Creepy and crimey books to look out for in 2015

past and future book week

I suspect you’re sick of me talking about all the books I’m looking forward to in 2015. BECAUSE THERE ARE LOTS.

But I have…a few lists to go. I like lists, okay! Sue me.

And these ones are suspense/thriller/crime/creepy/all that jazz. It’s going to be great.

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

the conspiracy of usAncient puzzles. A deadly race across Europe. Code-breaking. A trail of clues.

A YA version of The Da Vinci Code.

Um. I need this now.

 

Expected release: January

 

Every Move by Ellie Marney

every moveMark your calendars, people. The long-awaited finale to the Every series by Ellie Marney is finishing up in March.

If you’ve no idea what it is, I’ll give you some keywords:

YA Sherlock. Except that Watson is a girl and the “Sherlock” is a hot boy, and he’s actually Mycroft.

It’s awesome.

Releasing in March

 

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy

the creepingSo this one time, Jeanie and Stella were picking strawberries, and then, OH CRAP, Jeanie disappears and Stella comes out alive. Then a corpse washes up in a cemetery after a mudslide, and Stella begins to remember what happened. And there’s something about red-haired girls…

Sounds DELICIOUSLY creepy. I hate horror movies but books I’m cool with.

As long as the lights stay on.

Expected release: August 2015

 

Lock and Mori by Heather Petty

No cover for this one yet, but it’s another Sherlockian tale.

See? SherLOCK and MORIarty. How cool is that?? I didn’t even realise at first. But yeah. Female Moriarty is awesome. Plus this is set in London. I seriously need this book.

https://i1.wp.com/38.media.tumblr.com/14fbfc22c404d57c566bbb75e9720cd1/tumblr_n5mlf1dpep1t2actoo1_500.gif

Pssssst see what I did there?

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

minnow blyTHIS IS BASED ON A GRIMM’S BROTHERS STORY CALLED “THE HANDLESS MAIDEN.” It may be morbid, but I AM SO EXCITED.

Also I think it includes cults, which is pretty cool.

 

 

Expected release: June

 

Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt

hold me like a breathFirst of all can we talk about the beautiful cover??

So anyway Penelope’s part of a crime family who deals in black market organ transplants. Cool.

And apparently it’s loosely based on Princess and the Pea?? And since the series is “Once Upon a Crime Family,” the rest of the books will be like that too?? LIKE FAIRYTALES.

Oh god I’m pumped.

Expected release: May.

Pretending to be Erica by Michelle Painchaud

pretending to be ericaMore crime! Violet’s supposed to become Erica, some heiress kid who disappeared and was never seen again (although I expect a reappearance may happen – awkward!).

And she has to steal a painting or something.

I’m in.

 

Expected release: July

All Fall Down by Ally Carter

all fall downAn international conspiracy, trying to figure out her mum’s death, saving the world, granddaughter of one of the most powerful ambassadors in the world.

Sounds EXCELLENT.

 

 

Expected release: January

 

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

vanishing girlsThis is about two sisters Dara and Nick, which immediately makes me want to read it (I love sister stories).

They’re altered by this, like, terrible accident, though. Then Dara vanishes again, and some other girl vanishes, and Nick has to go find Dara.

Yes please!

Expected release: March

 

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

liars incSo what starts up as a simple business to sell cover stories to school students, but then some guy Preston gets killed as a result of one of the cover stories. And the clues lead to Max. Except he didn’t do it (well, presumably…unless they’re pulling an unreliable narrator on us).

 

Expected release: March

 

Inherit Midnight by Kate Kae Myers

inherit midnight 2This is another Da Vinci Code-ish one. Crossed with the 39 Clues series.

There are puzzles and more travel, which all sounds very excellent.

I’m a bit worried at some of the early reviews, though…anyway, we’ll see.

 

Expected release: February

 

I think I’ve become a bit addicted to the darker, creepy crimey books…any I’m missing that you’re excited for in 2015?

26 thoughts on “Creepy and crimey books to look out for in 2015

  1. So much crime! Out of those, Lock and Mori (squee it sounds so awesome), The Creeping, and The Conspiracy of Us, sound like books I would enjoy. Time to add them to my 2015 wishlist. xD

    Psst, I nominated you for the Sisterhood Award. :3

  2. I am so very proud of you and all these creepy horror-ish titles. GO EMILY. *adds them all to-read* My TBR is going to fall and kill me soon but hey I kind of just really need to read ALL OF THESE RIGHT NOW. LOCK AND MORI. OMG!!! I AM FLAILING OUT OF MY BRAINS!!!

  3. All Fall Down sounds interesting, but why do I prefer your loony blurb version? πŸ˜›

    Hehe, oh no, I love lists as well! AND BOOKS. WHO DOESN’T LOVE BOOKS AND NEW ONES? THESE POSTS MUST RULE OVER ALL OTHER POSTS, AND THE NUMBER OF THEM NEED TO CONTINUE TO GROW. πŸ˜€

  4. *Enters into ultimate fangirl mode*
    YESSSS!! These are my kind of books. I’m especially looking forward to The Conspiracy of Us and Hold Me Like A Breath. I wants them allllllllllll!

  5. I love a good crime/thriller novel, and the ones on this list look amazing! The Conspiracy of Us and The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly both look especially good. I’ve been reading a couple of Grimm-brothers-fairytale-themed books recently, so I’m curious to see how the latter works out. Thanks for sharing Emily πŸ™‚

  6. Jess at My Reading Dress had something similar a few weeks and thank goodness for the both of you, I’m too lazy to check what’s coming out and when. I’m super excited for Hold Me Like A Breath. Ridiculous title, but crime family, black market? Oh I’ve got my bells on already. We need more mafia books, not ones with paranormal plot twists, I mean Godfather for teens.

    Ooh, what genre are you featuring next week?
    Thanks for sharing Em ❀

    • Yes, I loved her post! Although mine is OBVIOUSLY better πŸ˜› haha I’ve been searching through Jess’s lists among many others. Yeah, it’s an awkward title but the CONTENT sounds amazing. Although I’ve never seen Godfather…oops.

      I think I’m doing fantasy next week…and maybe some other leftovers. We’ll see πŸ™‚

  7. Um, excuse me? Can I please have all of these books…like yesterday? Oh god, I can already foresee myself as being completely broke next year! Thank you for helping me realise that πŸ˜›

  8. Out of these, which I’m all looking forward to devouring, I’m particularly excited for Every Move. But at the same time I’m going to be so sad that it’s over, you know? And that cover for The Conspiracy of Us IS SO AMAZING. There are soo many amazing-looking titles coming out next year. πŸ™‚

  9. YES TO ALL. NO COMMENT BECAUSE I WANT THEM ALL. ALL. DUDE THIS IS WHERE I THRIVE. IF SOMEONE DOESn’T GIVE ME CONSPIRACY NOW, SHIT IS GOING DOWN (obviously I should stop commenting in my half-delirious states, sorry!) I was going to smash all this into one post but lol, you’ve got it down pat x

  10. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves + Past and Future Book Week | The Loony Teen Writer

  11. OH WOW!!! okay you know what? I wasn’t a big fan on creepy mystery ish stories but then it was Halloween and people recommended me some and then I read The Raven Cycle and…..OMG I NEED CREEPY MYSTERY CRIMEY BOOKS!!!!! NOW I AM SO EXCITED FOR 2015!!!!!

  12. EVERY MOVE EVERY MOVE EVERY MOVE EVERY MOVE I NEED, OKAY?! OKAY.

    ALSO. The Conspiracy of Us, All Fall Down and Liars, Inc. are all on my TBR…oh, and The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly. The others probably will be, after I dash on over to Goodreads after finishing this comment off…I CRAVE ANYTHING SHERLOCK. Seriously. I’ve loved everything Sherlock ever since I read the original stories…adaptations can go so WRONG yet so RIGHT though, so it’s a pretty touchy subject…I didn’t like Elementary with a female Watson. Just no. I couldn’t do that one, unfortunately. I ship Sherlock and Watson too much for Watson to be female. Obviously Ellie Marney’s Sherlock-inspired trilogy just WORKS with a female Watson, but no…I couldn’t handle Elementary…gosh, now I’m just babbling. The point that I’m trying to get at is – YES TO ANOTHER SHERLOCK MODERNISATION. A female Moriarty. This could be very good. I hope it is. I hate being disappointed.

Leave a Reply

