Continuing past and future book week with All Our Yesterdays

past and future book week

all our yesterdays

 

Author: Cristin Terrill

Genre: sci-fi…also there’s lots of time travel

Length: 360 pages

Source: borrowed it from the library

Blurb:

What would you change?

Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend, James, since they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it… at least, not as the girl she once was. Em and Marina are in a race against time that only one of them can win.

Yep, so, this one’s about time travel.

It’s about all our yesterdays. Which is in the PAST. And there’s stuff about the FUTURE. GET IT?

Past and future book week???

I’ll stop now.

So time travel.

It gives me perfect opportunity to put Doctor Who gifs in here.

But let’s actually talk about the book.

I didn’t like it as much as I wanted to.

Everyone RAVED about this book. Goodreads is filled with five-star reviews. So I expected…I don’t know, the perfect book or something. Part of the reason I didn’t enjoy it more might be because it was a long week, and I was really tired, and just taking out my boredom on poor All Our Yesterdays.

And it started off so well! It was intriguing, and the time travel aspect was done really well, and I liked that there were two viewpoints.

But then…it got a bit dull.

Nothing much was really HAPPENING. We got a lot of back-story from Marina (who is like Em but in the past) and the two stories didn’t match up at all. And even though it was necessary back-story, I just wanted to get to the real stuff.

I honestly wanted more from the time travel aspect. More timey-wimey stuff. And though I did like how it worked (and the explanation for it) I just…I don’t even know. I felt like there was something missing.

Plus, I didn’t really connect to any of the characters. I didn’t quite understand why a certain person went bad. And apparently we weren’t supposed to know immediately that Em and Marina are the same person? Because it’s pretty obvious.

And there was so much back and forth! This whole thing could have been resolved so much more easily, and I’m sure there were other ways to do it.

Basically, I think it was because of the two separate storylines that I wasn’t invested in either.

Well, no, not really, because you were here a second ago and now it’s switched and I DON’T KNOW WHAT’S GOING ON.

But anyway. The good things about this novel are that it’s fast-paced, it has cool time travel stuff, and it’s kind of like a movie in book form.

I just wish I could have enjoyed it more!

Rating: 3/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

Any other time travel books you would recommend? I like the wibbly wobbly, timey wimey stuff.

19 thoughts on “Continuing past and future book week with All Our Yesterdays

  1. I’m about halfway through reading this book right now, and I can definitely see where you’re coming from. While it’s going well, I think my high expectations after all the hype aren’t 100% being met. There are still a lot of explanations to come, and I’m hoping that the second half picks up a bit. That being said, the time travel aspect is still a pretty interesting concept. Thanks for sharing an honest review Emily 🙂

  2. I think you’re the first review I’ve read who didn’t adore this book. 😉 NO SHAME. Not every book is for everyone. I cannot even find this book!! My library doesn’t have it and I never see it in bookstores. Wah. So it’s not really high on my wish-list but I do kind of want to read it. Time travel scares me. I always get confused. >.>
    THAT MOISTURIZE GIF THOUGH. See this is why I need to consider my life choices and maybe watch Doctor Who. xD

  3. I haven’t read this book because it looked kind of bad. Like I have a hunch or something, I dunno. But yeah, I’m not a fan of multiple point of views (particularly when they don’t work) so it basically looked like a this-is-not-a-Caitlin-book to me. I mean it did SOUND interesting. Ugh I don’t even know what I’m saying anymore hahaha

  4. Ah, a shame it sounds like you were disappointed with the lack of time travel in this one! May I recommend Trial by Fire then? I thought that one was amazing with the time travel or alternate realities, I can’t remember which. Anyway, I did like the two storylines though. Great review Emily!

  5. Personally I loved this one but it really did have a whole lotta issues. I knew about the plot twist going in, when some idiot on my Goodreads friends list at the time spoiled it during a status update. She was removed immediately. (psst, I don’t think you’re supposed to mention that) 😀 I found it hard to connect to the characters as well, but the storyline was enough to keep me interested. This would be brilliant as a movie, as it was hard to imagine the jumping and traveling at times.
    So sorry you couldn’t have enjoyed this one more Em, but brilliant review ❤

  6. Oh bummer, this was one of my most beloved books for last year. It’s very character driven I’d say, so it’s probably not a book for everyone. I think the best aspect of it is the way time travel was explained. I actually got it, and it MADE SENSE. This doesn’t happen often (I tend to pick apart these concepts a lot). I wish the sequel actually went ahead but oh well. 😦 I hope you next read is better Ems xx

  7. It’s funny you mentioned the movie-in-a-book-form thing, because I think it would make such a good film. It’s a shame you didn’t like this one as much as you thought you would though. 😦 Personally, I looooooooved it. But then again I love anything to do with time-travel awesomeness. If I’m being honest though, I don’t think I’ll pick up the sequel. I thought it ended so well! (That I remember — I think I read this last year or something.) So what’s the point of a sequel?? I hate it when books have unnecessary sequels. xD But YAY for Doctor Who gifs!!!

  8. AW NO, YOU DIDN’T LIKE IT??? That’s alright Em, I STILL LOVE YOU ❤

    I can totally see how disconnection could stop you from giving a book all the stars. I'm like that as well. It sucks when I can't invest in a story 😦 I'm glad this one didn't get the sequel though. It just wouldn't have worked…

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves + Past and Future Book Week | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

