pictures so I can feast my eyes upon thee English gloriousness. (I’ve always wanted to go there!) And I will shamelessly admit that I’m a dash jealous of you. 😉 I’m so excited for Christmas — like you said, it’s the perfect excuse to buy books guiltlessly. 😀

    • ISN’T IT COOL?? I see you’ve matched its awesomeness 🙂

      I’m taking lotssss of pictures, don’t you worry (especially of the HP studio tour in London!).

      of course you’re jealous. It’s going to be awesome 🙂

      Yep, I feel zero guilt about all this online shopping…okay, maybe just a bit of guilt.

  13. HOW EVENTFUL WAS NOVEMBER, HUH? You’re a writing machine–1st round of HSC assessments AND NANO??? I’m bowing down to you. And school spec looked like so much fun! Assignments…not so much. HAVE FUN WITH THE MAJOR WORK THOUGH! And ENJOY THE UK!

  14. Congratulations on completing Nano and all those assessments and completing all your goals – you got a lot done! ENJOY ENGLAND! I used to live there but now I’m back in South Africa (where I was born), I must say, I prefer the warmer weather! Also, 46 degrees?? That’s CRAZY! It was once 48 here, ONCE, practically the hottest day ever and GAH, wayyy too hot!

  15. I’ve missed you, Em! November certainly was a busy month for you – Nano, Schools Spec and assignments galore? I don’t know I’d manage that. Hahaha, in actual fact, I do…I wouldn’t, that’s the thing. And you still read seven books?! Golly, you must be a Goddess, Em. I was busy, though not nearly as busy as you, and I only managed to read three. Three! It’s pitiful, I know. Urgh, we’ve yet to reach a day over 35 down here, but I AM DREADING IT. Good luck on completing all of your November goals. 😀 I’ll probably say this closer to your actual departure, BUT ENJOY THE UK, EM. So lucky. 🙂 I can’t wait to visit one day.

    • I MISSED EVERYONE TOO. I’ve barely been on the interwebs. It’s been a crazy month 😛 Three books is what most people read in a year, so I’d say you’re doing pretty well 🙂 Over 35 days just all seem the same to me – gross. Haha. Hey, I’m happy to take well wishes any time 🙂

  16. Wow, you have been busy! And very productive by the sounds of things. Very cool that you were in the Schools Spectacular. And how you did NaNo and all your assignments and still managed to read and review is beyond me. You are amazing. Enjoy England 🙂

  17. Happy Holidays! Whereabouts in England are you travelling to? And ooh the dance must have been exhilarating! AND CONGRATS ON WINNING NANOWRIMO! You deserve a pat on the back and a lifetime supply of chocolate (or whatever foods you deem scrumptious) because, girl, YOU DID IT! 😀

Leave a Reply

