Stacking the Shelves and NaNoWriMo Madness

SO THIS WEEK…

I started NaNoWriMo. I’m writing this post on Saturday, and right now I have about 27,000 words (though you can keep updated on the right sidebar, where my word count is displayed with the NaNo widget). When this post goes up, I’ll be trying to do a 10k day. I KNOW. INSANE. Especially since I’m working for five hours. But I’m going to try.

I’m really, really loving the writing process with this one, and I’ve been listening to Birdy songs the whole time. It’s a lot of fun.Here are some snippets I’ve been sharing (if you can’t see them very well, click on them and they’ll get bigger…magic):

Number one

snippet 2

Number two

snippet 3

Aaaand number three

snippet 4

I’m just trying to write as MUCH as I can before all my assessment tasks at the end of November which…scary.

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

The Books

CAM00470 CAM00471

Hope In a Ballet Shoe by Michaela and Elaine DePrince – this one looks absolutely INCREDIBLE. It’s a true story and it’s about war, and ballet, and I can’t wait to start it.

This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – you know what also shattered? The mirror in my room from my high-pitched squeal of delight when I unboxed this one. EEK I’M SO EXCITED.

Veronica Mars by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham – this was a surprise from Allen and Unwin and it looks great! I love the orange spine.

Cooper Bartholomew is Dead by Rebecca James – I won this in a giveaway from Allen and Unwin – even though I had a library copy, it’ll be great to have it FOR KEEPSIES, because I have the feeling it’s going to be awesome.

~Thanks for much for all of these, Allen and Unwin!!~

Grimm’s Fairytales – I bought this copy from The Book Depository (it’s a Barnes and Noble Leatherbound edition) and it is SO BEAUTIFUL. Look, look at it!

CAM00472 CAM00473 CAM00474

And it looks so lovely next to Alice:

CAM00463

Books Read Since Last Week

since you've been gone

One book. I know. Shameful. BUT TO BE FAIR, I’ve written almost 30,000 words.

Currently Reading

this shattered world

I haven’t got very far into it, but I’M SO EXCITED.

Reading Next

the selection

Because otherwise I’d have to return it to the library unread AND I DON’T WANT TO DO THAT.

Gif of the Week

 

Posts on the Blog

Monday: I talked about October and all the STUFF I did. Also I stacked the shelves.

Tuesday: I talked about the books I would re-read in a well-ordered universe.

Wednesday: I reviewed Corruption by Jessica Shirvington. READ IT.

Thursday: Loony Blurbs is back, and it’s now monthly! Sign up any time during November.

Saturday: I reviewed The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick and concluded that my intellect is not high enough to understand it.

How was your week? And to my fellow NaNo-ers: how’s it going?

24 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves and NaNoWriMo Madness

  1. I only read 1 book this week too! FOR SHAME. I meant to do a weekly round up but my mum went away and took the camera. *eye twitches* I … I just couldn’t not have nice photos on my round up SO I DIDN’T DO ONE. Am I a little strange? Yes, yes I am.
    BUT ANYWAY.
    Yaaaay! For so many words! I see you have 30K now and WOOHOOOOO!! YOU’RE AMAZING. I love these snippets. I love the sound of this book. (Just sayin’.) I love that there are other people in the world who think “epic” is overused. I vote we put “extraordinary” instead of epic. Sure it’s longer, but it’s a glorious word.
    Here’s to another week of glorious writing!!!
    (And I have This Shattered World too and fasfljda I’m so excited!)

    • It feels so weird when I’m used to reading 3 or 4!! Oh I know what you mean about taking photos – I LOVE everyone’s bookish photos 😀

      I’M FINISHED NOW. Well not the entire novel BUT THAT WILL BE SOON. I’m glad you like it. And yes, lol, I hate the word “epic.” Although I probably say it too often as well 😛

  2. That edition of Grimm’s Fairytales is STUNNING O.O
    I hope you like Cooper Bartholomew is Dead – Rebecca James is definitely the Aussie queen of YA psychological thrillers!
    Best wishes for the rest of NaNoWriMo – I’m loving the banter in the dialogue from those excerpts 🙂
    Hope you have a fantastic week Emily and enjoy your new reads!

  3. Wow, you’ve been blasting through NaNo Emily, definitely great to hear! You got so many great books this week, I’m excited about you reading Cooper B and This Shattered World. Oh my gosh, your Grimms and Alice are so freaking beautiful! You made a good choice my dear 🙂 Have a lovely week!

  4. Um all this humour is amazing. I LOVE IT. GOOD LUCK WITH NANO! x

    Gahh I’m excited for This Shattered World as well! Hopefully it’s a hit for you. I don’t think I have time to crack it out until next week… Have a good week, Emily and HAVE FUN WITH NANO!

  5. HAHAHA the part about the Nicholas Cage thing is so true. I just finished Year 12 and our school is really strict with schoolies so we’ve been quite limited. I can’t remember if anyone this year put some pictures up of him but last year there were some who definitely did haha.

  6. Since You’ve Been Gone is just FANTASTIC. I read it this week, too (actually, in one night). Just. MY FEELS ARE NOT OKAY. I’ve been trying to get a review out of me, but I feel like I am dying because just FEELS and Frank and Dawn and THIS IS NOT OKAY, MISS MATSON. NOT OKAY. YOU DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND HOW NOT OKAY THIS IS. *sobs and fangirls* 😥

  7. That’s an awesome haul you have this week, I just finished This Shattered World and prepared to be BLOWN AWAY. It’s less space opera and more gritty dystopian and scifi. I absolutely LOVED IT!

    Now I have to know what the deal is with pictures of Nicholas Cage. Do kids do that instead of Vegemite on door handles and tampon mobiles?

    That Grimm’s, I can’t stop scrolling up to look at it. It’s absolutely stunning! I’m heading onto TBD now to snap one up too. Ooh, we should see what other titles the B&N leatherbounds come in. I’m going to start collecting them too. I have all the Penguin clothbounds I want now, so need to start collecting more ❤

    • I AM PREPARED KELLY. SO PREPARED. I love sci-fi. Sounds awesome.

      HAHA. Never heard of tampon mobiles. Just the old tampon-with-red-Sharpie-on-teacher’s-desk. But Vegemite on door handles could be fun…

      OOOH excellent. I’ve convinced another one. Yep, I have to own all of them. Eventually. IT’S ON MY BUCKET LIST 🙂

  8. I am half super jealous and the the other half SUPER EXCITED that you have This Shattered World! I really need to get my hands on a copy soon. As for ‘Cooper Bartholomew is Dead’, I ABSOLUTELY loved, after having mixed feelings about her other books. Your Alice and Grimm books are so BEAUTIFUL AND they certainly look perfect together.

  9. Eeep, thank you for sharing snippets to your NaNo writing! I can’t believe what a speed writer you are so jealous! Your copy of Grimm’s fairytales is AMAZING. I want it badly *grabby hands* I just love leather-bound books too, they look so special on your shelves. I hope you enjoy This Shattered World! I will be starting that one soon as well 🙂

  10. Eeep, good luck with the 10k a day!! YOU CAN DO IT!! Also? Those excerpts = awesomeness.

    Ohhh, that copy of Grimm’s fairytales is SO GORGEOUS. Enjoy This Shattered World — I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of that! It looks awesome. And considering how much I loved the the first one, I hope the second’ll be just as good. I look forward to your review. 😀

Leave a comment