England Update #1

So I guess you guys are curious about the shenanigans I’m getting up to, right?

England so far in a nutshell:

– Cold (right now it’s -1 outside…nice and toasty in here though)

– Adorably quaint. All the houses have that classic Old-English feel and everyone knows each other and everything looks old-fashioned in the best way possible.

– Frosty. No snow yet but I’ve slipped a few billion times on the icy footpaths.

The shenanigans:

We haven’t got up to anything TOO exciting yet, but it’s been excellent all the same. We went to the supermarket Tesco the other day, and IT. IS. MASSIVE. It’s two stories (or this one was) and it has about a million aisles.

We also went to the markets in St Ives.

Aaaaand here at my auntie and uncle’s house, we’ve had some delicious food and family company.

And a frosty/muddy/cold walk with a beautiful chocolate labrador, Benson.

You guys probably don’t care, do you?

Let’s go to the pictures.

THE PICTURES.

Β CAM00669 CAM00673 CAM00674

1) The fireplace where I’m staying. It’s lovely.

2) Some old-timey telephone booths

3) A Christmas Pudding jumper I saw. Didn’t buy it, though.

CAM00681 CAM00682 CAM00685

1) SO close to finding Sherlock

2) Old house

3) LOOK. FROST. And my shoes.

CAM00692 CAM00689

1) More frost!

2) The bridge at St Ives

So it’s been quite excellent so far.

I haven’t been to any bookshops but they are ON THE HORIZON.

And I’ll have more updates in probably a week or so. I’m going to be honest – it’s actually kind of nice to be away from the internet for a while (I mean, I miss it terribly, but I now have time to do other excellent things like, you know, leave the house!).

36 thoughts on “England Update #1

  1. Glad you’re enjoying yourself πŸ™‚ what book shops are you planning on going to? Waterstones tend to have a bigger range on offer but WH Smiths are sometimes cheaper so if you can it’s good to check out both.

  2. I am terribly disappointed that you didn’t buy the pudding shirt. COME ON. You’re missing out on looking like a fabulous pudding there! XD
    I understand about missing-but-not-missing the internet. Breaks are good, right?!
    Although…to be honest…every time you say ENGLAND I think DAISY LIST and keep expecting you to have photos of all the things in it. XD Okay, Cait, come baaaaack to reality. -_-
    So awesome you’re having a fabulous time!!
    But coldness. I would die.

  3. Sounds like you’re having a great time Emily – despite the cold! Over here at the moment it’s soo hot (but it’s Australia and summer so I that’s definitely expected). Those telephone booths look pretty cool, and hope you find some amazing bookshops soon! πŸ™‚

  4. Have a wonderful time! It sounds absolutely amazing, and it makes me miss England. That sounds a bit silly since I only spent a couple of weeks there when I was 10, but I miss it just the same. Isn’t it a fabulous country? Ooooh, pretty pictures! Do post more. (-:

  5. Sounds like a great trip so far — have fun in England! I’ve wanted to go to London since forever, so I’ll just have to vicariously go through your pictures πŸ˜‰

  6. I just took a week long Internet hiatus, too, and I agree that it is quite refreshing. My eyes never felt tired, and the days seemed longer. However, I am glad to be back because how could I ever leave the bookish community? Once you enter it, you get sucked in forever, haha.

    Ooh! Telephone booths. Too bad they’re not blue and are probably not bigger on the inside. πŸ™‚

  7. PICTURES. OH MY GOSH THERE ARE PICTURES. England looks so amazing! But, yes, cold. Very cold. At the moment I’m currently sitting at my laptop with a pedestal fan blowing full-blast on me while I try my best not to melt. Haha. Also, those telephone booths are adorable. I want to hug one. Or maybe step into one and possibly time travel. Anyway, I’m glad you’re having a fantabulous, but you must visit some bookstores soon. πŸ˜‰

  8. Welcome, welcome, to the land of frost and cold! But no snow, because the weather likes to be mean here!
    I think that I should take a break from the internet sometime…it kind of takes over my life. :-/

  9. I’m glad you like my country Emily. I haven’t visited St Ives yet but from your stunning pictures it looks beautiful.

    You have to go and visit a bookshop. I recommend Waterstones

    Hope you enjoy the rest of holiday!

    Lucy @ My Little Life

  10. PICTURES!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Reminds me of my trip last year! I agree there are so many cute houses, and p.s you can find 221B Baker Street! It exists! It’s actually right next to a The Beatles merchandise shop, but I got a picture with Sherlock’s hat outside the door when I went. πŸ˜€
    OOoohhh everything looks so lovely and quaint! I hope you continue having an amazing time Em!!!
    I love picture ‘Old House’ Nice, simple, straight to the point, and really captures what’s in the description. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›
    Ooh and Happy New Year! xoxo

  11. OOOH I love hearing these travel updates from you Emily! YOU HAVE COLD and the photos are so wonderful, it looks so completely different to Australia where we wouldn’t be going near a fireplace right about now. Stay warm and hope you don’t slip much more!

  12. Yay! I’m glad to see that you’re having fun! πŸ˜€ But god, -1 degrees? I think I’d die. I really need to start getting more weather tolerant though. I just die in every kind of weather. πŸ˜› I can’t wait until you get into some bookshops!

  13. OOH, PRETTY ❀

    *demands for more pictures* I lived in England when I was small, and I efinitely agree about the quaintness XD

    Have an awesome time! Oh gods, that jumper though πŸ˜› Priceless.

Leave a Reply

