Stacking the Shelves and finishing Wanderland

I DID IT. I FINISHED WANDERLAND. FINALLY.

It’s 86,067 words all up. Which is quite a few words. And thinking about rewriting it makes me want to cry, but I WILL THINK ABOUT THAT LATER. Right now I just want to glory in the feeling of finally finishing it.

Oh, and if you’re completely confused, Wanderland is the retelling of Alice in Wonderland I was writing. And…well, a bunch of other fairytales as well.

I’ll be posting another excerpt soon, so look out for that.

IN THE MEANTIME, I’m starting the third draft of The Daisy List, which is a YA contemporary about family secrets and bucket lists and happiness and sadness and moving to England. It’s…well, I quite like it. I hope that one day you guys can read it.

Also this week:

I’ve been at my grandparents’ house, planning our Paris/Rome trip for April next year. Yup, that’s right, I’m GOING OVERSEAS. Because I have the best grandparents in the world, that’s why. You guys are going to be subjected to LOTS of photos, don’t worry.

On Friday I drove to Canberra. Yes, me. Usually it takes about three hours, but since I’m an L-plater I have to go VERY SLOWLY and it took four hours. And my mother almost had a coronary several times. But none of us died, so that was fantastic.

SO because of that, I have been very slack with blog commenting. I will endeavour to get to you all very soon πŸ™‚

I’m also Stacking the Shelves!

 

STSmall

The Books

CAM00355

Books I Nabbed

CAM00353

And by “nabbed,” I don’t mean “stole.” These are all my books, stored at my grandparents’ house, from when I was a widdle kid. If you can’t tell from the picture, it’s The Snow Queen, Hans Christian Anderson Treasury and East o’ the Sun and West o’ the Moon, some of my favourite fairytales ever. And since I have a lot of time during the holidays, I plan to reread some of these beauties.

Bought/For Review

CAM00347

I bought a copy of The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil from Bookworld – I WAS SO FLIPPING EXCITED TO READ THIS BOOK.

For review I got a finished copy of Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer. Look at them both together!!

CAM00350

It’s just so interesting looking at them side by side. All the differences and stuff. Anyway, I might end up giving the finished one to my library or something – maybe a giveaway one of these days. Who knows?

Books Read Since Last Week

deathly hallows zac and mia the maze runner cinnamon girl

What did I think of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows? It’s even better the ninth time around. Tenth? I’ve lost track, to be honest.

Zac and Mia was pretty good, just…nothing amazing, you know? Zac was really sweet, though πŸ™‚

The Maze Runner. Hmm. Okay, so I LOVED the middle, but was a bit meh about the beginning and end, so three stars overall – but I’ll explain that more in my review next week.

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl was awesome, as I expected.

Currently Reading

preloved

I’m only like 20 pages in and I already love it. It’s so funny!!

Reading Next

the jewel

Intrigued to see whether I’ll like this one…

Gif of the Week

Because a) Doctor Who and b) all good books do this.

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I reviewed Angelfall by Susan Ee and discussed why I didn’t like it (boo!)

Tuesday: I told you guys the top ten books I’m looking forward to reading this spring

Wednesday: I reviewed Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld and told you why you MUST read it

Thursday: The launch of the link-up version of Loony Blurbs! HOW EXCITING. If you want to join in next time, all the info is in the tab called “Loony Blurbs”

Friday: I shared the cover of Frozen Hearts by awesome teen author Topaz Winters

HOW ARE WE ALL?

29 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves and finishing Wanderland

  1. Congrats on finishing your story! The excerpt is going to be amazing, isn’t it πŸ˜‰
    Oh! I have the same edition of the Snow Queen as well (hanging about somewhere). Now you’ve given me a reason to go and peruse my picture books LOL Good luck with The Jewel. I’m curious to see what you think of it! And congrats on the drive to Canberra and back! I drive like a granny LOL Definitely not for me…

    • Thank you! Oh, I don’t know about amazing. Maybe…a bit loony πŸ˜›

      THAT IS SO COOL. I can’t believe we have the same one! *high five* My grandparents are awesome for getting me it. Oooh, I’m curious about The Jewel as well. The mystery…

      Haha I’m awful at driving, but I really need to get my P’s!!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS ON FINISHING WANDERLAND. I love the name and I can’t wait to see it on shelves one day. I know it’s going to be brilliant! Ahhh, I love finding old childhood books. There are so many I wish I still had but a crazy high school me gave a lot of my books away thinking I won’t want them anymore. 😦
    Yay for driving to Canberra! My mum and I never got along when I was learning to drive … so I totally understand. When you put two stubborn people in the car…it’s quite bad haha. Enjoy all your new reads Em xx

    • THANKS πŸ˜€ It would be an absolute dream come true if you could all read it one day. Then you could say you knew me before I was famous (HAHA, only joking). Awww, crazy high school you! I’m keeping ALL my childhood books forEVER πŸ˜›

      Oh my gosh my mum is the worst. Saying to slow down about a kilometre before the traffic lights and just…yep, let’s not get into that πŸ˜› I’m not stubborn, though. I just ignore her for the most part πŸ˜›

  3. I absolutely love that Dr Who gif there. Ha. The best. AND OMG CONGRATS FOR FINISHING WANDERLAND!!! *throws confetti and cake in your hair* Do you get a break before you go straight into Daisy List??! Omg, you are on FIRE. I hesitantly thought about writing something…but then, bleh. I’ll wait until October or something. *nods* Such an organised way to procrastinate.

    I got a finished copy of Belzhar too and I felt SO guilty! I didn’t even like the book and the publishers are just super generous and now I have two. >_< I wish postage was cheaper because than I'd give away soooo many books. Eeeh. Maybe at the end of the year I'll do a massive one?! lol ANYWAY. I'm rambling! I'm glad you had a good week, but when you go to Europe I DEMAND PHOTOS. Omg you are seriously lucky. πŸ˜‰

    • THANK YOU!! *combs cake out of hair in annoyance, because seriously, who does that* Nope, no break – I was REALLY excited to get back into it, and this third draft is proving to be a LOT easier than the second πŸ™‚

      LOL, I haven’t even read it yet, so don’t you feel guilty! Just give them to your library, maybe? I’m planning on donating a few, clear some shelf space πŸ˜›

      Oh my gosh I’m going to take so many photos it won’t be funny. AND I KNOW. I am like the luckiest person in the world πŸ˜›

  4. Congrats on finishing your novel Emily – that is an awesome achievement!!! Belzhar looks awesome, and I’ve heard great things about it so I’m looking forward to starting it sometime. Glad to see you enjoyed The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl too, and Preloved also looks like a great read. Looking back at childhood books are the best, and they make you remember so many memories πŸ™‚

  5. Yaaaaay! Congrats with Wanderland, girl. Can’t wait for the excerpt. ^_^ I also would love to read The Daisy List. ❀

    The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl looks adorable! I'm reading Life in Outer Space right now, and I'm not exactly loving it, but I like the storyline. Zac and Mia looks cute as well. I love sweet guys! Glad you enjoyed at least a bit of The Maze Runner. It's definitely not a book for everyone. HA, good luck with The Jewel. xD

    Have an awesome week, Em! <33

    • One of these days I’ll post an excerpt of The Daisy List as well. Maybe πŸ˜€

      Awww, shame you’re not loving Life in Outer Space – I really loved it πŸ˜€ Yep, sweet guys over bad guys any day for me! Ha, yes, The Maze Runner was very intriguing. Still not sure how I’m going to review it…

  6. Wowww, I can’t believe you drove to Canberra! That is very brave of you, I still haven’t drove long distances it makes me afraid lol. Congrats on finishing Wanderland, that must be such a big achievement! Very proud of you.

    Glad to hear HP was good as always but did we expect anything less πŸ˜‰ I’m really curious about Cinnamon Girl and will have to read that one soon!

    Have a lovely week ahead girl xoxo

    • It was very scary. Well…some of it. Most of the cars just overtook me so I was on my lonesome a good lot of the way. Awww thanks so much Jeann ❀ I did a bit of a happy dance when I finished it.

      HAHA, imagine if next time I reread HP I hate it? As if that would ever happen πŸ˜› Oooh yes Cinnamon Girl was awesome. Melissa Keil now = auto-buy author.

  7. WANDERLAND! I’m so bloody excited! Sooooo, when can we read it? Huh, huh? That’s a full length book. From the snippets you’ve already posted, I’m now nagging until you post more to satisfy me, or allow me to read it. YES! YES! PICK ME!

    I luuuuurve children’s classics and those are so incredibly lovely. Do you think your grandparents will take me too? I can be like their older (okay, much older) grandchild who’s slightly nuts. Hooray for Cinnamon Girl! I absolutely adored it too. So glad I only have to type that, even at my age I can’t honestly say Cinnamon. Actually, I struggle with pumpkin and Gemini as well.

    I swear, I DID actually attend school. I did πŸ˜€

    • I’M SO EXCITED THAT YOU’RE EXCITED. Haha, I’m pretty excited too. I’ll have to post an excerpt quickly – soon I’m going to look back and hate every word. But seriously, when I’m looking for betas I will totally send it to you πŸ˜€

      I love children’s books as well, and those stories are some of my favourites! LOL I’m sure my nanna would love another grandkid πŸ˜› How do you say cinnamon? Cimmanon? And geeeez, how hard is “Pumpkin”? πŸ˜› I’m only kidding. Still find it difficult to say “brewery.”

      I’m STILL attending school, as you know. Although we don’t often have pronunciation classes πŸ˜‰

  8. Congratulations on finishing wanderland! Love the feeling of finishing a first draft. And good on you for driving to Canberra! Those picture books look really beautiful, and well looked after. Glad you loved Cinnamon Girl can’t wait to get my hands on a copy πŸ™‚

  9. WOOOHOOOO, CONGRATS ON FINISHING WANDERLAND. (I know I’ve said that before, but I’m saying it again because really you can never get enough congrats for finishing a novel. ^_^) If you ever need a a beta reader… πŸ˜‰ To be honest, driving sounds terrifying. I still haven’t got my Ls — my excuse is I want to focus on school, but really, I think I’d be the worst, most anxious driver there possibly is. I’m interested to see what you’ll think of The Jewel. I need to read that soon!

    Also, I approve of your gif of the week. πŸ™‚

    • I’ll take all the congrats I can!!! And dude, seriously, if you need a CP I am right here as well.

      Oh my gosh you couldn’t be the worst, most anxious driver because I’m pretty sure I am. And my mum doesn’t make it any easier when she’s constantly freaking out. I’m never going to get my Ps, lol.

  10. Congratulations finishing Wanderland! I am completely jealous of the trip you have planned. It sounds like a lot of fun. Can you stop in America and take me in your suitcase?

  11. AAah congratulations on finishing your novel! Putting me to shame … πŸ˜‰

    The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl looks good. Will you be reviewing it??

    Great post! πŸ™‚

  12. I know exactly how you feel about the novel. I wrote 50,000 words last November for NaNoWriMo and the thought of re-writing makes me want to cry to this day!
    And Kudos on reading Harry Potter that many times, that’s love.

  13. OH MY GOD I REALLY WANT TO READ WANDERLAND. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I’VE HEARD ABOUT IT ON YOUR BLOG BUT I WANT TO READ IT. I love retellings and fairytales and omg please πŸ™‚ I’d buy it πŸ˜‰ You have a nice haul there! Have a nice week ❀

  14. Oh my goodness, finishing a book is absolutely the best feeling in the entire world. (I mean, writing one – although reading is pretty awesome too, of course!) Congratulations, Emily. What an accomplishment. xx

Leave a comment