2015 Fairytales and Retellings I’m Eagerly Awaiting

past and future book week

This week is Past and Future Book Week on the blog – we’ve had Loony Blurbs based on 2015 releases, favourite new authors from this year, a review of All Our Yesterdays (clever me) and a list of contemporaries I’m awaiting next year.

So now it’s all about the retellings. There are SO MANY coming next year.

I can’t wait. And again, you can find them all on my 2015 release shelf on Goodreads.

Ensnared by A. G. Howard

ensnaredWhat’s it about?

Do I…do I even need to tell you? It’s a dark Alice in Wonderland retelling, fantastically creepy.

Although Jeb better not win.

 

 

Winter and Fairest by Marissa Meyer

fairestWhat are they about?

Fairest is from Queen Levana’s point of view (should be interesting) and Winter is from Winter’s point of view. Duh. That’s a Snow White retelling, by the way. This series is so imaginative, and you don’t see sci-fi retellings all that often.

 

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

a court of thorns and rosesWhat’s it about?

I’ve mentioned this one a million times already, but it’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling. I think it might be NA, as well?

But it’s Sarah J. Maas so obviously it’s going to be amazing.

 

 

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

the darkest part of the forestWhat’s it about?

All you need to know is that it’s a creepy fairytale. Human and fae live side by side, and you just know stuff is going to happen.

 

 

 

 

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

the wicked will riseWhat’s it about?

This is the sequel to Dorothy Must Die, which I REALLY enjoyed. It’s a macabre version of The Wizard of Oz – lots of blood and gore and hilarity. Hopefully not all at once.

 

 

Valiant by Sarah McGuire

valiantWhat’s it about?

This is a re-imagining of The Brave Little Tailor, which I’ve never read, but it sounds AWESOME. It’s about a tailor girl who pretends to be a boy, and it’s about giants, and…it just sounds so cool, okay?

Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell

mechanica 2What’s it about?

Do you even need to know with that beautiful cover? Yes. Fine. It’s a Cinderella retelling, except she’s an inventor (HOW COOL IS THAT?). She’s trying to find a way to get out, and there’s a ball coming, and…oh my gosh I’m in love already.

 

 

 

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

What’s it about?a wicked thing 2

This one’s a Sleeping Beauty retelling. It’s about what happens after she wakes up from her hundred-year sleep – because let’s face it, we ALL want to know what happens!!

 

 

 

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

crimson boundWhat’s it about?

Okay, so this doesn’t follow on from Cruel Beauty, which I still haven’t read. It’s a standalone, and a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. She’s supposed to be protecting her village from dark magic like a good girl, but then she makes a really bad decision that binds her to the magic.

It’s okay, Rachelle. We all make mistakes.

 

Did I miss any awesome retellings coming out next year?

35 thoughts on “2015 Fairytales and Retellings I’m Eagerly Awaiting

  1. I can’t think of any books that you missed, but I am sooo excited for Winter and A Court of Thorns and Roses. And Fairest?! I didn’t even know this was a thing… I’m so disappointed in myself! Thanks for letting me know, and as usual, great post!

  2. Woah. I didn’t know that A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, but that makes me want to read it even more!

  3. I DON’T KNOW. I thought there were more fairytale retellings but the ones you’ve mentioned are the only ones I can think of as well. Hmm. Oh well! I’m excited for pretty much all of them!

  4. OH I HADN’T HEARD OF 2 OF THESE. I’ve added Mechanica and Valiant because goodness knows yes I’m infatuated with fairy-tale retellings. Or basically just: retellings. Cinderella as an inventor sounds an awful lot like Cinder-the-mechanic BUT I STILL WANT TO READ IT.

  5. I’m going to have to try again with A Wicked Thing because I was a little bored at first…SOON. AND UM YES. MORPHEUS. If it’s Jeb, I’m going to be one bitter plum on my birthday. BLEuGH (sorry I haven’t had much sleep :P)

  6. Love the cinderalla retelling! Whoop, whoop, girl power XD
    but hey, what an interesting spin – SHE’S A MECHANIC, how cool is that!

  7. ummm.. i… i thought this was a post about books you’re super excited for 2015 and i was going to comment, “that’s a lot of retellings!!”.

    until i realized the post title. OH. HAHA *slaps forehead*

    OMG your passion for the Splintered series is rubbing off on me!!!! i am desperate to find out what is this morpheus goodness everyone is talking about. crazy excited for ACoTaR (or anything Sarah J. Maas writes) and Crimson Bound! i think feelings for Cruel Beauty tend to fall to 2 extremes and i am proud to have LOOOOOVED it a lot so. hope you enjoy and have a great 2015!!!!!!!!!!!! =D

    alicia @ noverly things

  8. Ensnared! *drools* I need that book so bad! The wait is ALMOST over. Until then, let’s just eat cake and sip tea (fall asleep and repeat the process -oh and read!).I need more Morpheus… I need Alyssa to pick him, I don’t know what I’ll do if she picks Jeb. It’s just GAH! *moving on* I can’t wait for A Court of Thorns and Roses either, I mean, Sarah J. Maas wrote it, so it must be awesome with a little pretty bow on top. She’s the creator of my all-time favourite fantasy series, so it must be awesome! I have Dorothy Must Die at home (a pretty hardback copy) but I haven’t read it yet. I seriously need to change that soon…
    Great post and great picks (I am checking those other books you mentioned out… opens Goodreads)

    • I KNOW, RIGHT?? I need Morpheus. Jeb is just…ugh. I might read the first two books again…

      YES. ACOTAR. She’s brilliant. Weird that it’s mid-series, but hey, I guess she writes what she wants. Oooh definitely read Dorothy. It’s excellent.

      Haha! Your Goodreads definitely needs a workout if you don’t have all of these πŸ™‚

  9. ENSNARED! ENSNARED! I can’t… I just can’t. I can see what’s going to happen and I’ll have to hunt Ms Howard down. The Wicked Will Rise, I was so excited about, but after that stalker author and her support for Ms Hale, it’s killing me. I’m really torn. I just can’t see how anyone could see that what she did was fine.

    I’ll still purchase it anyway, but wait until it comes down in price so I feel better about supporting her.
    I’m a naff.

  10. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves + Past and Future Book Week | The Loony Teen Writer

  11. Oh my gosh there are so many great fairytale retellings coming out next year! How will my wallet handle it? I am so so excited for a Court of Thorns and Roses, I love Sarah J. Maas. And who could resist Mechanica with a cover like that? Hopefully it will be as good as it looks. And after reading Cruel Beauty I just have to read Crimson Bound. You should read Cruel Beauty ASAP it is so good.

  12. I’m really looking forward to reading Crimson Bound, The Wicked will Rise and The Darkest Part of the Forest! πŸ˜€ Oh, and A Court of Thorns and Roses. πŸ™‚ I’m sure I’ll be very excited for Ensnared, if I ever get around to reading Unhinged, hmm…and Valiant looks so cute! Definitely going to have to check that one out. I’ve only not long ago read Cinder, but I’m sure I’ll be looking forward to Winter (and possibly Fairest) when I’ve read Scarlet and Cress….Oh, and A Wicked Thing…I don’t know why, but I just feel as though I wouldn’t enjoy that one much at all…hopefully you are able to read it and give it a fantastic review to convince me otherwise. πŸ™‚ I haven’t heard of Mechanica before, but I LOVE that cover! So beautiful! Checking that out right now…though it does sound a bit Cinder-esque.

    Thanks for sharing, lovely. ❀ πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Sharing Saturday 04. - Educating Elsa

Leave a Reply

