The Debut Novels I’m Anticipating in 2015

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

I’ve made a LOT of lists of 2015 books, and I don’t want you to get bored, so I’m only going to be listing ones I haven’t already.

I’d like to thank Goodreads, without which I’d have no clue what was happening in the YA world.

red queen ink and ashes hello, i love you

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

This is a dystopian and it sounds kind of Selection-ish, and…dystopians are tricky these days, but I’m excited anyway. Early reviews have been good.

Ink and Ashes by Valynne E. Maetani

I saw the words “Japanese mafia” and I was sold.

Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout

Blurb first line: “A teen escapes to a boarding school abroad and falls for a Korean pop star.” I’m sold.

the way we bared our souls tiny pretty things because you'll never meet me conviction

The Way We Bared Our Souls by Willa Strayhorn

Okay so what happens in this book is five teenagers have burdens: MS, loss of a girlfriend, drug addiction and other things. Then one night they all SWAP with each other.

If that’s not the most amazing premise ever I don’t know what is.

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

This is about ballet. ALSO, look at that cover!! It’s incredible. I sooo want to read this.

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

One of them is allergic to electricity, one has a pacemaker. So that’s awkward.

Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert

All I know is that it’s contemporary and it has about a million five-star reviews already. I’m in.

5 to 1 shutter book scavenger

5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

This is about the ratio of boys to girls in India – really intriguing, because we’re studying this in school and it’s scary. Also, points for diversity.

Shutter by Courtney Alameda

Looks creeptastic.

The Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman

This is a middle grade book about…um, books, and puzzles, and two kids solving the puzzles within a book. And it sounds extremely awesome.

Wow. I have a lot of books to look forward to this year.

23 thoughts on “The Debut Novels I’m Anticipating in 2015

  1. Goodreads is so helpful for finding out about new books and just books in general. AHHH, I’ve heard so many good things about the Red Queen, and I’m considering putting it on my TBR. I’m not much of a dystopian reader, but I’m stretching out of my reader comfort zone this year. Also, I hadn’t heard of The Book Scavenger before, but I love MG, and puzzles in a book sound really awesome. It’s going on my TBR!

  2. Sounds good! There’s actually a book coming out tomorrow that I want to read, although I doubt I can get it at the library this month. A teen boy digs in his backyard and accidentally unearths Satan. After that, Satan forces the boy to find him a new house. It’s a morbid comedy.

  3. WELL MY TBR THANKS YOU FOR ADDING ALL OF THESE. XD Oh my gosh I am so so excited for Ink and Ashes!! I actually have a book idea for Japanese style mafia (with dragons, because of reasons) so I neeeed read Ink and Ashes for RESEARCH. *flails* I love this list and I haven’t even heard of half of them!

  4. OH MY GOSH YES YES YES TO ALL OF THESE. But how had I not heard of Ink and Ashes until now!? IT LOOKS BRILLIANT. I don’t think I had for it on my list, though I really, really, really want to read Conviction too. Because a) I love that cover and b) how great does that plot sound?? So many great books are coming out this year. 🙂

  5. You have got so many brilliant books on your list this week. Well, I’m not sure if they’re brilliant yet as I haven’t read them, but they certainly look SO good. I hope that you love them.

  6. 2015 is definitely shaping up to be a fantastic one for booknerds like ourselves 😀 The Way We Bared Our Souls and Conviction definitely sound unique and really promising – hopefully we’ll both get the chance to read them! Thanks for sharing Emily, you’ve given me a great selection to add to my TBR 🙂

  7. I am really looking forward to Shutter – I’ve heard some brilliant things about it and the whole premise sounds so badass (the girl hunts vampires? She’s a Van Helsing. o.O). THESE BOOKS LOOK SO GOOD.

  8. Red Queen is definitely a book I am anticipating for 2015. (That cover… So pretty!) And Tiny Pretty Things is something I want to read now–I hadn’t heard of it until you just mentioned it!

  9. Guuurl you had me at Japanese mafia as well. I so wanna read Ink & Ashes now xD Because You’ll never Meet Me has such a cool cover! I love the background and how vibrant it is. Going to check that one out now!

    Awesome list there, Em! <33

  10. I finished and Red Queen last year and… I didn’t love it. *cries* I’m such a black sheep for this one, though, so I hope you end up enjoying it more.
    JAPANESE MAFIA? *runs to Goodreads*
    Definitely want to read Hello, I Love You! I’m more of a J-pop fan, but I’m curious to get into the world of K-pop addicts for once. 😉
    5 to 1 is also on my wishlist! Love the cover and love the concept.
    Shutter! I don’t read enough horror (and yet I don’t sleep well at night), so this one–hell yes.

    Thanks for sharing, Em! Happy reading this 2015. <33

  11. I haven’t heard of any of these except Red Queen. EEP. I swear I’m really bad at keeping up with debuts (well, I’m bad at keeping up with new releases in general and debuts are even worse for me). I have heard everyone squealing about it, and I’m pretty sure I just added it to the TBR without even reading what it is about, haha. I’m hoping it’ better than The Selection, although I don’t think that’ll be a feat that’s too hard to achieve. XD

  12. Yes for Red Queen and Tiny Pretty Things! I honestly can’t wait to read them and I hope I can get to them soon. I always tell myself that’ll I’ll read these around the time they come out and then a year passes and I still haven’t gotten to them. >< 2015 will be different!

Leave a Reply

