Top Ten 2015 Resolutions

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

I’m a big fan of setting goals.

I like lists and organisation and knowing where I’m going. So this is going to be a mix of different goals, writing and blogging and reading.

Reading

1) Read 100 books.

Who needs school when you’ve got books? I’ve read more than 150 books this year, so hopefully I can get to 100 next year.

2) Read 20 books by Australian authors.

That includes New Zealand authors, by the way. Like we’ve kind of adopted Rachael Craw.

We’ve even got our own army going on.

3) Read at least 10 books of my own choosing.

Because I don’t want blogging to become a chore, and reading books that I choose will be a good way to deal with this.

Writing

4) Revise and start querying my YA contemporary novel, The Daisy List

Yeah, so this is terrifying. HOWEVER, since I am in England right now (not the Emily writing this blog post…she’s still in good old Oz) I’m hoping I can soak in all the Englishness and get The Daisy List ready. Because, you know, it’s set in England.

5) Participate in NaNoWriMo

I’ve done it for three years in a row now and I WILL NOT BREAK MY STREAK.

6) Stop writing new drafts and start revising the old ones, goddammit

Except I have a feeling this may be the result:

Still. I am determined.

Blogging

7) Stick to five blog posts a week

It may be more sometimes, it may be less sometimes (and you will know, because I’ll be panicking about school on Twitter, probably). But hopefully five will turn out to be a good number.

8) Look at some options for going self-hosted.

BECAUSE I REALLY WANT TO DO IT. But it won’t be until the end of 2015, maybe when my HSC is over…

9) Visit more people’s blogs.

I feel so bad sometimes, because the same names pop up in the comments and I never visit your blogs, and YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE. You’re awesome. I will try harder. Love you guys 5ever.

10) At least TRY and keep my review files updated.

*SOBS* At least I’m trying, Regina, gosh!

But…yeah, it probably won’t happen. I don’t even get around to posting my reviews on Goodreads, let alone updating all the reviews on my blog. *guilty face* Maybe 2015 will be a better year?

Anyway, those are my goals for 2015. What are yours?

30 thoughts on “Top Ten 2015 Resolutions

  1. THESE ARE GOOD GOALS FOR SURE. And I think Emily-In-England should definitely soak up all the Englishness and make The Daisy List even better and more wonderful although, tbh, I LIKE IT ALREADY. EEEP. ohh, but you’re doing HSC, aren’t you? That will be exhausting. 0.0
    I’m still trying to figure out 2015 goals! AHHHH. I thought it’d be easy, but honestly…my mind is blank. I really ought to stop writing drafts and start rewriting too. >.> But HA. As if that’s going to happen. There’s something insanely fun about first drafts. xD

  2. We have some of the same goals! I always forget to update the review index on my blog and going self hosted is a huge goal for me. 100 books is a lot, but I’m sure you can do it! Good luck with everything 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’ve got some great resolutions here Emily – hope you reach them 🙂 Next year is definitely going to be a busy one with the HSC happening, so it’s good that you’ve set a reasonable amount of posts/week to try and accomplish. Best wishes for working on The Daisy List, I’m sure it’ll turn out amazingly!

  4. My goals are basically your goals. I hope to read 100 books this year, but I’ll see about that. I’m going to try my hardest, but school takes up so much time. Hopefully I can really buckle down during the summer and get some good reading done. It also might be cool to review ARCs this year…

    As for writing, I hope to finish revising my three WIPs and start querying one of them, if my parents allow me to query. Hopefully I’ll accomplish number 6, but I have too many ideas for that.

    Blogging-wise, I’d love to be self-hosted, but I’m still debating it. I also want to visit more blogs and blog more consistently.

  5. That gif under 6 is exactly how I look every time I have to write an essay or even think of attempting to write a book. 😀 My goals are to stay on schedule at university, keep blogging regularlyish, and I maybe sort of have it in the back of my head to do NaNoWriMo as well next year BUT I SUCK AT THINGS THAT REQUIRE DISCIPLINE and also might I refer back to the gif I was just talking about.

    You definitely won’t regret going self-hosted! Your bank account might regret it, but not you. It’s so much fun to figure stuff out. Plus, if you come from wordpress.com the interface isn’t that different (iirc) but you have a lot more freedom. 🙂

  6. I totally need to read more Aussie authors as well! I never read enough even though there are so many that I want to read. Good luck with all your writing goals! I know you’ll do absolutely amazing. 😀 And going self-hosted woohoo! It’s literally the best thing ever. So much freedom and options. It was a little confusing at first but now, I will never look back. I need to visit more blogs as well but I never find the time. I know there are so many amazing bloggers out there! Best of luck with 2015. 😀

  7. It seems you have some great resolutions! I hope you’re able to check them all off next year.

    My goal is to read 200 books. I have no idea how I am going to achieve that but by some stroke of luck..maybe. Otherwise, I haven’t set up any goals because I fail to stick by them anyway. v_v I heard going self-hosted is a great experience, so hopefully you’ll be able to get that done too! Aaand, good luck on The Daisy List. I have a feeling it’s going to be absolutely fantastic. 😉

  8. I want to participate in Nano next year, too! I wanted to participate this year but SCHOOL. I aimed for 100 books this year and I reached it but I’m lowering next year’s goal to 50 as I have a lot of exams and I know I won’t be able to read much! >.<

    Good luck with your goals! 🙂

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

  9. I like the goal about reading more Australian authors. That’s cool. It reminds me of how many authors I read that are from different countries (and how many that are from the UK) – because I’d love to read books by authors from every and any background. Wow, you’ve participated in NaNoWriMo for three years running?! #yougogirl 😀
    NaNoWriMo is freaking cool (oh and good luck with The Daisy List! What’s it about?) especially since it forces you to get everything done pronto! 😀 Ah, if only there was more time – I’ve got exams this year too (they’re the big ones) so I’m internally panicking about managing allthingswordy and school at the same time – got any tips?
    Let’s hope that 2015 brings with it good memories, the best experiences, and of course…100 top-notch books. 😀

    • Well, then I get to talk to awesome Aussie writers on Twitter, which is always fun – and more likely that I’ll get to meet them in person.

      The Daisy List is about a girl whose mum has cancer, and the girl does her mum’s “daisy list” (like a bucket list). Oooooh I might make a post on time management actually…because it’s so hard!

      2015’s been pretty good so far, so I have high hopes 🙂

  10. I haven’t had the chance to say this before, but HAVE FUN IN ENGLAND. TIS IS AWESOME. 😀

    Erg, I really need to read Spark. I should just make that my 2015 goal; after all, I still haven’t figured out my goals yet. Ooh, querying! Have fun with that. I should probably hurry up and go rewrite. And that’s another goal- sort of.

    Anyway, good luck with your goals! 🙂

  11. These are all awesome goal and my favourite goal which I have made myself is to read some books of my own choosing – I think this would help with the balance of reading slumps and stuff! Spark is a fantastic book and I’m glad we’ve adopted her hehe. Good luck with the new year and happy new year! It would be awesome to see what’s in store for Loony Teen Writer, I’d love to see what you do with going self-hosted.

Leave a Reply

