Top Ten New-To-Me Authors in 2014

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

So I’ve read a FEW books this year.

And by “a few” I mean (so far) 149.

And a lot of those are new authors to me. So coming up with just TEN is going to be difficult. But I like a challenge.

1) Claire Zorn

the protected the sky so heavy

Both books were five stars for me – a contemporary and a dystopian, but both absolutely INCREDIBLE and funny and heart-breaking and…just awesome, okay?

2) Gabrielle Tozer

the intern for blog faking it

Not only are both of these books amazing (AND THEY ARE), but Gabby herself is so lovely. Also she tweets great things. You need these books in your life.

3) Sarah J. Maas

throne of glass crown of midnight heir of fire the assassin's blade

Whoever convinced me to read Crown of Midnight after not liking Throne of Glass that much…you deserve a medal. Imagine what I would have missed out on!! Crown of Midnight and The Assassin’s Blade were my favourites out of the four, despite heart-breaking-ness (or maybe because of).

4) Amy Zhang

falling into place

I’d seen Amy around the Twitter-sphere and the teen-writing-sphere, but I’d never actually read anything by her. Imagine my delighted surprise when this turned out to be my equal-favourite book of the year.

5) Benjamin Alire Saenz

aristotle and dante

AND HEY LOOK, the other favourite book of the year!! See all those stickers on it? That’s because it’s amazing and it wins ALL the awards.

6) Abigail Haas

dangerous girlsdangerous boys

I don’t know what’s going on inside Haas’s head, but it makes awesome stories, that’s for sure. Dangerous Girls blew my mind, and while I didn’t like Dangerous Boys AS much, it was still as darkly thrilling as the first.

7) Laurie Halse Anderson

the impossible knife of memory speak wintergirls

Laurie Halse Anderson really IS an incredible writer, and I regret not discovering her sooner. All of these three books are amazing – sad, but so worth it.

8) Kasie West

the distance between us on the fence pivot point

I still haven’t read Split Second…hm.

But anyway, Kasie West is one of the Queens of Contemporary – both The Distance Between Us and On the Fence are filled with delightful characters, cute romances and hilarity.

9) Huntley Fitzpatrick

my life next dooooor

I NEED WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE. This one was so good, and DIFFERENT to what I thought it’d be like – it had a lot more layers than I was expecting – always a good thing.

10) A. G. Howard

splintered unhinged book

As if you haven’t heard about these enough. I’ve only got six words for you: Alice in Wonderland creepy retellings. Read them.

Hang on, that’s seven words.

11) Rachael Craw

spark

CAM00561This is a BRILLIANT YA sci-fi, and Stray comes out next July, so be a hipster and read it now.

Plus, Rachael Craw, the author? Amazing. We’ve had lots of excellent Twitter convos. Plus she sent me this awesome poster.

12) Marissa Meyer

cinder scarlet cress

Okay, fine, that’s number 12, not 10, but I HAD to include Marissa Meyer! These retellings are so different to the usual and I cannot WAIT for the next installments.

 

Your turn! Who was your FAVOURITE new-to-you author this year?? And yes, only one. I’m that mean.

32 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors in 2014

  1. Gah, I have no idea how I’m going to do this list. Out of the 200 books I’ve read like, MOST of them are completely new to me authors. HOW DO I PICK?! *frets quietly in the corner* OH. I think I read Cinder last year? And I think I read A.G. Howard last year too, omg, I am so thankful for goodreads and my shelves or else I’d be a mess. >_< I have no memory. (I'm Gandalf with that quote "I have no memory of this place." I totally am.)
    *ahem*
    I want to read more Laurie Halse Anderson! I read The Impossible Knife of Memory this year (right in Jan so feels like forever ago, lol) and I sooo want to read more from her! She's AMAZING.

    • I know, it was impossible!! I read a lot of standalones so it was VERY DIFFICULT. Well, at least you don’t have to count Marissa Meyer and A G Howard. And yeah, I also would be lost without Goodreads 😛

      Speak and Wintergirls are SO GOOD. READ ZEM.

  2. Yay, Sarah J. Maas! I’ll have to read Falling into Place, sometime… YES, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe was AMAZING!!! A.G. Howard- I love her work. MARISSA MEYER!!! So excited for Fairest! (Wow, that’s a lot of exclamation points.)

  3. My favorite would probably be Marissa Meyer but I haven’t gotten around to reading the Throne of Glass series (or else I’m pretty sure it would be Sarah J Maas).

  4. I have a few of these authors on my list as well this week. I’m so glad to have come across Rachael Craw and Amy Zhang’s novels especially which have put them right at the top of my list when it comes to reading whatever else they write. I’m definitely going to get to Ari and Dante in the holidays, I’ve heard all the good things about it! Thanks for sharing Emily 🙂

  5. Claire Zorn and Gabrielle Tozer are definitely two authors I really have to get to sooner rather than later! 😀 And Spark, I have no idea why I haven’t read that one yet…definitely gotta get to it before Stray is released. Amy Zhang and Benjamin Alire Saenz are FANTASTIC. I really want to read more from them. Kasie West, Huntley Fitzpatrick and A. G. Howard are all wonderful as well, and I discovered them all in 2014 also. I absolutely adored Wintergirls, and it saddens me that I haven’t read anything more from Laurie Halse Anderson yet…NEXT YEAR, I SWEAR. I still haven’t got around to Crown of Midnight, but seeing as though we had similar feelings towards Throne of Glass, I’m really hoping CoM makes me fall in love with the series. I also really need to read Dangerous Girls…I own a copy and everything. Why I haven’t read it yet is beyond me. And Marissa Meyer! I really enjoyed her writing. I read the first 160ish pages of Cinder earlier this year and wasn’t too impressed – my expectations were too high. However, I just finished it off on Sunday, and it was definitely a fun read – I’m looking forward to reading Scarlet soon. Thanks for sharing, lovely. 🙂

    • YOU REALLY SHOULD EBS. Especially since they’re Aussie!!! Ugh, why do some of these authors have only one book out?? It’s infuriating! But yesss you should read Crown of Midnight. *whispers* Join usssss.

      Yay! Glad you liked Cinder the second time around. That’s what happened with me and Perks. Funny how that happens…

  6. I adore Kasie West and Huntley Fitzpatrick, I found myself wishing I’d read their books this year instead of last year so I could include them on my list! I have Falling into Place and Aristotle & Dante sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read – so many books, so little time!

  7. I think my favorite author that I discovered this year was Harper Lee. To Kill a Mockingbird was an amazing book, and one that I think I would never get sick of rereading. Too bad she didn’t write any more books :(. I also really liked Marissa Meyer’s books because her retellings are so unique. I had never heard of any other sci-fi fairytale retellings before, so it was really cool to read her books, and I can’t wait for Winter and Fairest now. I would like to read more of Laurie Halse Anderson’s books. I’ve read Fever 1793, and that was really good, so I’m sure her other books will be just as great.

  8. I am so with you on the ToG thing! I have Lily to thank for convincing me to carry on with the series, even though I didn’t think Throne of Glass was that good. MAN, CROWN OF MIDNIGHT JUST KILLED ME. I can’t believe there’s a possibility I could’ve missed out on it all. And Assassin’s Blade and Heir of Fire . . . oh, dude. The feels

  9. UM EXCUSE ME, HOW DO I PICK ONE. YOU’RE EVIL. TRULY.

    I pick……..RAASCH BECAUSE…she’s all I can think of right now and I preach Snow Like Ashes soo….ACTUALLY NO, I pick A.G. Howard because how deliciously twisted is Splintered? YUM. I NEED MORE MORPHEUS.

    And I actually need to read Falling into Place because you love it so much ❤

  10. So um…. we only have Marissa Meyer in common… buttttt…. I have been dying to read A.G. Howard and Sarah J. Maas for a long time now, just haven’t gotten around to it. But this shall happen soon. Why am I making promises I’m not sure I can keep? 🙂
    Hehe locing your list. Going to check out the ones I haven’t seen before.

  11. Okay um this is going to be reallllly weird, but this year I practically re-discovered Shakespeare after having reads Macbeth in year 10 and thinking it was ho hum. But I read a lot more of his works this year and I have to say I love them! So this year, although I have heard of Shakespeare and of his works, I finally managed to read some myself and have loved them!!! …although, you’d think I’d have read Romeo and Juliet by now, but alas! No. Whoops! I think I’d better get around to that! XD
    And as for authors who are actually alive, I’d have to say Kylie Fornasier who wrote Masquerade! I LOVED IT SO MUCH!!!
    All those authors in this post, I am ashamed to say I am yet to read….

  12. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves + Past and Future Book Week | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

