Top Ten Aussie Books I Read in 2014

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

This week’s prompt is supposed to be the top ten books I read in 2014, but…pffff. As if that was going to happen. I can’t choose! But there’s a slightly smaller pool of Aussie authors that I read this year.

Hasn’t made it much easier, mind you. Aussie authors are crazy talented, if I do say so myself.

these broken stars cinnamon girl the protected

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

The first book I read this year, and it was BRILLIANT.

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil

An apocalypse, a great main character and awesome relating cast. Plus, awesome cover. What more do you want, people?

The Protected by Claire Zorn

One of my new favourite authors. Both this and The Sky So Heavy blew me away.

spark the intern for blog fairytales for wilde girlslooking for alibrandi every word proper

Spark by Rachael Craw

Rachael Craw’s actually a Kiwi (from New Zealand, if you don’t know the lingo), but we love her anyway.

The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Ha! As if you would have got a list without this book.

Fairytales for Wilde Girls by Allyse Near

It’s dark, it’s creepy, it’s brilliant. It’s got weird fairytales. Awesome characters. You seriously need to read it…like, right now.

Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

I can reclaim my Aussie status now – I’ve finally read a Melina Marchetta book!

Every Word by Ellie Marney

Teen sleuths solving crimes. It’s awesome.

the minnow disruption cover the cinderella moment

The Minnow by Diana Sweeney

This book was so unique, and different, and heartbreaking, and I’m STILL not sure what happened at the end, but I do know I loved it.

Disruption by Jessica Shirvington

BECAUSE MAGGIE STEVENS.

The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester

This book surprised me with how much I loved it. I didn’t expect to! It was just so light and lovely and happy and…I just really enjoyed it.

So, people, get to work – you have some awesome books to read.

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Aussie Books I Read in 2014

  1. These Broken Stars and Spark look so good, but I’m worried by the pretty covers. And price. But mainly pretty covers, damn you pretty cover, damn you! Such a wonderful list though, makes me want to look out for more none-american authors, so thank you Emily! 🙂

  2. I know! The CInderella Moment took me by surprised with how much I loved it…and then even a year later after I’ve read it I can still remember vivid details from it like…HOW? *applauds Jen Kloester*
    And then there are my personal favourites. 😀 Jessica Shirvington and Melina Marchetta…. 😀

  3. I REAAALLLY need to read The Minnow. And The Protected. And The Cinderella Moment. This list just goes to show how much talent Australian authors have (either from here or that we’ve adopted like the amazing Rachael Craw).

  4. I feel like I’m missing out on a lot because WE SHARE NO BOOKS. Maybe These Broken Stars will end my year on a high when I get to it. If I get to it. No. I MUST read it. But it looks like you’ve read some wonderful books yourself.

  5. I agree it was tooooo hard this week. *cries because had 26 books to narrow down from* I totally cheated a bit in mine. AHEM. But YAY! I love your list! And I’ve read 7 of them and I’m going to read Wilde Girls EVENTUALLY. Gah. My TBR is a bit out of control and my mind has kind of gone on holidays and I don’t feel like reading. >.> I KNOW, RIGHT?! What is this craziness. Christmas makes me strange. *ahem* I just want to watch Marvel movies and draw. BUT I WILL CATCH UP! I want to read Melissa Keil’s book quite badly too!!

  6. Oh yussss I love the aussie pride that’s going on here. Aussie books SLAYYYYY. I pretty much agree with all these books here. Disruption was soooo good! I will never get enough of that ship. Gah I still need to read The intern! I was gonna start it the other day but I didn’t really feel like it so I put it back down. Definitely in the mood now! I shall have to read it sometime this holidays.

    Nice list, Em! <33

  7. Awesome, awesome, awesome list.

    I’ve actually read quite a few things from here, actually! And the ones I haven’t I either have sitting on my shelf, or plan to read next year sometime. (Which, when you think about it, isn’t far away AT ALL.) The Minnow looks fantastic, too; I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of that.

  8. YOU MAKE ME CRAZY ASHAMED. Did you know that I only read two Australian books this year? And they were written by the same author (Marney!) I’m so ashamed BUT YOU LOVE THESE ALL I MUST read some Shirvington, especially now that it’s complete!

  9. THESE BROKEN STARS YAY! Loved this story. ❤ I've read Melissa Keil's Life in Outer Space and it wasn't my thing, but I want to give this one a shot and hopefully I'll like it more. I also really want to read Spark! And of course Marney's books since I've heard nothing but awesome things. I also enjoyed One Past Midnight, so hopefully I'll love Disruption. 😀

    Awesome post, Emily!!

  10. All of these books look amazing. I’ve read a couple of them (Sadly I don’t think I’ve read 10 NZ or Indian authors this year. I have got to try harder) I saw This Shattered World on the (digital) library, so that can be my reading when I’ve finished all the rest of the books

  11. YAAAAS. EVERY BREATH AND THESE BROKEN STARS. ❤ And Melina Marchetta is fantastic! 😀 I literally have to read all of the books on this list.

  12. Perfect post for me considering I want to devour all the Oz YA next year! Great recs and I’m so glad to see some of the books I’ve loved on here 🙂 And I’m so, so happy you’ve now read a MM book! She’s my favourite. Must start the Every series soon! Like, ASAP.

  13. Hehe I love how our Aussies are inclusive of Rachael Craw because Spark definitely needs to be recognised as awesome! I LOVED The Protected and thought it was fantastic, can’t wait to read the Sky So Heavy! These Broken Stars and The Minnow and the Corrupted were all awesome too. Great list Emily!

  14. I only read two from this pile – These Broken Stars and Disruption – but they were awesome, awesome, awesome books. You guys have a lot of neat writers over there! They should be highlighted more often because holy cow, if those two are only samples of what Aussie writers are capable of, I want to see how much other glories I can taste with the others!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  15. Pingback: A Pre-Christmas Book Haul And School Holidays | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

